ARSENE WENGER is facing the first dressing room crisis of his Arsenal career.
On the day of the Old Trafford clash which could kill off the Gunners' season entirely, unhappy stars are questioning the manager (above) over tactics and team selection.Major rifts have also opened amongst the players with goalkeeper Manuel Almunia admitting he knows he is hated' by rival Jens Lehmann.
Arsenal's Champions League progress had helped paper over the cracks.
Tension But after losing to Liverpool in midweek, there is a growing tension between managers and some players.
One Gunners source said: "The turning point was going out of the FA Cup to Manchester United, the team hasn't recovered from that.
"Suddenly there are major inquests going on. Nobody can understand why Kolo Toure was played at right-back instead of centre-half in big games, everybody can see Emmanuel Eboue isn't a midfielder and there is too much pressure on Cesc Fabregas to carry the team. "Arsene wants to play attractive, passing football but some of the senior players think he's breeding a team of youngsters who think it's OK to just play well without having to actually graft to win games.
"There isn't a winning mentality like there is at Manchester United or Chelsea. There doesn't seem to be a win-at-all-cost attitude."
Friction Almunia went public on the breakdown in his relationship with Lehmann, admitting: "To have someone here who hates me is just amazing. I know he hates me.
"Every morning I know it's going to be the same but I don't care. I don't want any relationship with him any more."
There is also friction between skipper William Gallas and some of the younger players.
And the growing resentment with Nicklas Bendtner was highlighted when only Theo Walcott congratulated him for his goal against Liverpool last weekend.
Alumunia revealed Wenger dislikes tension. The keeper said: "The boss is trying to build a team of kind people. He doesn't like arguments."
Many believe Wenger is missing the influence of former vice-chairman David Dein, who left the club a year ago.
i'm a man utd fan, but ne footballer revolt gensk wenger ah eediat. mi rate him cuz ah nuh nuff manager put dem faith inna players. arsenal to di worl!!!!!!!!!! still ah come 2nd next year doh lol
well ntn to say...ppl will always not like u!!! get ova it
I must commend Wenger though... 3rd in Premier League and Quarters in Champions League with very few high quality ballers. Teams actually fear Arsenal cause Wenger took what he had and made a masterpiece.
ManU Me Seh!!!