Forum: News & Topical Issues

News updates, entertainment, hot topics, gossip | Share and discover what is happening right now.

t1larg.us.army.gi.jpgFor U.S. Army troops, smartphones could become requisite field gear, along with boots, guns and ammunition.

click here to view full article

-- Edited by kartel1234 on Tuesday 12th of July 2011 11:52:59 PM

http://forum.dancehallreggae.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=8423&d=1310439161

anyone repping Gaza

-- Edited by goke313 on Tuesday 12th of July 2011 06:56:05 AM

Digicel takes media farming

July 12, 2011
Started By Da MaGiC oNe2 Comments
Digicel takes media farming
Tuesday, 12 July 2011 14:18

Digicel Media Farming

TELECOMS giant Digicel went all out to ensure members of the media had a whale of a time at Caymanas Stables in St Catherine on Saturday. Click image to Read More

Luda also performed
Tuesday, 12 July 2011 14:30

Ludacris

Perhaps the brightest spark throughout Saturday's long Miss Jamaica Universe coronation show, was the performance by the celebrated American rap star Ludacris. Click image to Read More

zp_Gervinho_13_110706PAFC_4122.jpg?ic=d9e62dT

Arsenal Football Club announces that Ivory Coast international forward Gervinho will shortly join the Gunners, subject to a regulatory process.

Gervinho, 24, will arrive at Arsenal from French side Lille, who he helped to a Ligue 1 and Coupe de France double last season with 15 goals in 40 games.

The campaign capped a very successful two years for Gervinho, during which time he netted 28 times in his 67 appearances for Les Gogues. Before joining Lille, Gervinho enjoyed two seasons with Le Mans, also in Ligue 1.

On the international stage, Gervinho captained the Ivory Coast in the 2008 Olympics in Beijing and also represented his country at the 2010 World Cup, scoring twice in just three substitute appearances during qualification to the finals. To date, Gervinho has made 27 appearances in total for Les Eléphants, scoring six goals.

The forward came through the same Ivorian youth academy - ASEC Mimosas - as Emmanuel Eboue, before following in the right-backs footsteps to join Belgian side KSK Beveren.

-- Edited by I-CO on Monday 18th of July 2011 08:46:38 PM
Earlier this week, Grammy Award-winning recording artist Ziggy Marley stopped by VIBEs New York City offices to talk about his latest release, Family Time (Tuff Gong / Universal), as well as a new album of his fathers classic songs, many of them remixed for young listeners, called B is For Bob (Tuff Gong / Universal). At the end of the video interview, Bob Marleys firstborn son shared his views on a controversy that has engulfed Jamaica for the past two and a half weeks.

On April 22, the veteran reggae star Buju Banton- who has been nominated for three Grammys himself - was speaking at the University of the West Indies in Kingston, Jamaica, about his latest release, Rasta Got Soul (Gargamel Music). Banton spoke at length about his own distinguished career, but one of his remarks resonated louder than the others. 

"You know they say that the greatest musician in Jamaica is Bob Marley," Buju told the crowded room. "I don't believe that because we have greater musicians to come. Bob was the most promoted, and well promoted, and we have to appreciate that because it's our culture. But don't kill our culture Enough is enough."

Although the crowd at UWI reportedly applauded his remarks, they were not as well received outside the lecture hall. Jamaican media as well as radio shows and websites around the world have been flooded with outraged remarks from music critics and Bob Marley's millions of fans. When asked for his thoughts on the matter, Ziggy laughed for a long time before speaking his mind.

"Me love my father, you know? And me love all of my elders and my heroes. And I would never say anything to put down any of them. From Bob to Toots to Peter [Tosh] to Bunny [Wailer]. I wouldn't say anything to put down any of those guys. You understand? I lift up them. Those are our heroes. We lift them up. We don't put them down."

After a brief pause, Ziggy added the following: "My father wasn't a person who brag about himself. It's what he has done that has made people speak of him how they speak of him. He just does his music and thats it You got people who think differently but my father and a lot of these artists, you can't even talk about them in just the sense of Jamaica. It's the world we haffi talk bout. So that's all me have to say, we lift up our heroes we don't put them down."

When contacted, Tracii McGregor, President and General Manager of Buju Banton's label Gargamel Music Inc., had this to say in response: "Buju didn't say anything to slight the great Bob Marley-not at all. Buju is not the first person or lover of reggae music to say this. This is the reality. We can't have an industry revolve around one person."

