Beenie Man is refusing to appear on the same shows as Spice - so says Spice.
Spice says thus far, Beenie has attempted to get her off two upcoming shows: one to be staged at the University of Technology (UTech), and the other, 'Follow the Arrow'.
"Beenie say him naw do no show wid me. Mi did have one next show uppa UTech and di promoter dem a call me wid pure problem and a say Beenie say if me deh pon di show, him nuh want fi deh pon it," she said. Spice says the two upcoming shows will be the first time they will share the same stage since 'the incident'.
The 'incident', as she calls it, was when someone in Beenie Man's entourage boxed her at the 'GT Taylor Extravaganza' in December. Apparently, Beenie Man was not pleased with the song which contained a line saying 'Di gal shouldn't mek di two a dem a cuss/ Beenie must stop hype because a Bounty f—- it fuss' in reference to his wife, D'Angel.
The situation was further intensified after Spice claimed Beenie Man made sexual advances toward her while they were in the Bahamas last year for a show.
"Him vex true me talk say him come inna mi hotel room, so him a talk say him a go send paper dung a mi yard fi sue me. Mi have di pictures wha mi brother did tek a him pon him phone, but him neva know say my brother did in deh when him come in deh. So if it go court, me have proof," she said.
Spice alleges these are the reasons Beenie Man has also attempted to get her off 'Follow the Arrow'. The promoter, Dexton Ennis corroborated Spice's story.
Ennis says, "He (Beenie) sighted my vehicle on Sunday when I was on the road with the names of Spice, D'Angel, Beenie and Buju on it (vehicle). He called me and asked me if Spice was on the show and I told him 'yes' ... I went down by Arthur Wales' studio and him say him naw do the show with her and me must call Spice and tell her." This he did.
"He was saying she can't be on the show and all them things and I was telling him that the name of the show is 'Magnum Follow the Arrow - Uniting the People', so that can't be ... The problem is that the promoter get caught up in the middle of this. At this point we just have to seek an amicable resolve."
According to Spice, Beenie Man is a weakling. "It shows his weakness and his bad mind because he always wants to fight against young artistes and nuh want them fi strive. Him say dem crown him di King of Dancehall, but him a gwaan like dem crown him di God of dancehall. Him put di promoter dem in a position where if them want the two of us and him say him not doing the show if me on it, then them will choose him because he is the bigger artiste. But Ennis stand up and naw tek me offa di show," she said.
Spice is not the only artiste who has complained of Beenie Man attempting to take them off shows. Last year, the Twin of Twins had the same concern.
"This is pretty much the same thing that we have been saying ... Music is a normal job just like any other and no person can say they don't know a dutty co-worker who doesn't want to see them in that job. We have done nothing to provoke his attacks, we only defended ourselves and likewise, I don't see where Spice has done anything to provoke his attacks," said Patrick "Curly Lox" Gaynor.
Spice also had a few words for Beenie: "Plead my cause, Oh Lord, with them that strive with me, fight against them that fight against me. Take hold of buckler and shield, and rise up for my help," she said quoting a scripture passage. "Dem can't stop me. Dem a fight demself and it's a losing battle," she continued.
Beenie Man could not be reached before press time because he was recording.