Vybz Kartels red hot rookies in the Portmore Empire have begun to assert themselves in the music business. The deejay feels that as Sting approaches, dancehall lovers will see for themselves just how great the artistes have developed over the last couple of months.
The Empire ah roll out, Sean Storm and Black Ryno are developing fast, they are growing in confidence and they have some sick lyrics, Vybz Kartel said.
The deejays have begun to get props from music producers who send rhythms their way.
On Stephen McGregors new rhythm, Still Dark Again, Sean Storm warns Whether You Mean it Or Not, Black Ryno explains about how to Mek the Paper, while Kartel declares No Permission.
King Jammys son, Jam 2 has also voiced the Empire, with Sean Storm dropping Bad Mind and Black Ryno warning U Caan Diss and Get Away.
The Empire artistes have been voicing for all the major producers, dem ah go have the place locked, the Teacha said. Kartels latest singles My Scheme for Stephen McGregor, and Any Man for Don Corleone, have been generating major buzz in the streets, showing that the deejay is going all out for the rest of the year, Vybz Kartel has an upcoming show in Barbados on October 20, and he could well be bringing two of his young charges to perform alongside him in that Caribbean island.
Ah pure big producer start to voice we, and we have been performing alongside the Teacha at several shows here in the Caribbean and in Europe, and we just got word that Europe ah request us again, dem love the performance last time, Sean Storm said. Trust me, after Sting this year, ah just big man ting.
In the meantime, deejay Deva Brat, the first lieutenant in the Portmore Empire, may have found his breakthrough single as the uptempo Bundle a Gyal has been creating a buzz on mixtapes, street-side dances and on FM radio.
Right now, mi de pon the gal dem ting, the people dem love the flow to this tune, but mi have the thugs dem covered still with other songs like Nozzle a Mi Gun, so everybody, just listen fi the exclusive war on Cash Money Dub mix coming soon, Deva Brat said.
An excerpt from Bundle a Gyal features Deva Brats distinctive tongue twisters and sick amazing flow where he deejays: Excuse me, mek me gimme uncle a gal/Ah gal a hype, find me a humbler gal/Mi have the strategy how fi fondle a gal.
Deva Brat has other girl chunes which are gaining in popularity such as Wine It Like a Chiney and Violent Morning.