This morning, Tuesday MArch 25th.. i was headed through a parking lot of a grocery store to go take care of some bidness and was bumpin Damian Marley on the Mission Riddim..
I parked, got out my car and began to place my head piece (bandana) on my head to keep di locs in check.. when i turned around i was greeted by the scruffy lookin old caucasian man.. who said to me.. "Excuse me sir.. (i prefer Rasta, but him naa kno betta) - but i was wondering - WHO WAS THAT you were listening to.. , I said.. oh come here and i turned my music back on..i told him that this was a Mission riddim mix.. and this is what he told me...
"Don't take this the wrong way", he said, "but i am probably the ONLY white man that actually got what Bob Marley was trying to do".. I was in awe at this moment.. of course i offered to burn him a cd or 2..
Then as we were talking I saw ANOTHER guy who worked at the grocery store, standing behind my car.. so i looked at him with a look that, i guess, said - "wha you lookin at yute", and he smiled and said.. "Oh i was just listening to the music".. I said.. Bless...
MORAL of the story: There is something about that Mission Riddim mi tell ya..
and for all those out there that are apart of the entire Reggae/Dancehall Phenomenon (sp?) - Hold your heads HIGH... you have something to be VERY proud of - you would not even imagine how far the words and lyrics and sounds of di island reach and touch people in ways it was originally intended for..
yayyyyyyyyyyyyyyy dancehall music no matter how they fight it but u kno our music is great none like ours is better WE DUH BEST GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO JAMAICA
aaww, thats nice, (but what was bob marley trying to do? and whats the mission riddim?)
Its nice though that people recognize music for music and not a black and white code. Its really true what people say that music brings persons together, cause the fact that u dont know these people and they spoke to you because of your music (not colour or money etc) its touching.
uumm... where can i find this power mission riddim? is any rock on it? like some remix? lol
Mission Riddim naaah equal to no rock.. lol actually dere is a song in di Mission riddim by Movado (an up and comin ALTERNATIVE ROCK STAR) called On The rock... lol
dis di Zone Princess.. mi thought yu knew.. yu can find eryting on here..
Bob Marley thought that through music and lyrics of upliftment, he could interject into the world a true sense of love, positvity and change the hatred that is in the world.. dis jus one ting of course..
aaww, thats nice, (but what was bob marley trying to do? and whats the mission riddim?)
Its nice though that people recognize music for music and not a black and white code. Its really true what people say that music brings persons together, cause the fact that u dont know these people and they spoke to you because of your music (not colour or money etc) its touching.
uumm... where can i find this power mission riddim? is any rock on it? like some remix? lol