Topic: Has any one read this?? - Row over schools issuing condoms - Students taped having unsafe sex on campuses

Has any one read this?? - Row over schools issuing condoms - Students taped having unsafe sex on campuses

http://www.jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/20080121/lead/lead2.html

Row over schools issuing condoms - Students taped having unsafe sex on campuses
published: Monday | January 21, 2008

Petrina Francis, Staff Reporter

( L - R ) Lynch, Anderson

Claiming that some students are having unprotected sex on school compounds, youth advocate Lawman Lynch yesterday renewed calls for condoms to be made available in schools.

"All senior students, ages 16 and over in all secondary and high schools, should have condoms available to them in the school system," Lynch said.

Condoms, he said, would be issued by guidance counsellors who would also provide the necessary counselling for students.

Lynch, who is the president of the Kingston and St. Andrew Action Forum Youth organisation, said the harsh reality is that many young people are sexually active.

"I have in my possession videotapes of high school students in Jamaica (in school uniform) having sex on school compounds without using a condom," he said.

Lynch continued: "In one case, the two students engaging in sex have an audience. In another case, it was obvious that the girl was forced to have intercourse with the young man. The most appalling thing is that no condoms were being used."

They're still children

But the head of the National Parent-Teacher Association of Jamaica shot down Lynch's recommendation.

Sylvester Anderson, the presi-dent, told The Gleaner yesterday that at age 16, students in school were still children and should not be engaging in sex.

"I can't go down that road because they are still children and we should be preaching abstinence," he added. "If it's a case to say, we know that you are having sex so use a condom, but I don't want to go out there and give them that licence to practise."

Meanwhile, Minister of Education Andrew Holness disagreed with Lynch's suggestions, saying that it was not the policy of his ministry to distribute condoms in schools.

Holness said the Ministry of Education was cognisant of the need to teach safe sex awareness in schools.

"But we also have a higher duty to teach abstinence at that age," the Education Minister said.

that a guan

d(^_^)b Da ReMix ExTreMisT d(^_^)b
maaaad ...lol skool a gwaan mad nowadays still enuh

102_1667.jpg

i like da school.........lol
safe sex ppl & students

Dem still nuh wah wear condoms

Shockwave Ent
LOL MAAD

madddddddd

LOL @ proppa wayy... yuh seeit

Should Schools issue condoms and teach students how to use dem?
I think either way students are going to have sex....

MI WHAA GO AH DA SKOOL DEH... FREE CONDOMS LOL

** No Affiliations **
makes sense ...they still gonna have sex either way so you mite as well jus educated them on the topic .... this can only help becuz it can help curve unwanted pregnancy

8xv6yp.gif

MY Net-Worth Make chicks wanna Network

"MZ XXC|u$!v3"
eeeeeeh... betta dan unprotected sex

MZJA EMPEROR
Dem really need to provide condom in skool because the pickney dem naw stop having sex better they be protected while doing it.

where di tape dem dey?...lol

school is not school any more it's a business.

Disappointments in life are just little steps that take you up to greater things.
up2
so whats new....yute dem a fuk pums from dem a go primary so mi nuh really c nutten worng...it may help to reduce the risk of breeding and aids

nice..wh d tape deh

MZJA Music Producer
hmmm

hhhhhhhhhhhhhh