Topic: A battle of 'diva' proportions

Wscript.Echo"Beam mi up" & stain.CName

A battle of 'diva' proportions

IPB Image
Keiva 'the dancing diva' has vowed never to return to Stone Love's 'Weddy Weddy Wednesdays', a weekly party held at their headquarters on Burlington Avenue.

According to 'the diva', real name Keiva Hibbert, she felt disrespected at the last Stone Love Anniversary, an annual event held in December.

"Mi nah guh back a Weddy Weddy Wednesdays, mi done wid Weddy Weddy. I'm not going back to Weddy Weddy because I feel offended and this is not the first time either, this is the second time, so my fans won't see me there," Keiva says.

According to her, "The only way I'm going back up to that venue (Stone Love Headquarters, on Burlington Avenue) is if another promoter rent the place to keep an event, but I'm not going back to the regular Weddy Weddy Wednesdays."

Keiva claims, "In 2002 when mi just get mi big break, when I came out wid the 'Online' dance and any tune Elephant do him call mi name, when Stone Love Anniversary keep, there was no award for Keiva and I worked so hard for the year an mi guh every ting weh Stone Love keep and everybody else name call except mine. So I went to Wee Pow about it and he said he was sorry and it was some misunderstanding, so the other years I got my trophies."

Dancehall diva Stacey says she is the real 'diva' and has a history of winning competitions to prove it. - File

However, Keiva's name was missing from the list of dancers awarded at the last Stone Love Anniversary, held in December 2006.

"Last year, I never really had a new dance out, but I have the most music video out of all the Jamaican dancers - suh even if I don't have a new dance, I should get a trophy for the hard work that I have done over the years," Keiva argued.

But that was not the reason why Keiva is bitter.

"And then what hurt mi, dem give somebody a trophy inna my name, like how Mavado is 'di real McCoy', me a Keiva 'the dancing diva' and Latisha 'the dancehall queen'. Now when mi inna di venue an dem announce seh this trophy is for 'the diva', an den call up another dancer, suppose I did walk up pon di stage - suh when yuh a guh gi a dancehall queen (Stacey) di trophy and give ar di title of my name, mi feel disrespected, cause everybody work hard fi dem name. Notice, I don't wine, so that's why mi put my name in a different category from di rest a di dancer dem."

She continued, "I was cut up, I was hurt and other dancers are mad as well, but dem nah come out an talk. All mi fans dem hurt to, cause everybody have dem fans."

Keiva, however, advised, "If yuh don't know what to give away a trophy for, then don't. If yuh a gi weh a trophy, pick di right people. Bitta, Ding Dong and Collo Collo were the only three dancers that got trophies and deserved it. But what about Black Bling, they have the newest dance, 'Tek Weh Yuh Self'; what about Mad Michelle weh win 'All Island Dancehall Queen', what about Sadike who dance from seven to seven, what about Ice, Craigy Dread who a dance from long time?"

However, Stacey, whose real name is Denise Cumberland says, "Keiva a self-proclaimed diva, Keiva jus name ar self 'Keiva di diva' cause it rhyme, but fi be a diva, a di work weh yuh put in over the years ... yuh haffi work fi it."

Stacey felt that her winning the Stone Love award was justified 10 times over as she boasts, "the award was for the 'dancehall diva' of the year, mi pass queen (dancehall queen) stage from long time. Mi win dancehall queen from 1999."

She continued, "The last two years mi win international dancehall queen, suh wah else mi fi win, nuh di 'diva'. Keiva jus get visa like two, three years ago. She has never won a dancehall queen competition ever. She enter di year me win fi di first time inna Jamaica in 1999."

Stacey, brushed aside Keiva's claims saying, "Mi nah work off a di hype, a famous ova hype ... but everybody know seh a me a di diva."

Lesson2
Success comes not from just what you know but who you know.

Go sey har walk pon the stage when them call out "diva" and get flap! whhhhoooooiiiiieeeeee

BET YUH SEH SHE GON BACK