McGregor also blamed the media for blowing the controversy out of proportion. "This man spoke for almost an hour and a half, and for them to take one line and take it out of context and out of perspective, I was so hurt. He also talked about Bob's sons and the affect on their music. They are not allowed to create and develop in their own way. People always compare them to their father. I know its frustrating for them. And other artists have suffered because they don't come from that lineage. The industry has kept it like that. Still to this day major record labels dont know how 

SpecialistPhonecardbananachipsMagnumKingsQueens.jpgSpecialist the second runner up in the magnum kings & queens competition , which was aired on tvj ( television Jamaica ) has teamed up with popular producer and whom was a judge on show  Skatta barrel , to produce one of his most popular songs in the competition .  The catchy punch line phone card, banana chips has stick to the tongues of many Jamaicans , and it will be of no surprise if this up coming artist becomes one of the stars of tomorrow .

click here to listen

-- Edited by kartel1234 on Saturday 9th of July 2011 10:41:23 PM

manchester-city-lift-fa-cup-cropped

Manchester City have signed the biggest sponsorship deal in world sport - worth up to £400million.

The full mind-boggling extent of City's 10-year agreement with Etihad Airways was revealed by chief executive Garry Cook at the former City of Manchester Stadium.

City's home has been renamed the Etihad Stadium as part of the deal, which also includes an extension of the airline's shirt sponsorship deal and the redevelopment of land around the ground, to be known as the Etihad Campus.

The mega-rich club are also pressing ahead with the building of a state-of-the-art training complex next to the Etihad Stadium, with plans due to be submitted for public approval in the coming weeks.

The remarkable tie-up with Etihad represents the most lucrative sports sponsorship agreement of all time and goes a long way towards City complying with UEFA's new financial fair play regulations.

The deal dwarfs Arsenal's £90m 15-year agreement with Emirates, which included the naming rights to the stadium when they moved from Highbury in 2006, as well as a shirt ­sponsorship deal.

City's extraordinary deal also puts them way ahead of the biggest sponsorship tie-ups in America, which was for so long world leader in terms of naming rights for stadiums.

"This is one of the most important agreements in the history of world football," said Cook.

"What this partnership helps us do is to continue building on our priorities, which is investing in the infrastructure.

"That's not only the stadium, but around it, as well as youth development, our commitment to community and commercial growth.

"There's no surprise the backdrop is UEFA's financial fair play but this [deal] helps to make significant progress in that area.

"We've had a 44 per cent annual growth commercially.

"And we've delivered success over the last three years through investment in our future.

"We have targets and plans laid out over the next five years.

"The ambition is to continue our growth and be able to compete with the largest clubs in the European market.

"This football club has always had a commercial growth agenda an aggressive growth agenda.

"All of our partners are playing a part in that.

"But this [deal] is not necessarily in order to meet any compliance.

"This is a plan of growth between two great companies, the deepening of a relationship that started two years ago as simply a shirt sponsorship."

UEFA have vowed to scrutinise the fine detail of City's deal with Etihad to ensure it complies with the imminent introduction of their new regulations.

City, along with all European clubs, have been warned by UEFA that commercial deals will be subject to close examination to ensure everyone adheres to the new rules.

With Etihad owned by the Abu Dhabi government and City owner Sheikh Mansour having close links to them, UEFA will want to establish whether there is any conflict of interest in the deal.

"We are aware of the situation and our experts will make assessments of fair value of any sponsorship deals using benchmarks," said a UEFA spokesman.

UEFA will analyse the deal between City and Etihad to make sure it complies with market rates for similar agreements and meets its stringent regulations.

Cook added: "We have a very open dialogue with UEFA.

"We have had several meetings with UEFA about our growth plans and they are very supportive of Manchester City's ambition.

"We will look to continue our growth on and our pitch.

"The ambition for next year is that we are competing in a new competition for us in the Champions League, while we're also in the Premier League, FA Cup and Carling Cup.

"We'll endeavour to be successful in all four." 

Source: Mirror Football 

SunFront13sld.jpg

EVER since Kingston College student Khajeel Mais was killed by the driver of a BMW X6, who turned his gun on a taxi in which the 17-year-old was a passenger two Fridays ago, Jamaicans have been eager to learn the identity of the mysterious shooter who was able to flee the island.

cpclick here to read full articlecp

-- Edited by kartel1234 on Sunday 10th of July 2011 10:20:54 AM

The Jamaica Constabulary Force has released a series of tips to protect persons from being victims of rape.

Be aware of the possibility of being raped ... it could happen to you. 

Safety at Home

Replace or rekey locks when you move into a new home or apartment. Install a door viewer and a one-inch deadbolt lock and use them. Look before opening your door to anyone.

Keep doors locked at all times and instruct children to never open your door to anyone.

Require all strangers to show identification.

Secure you car and home. Keep a large flashlight and some cash in your car. The flashlight can be used as a light or weapon.

Always keep your doors and windows locked and evaluate the effectiveness of the locks. Never open your door to a stranger and never tell them you are alone.

Avoid unsafe situations and strangers. If you are being followed, go to the nearest police or any place where several people will be (stores, gas stations, etc.) Walk in groups at night.

Flee if you are in a potentially dangerous situation. Yell or scream to attract attention. Carry a whistle that will make a loud noise.

Think! Keep using your mind to think of alternative actions for escape.

You are responsible for your own safety. Call your local police department and set up a schedule for a police personnel to speak to your employees or community members.

Don't let a stranger inside your home to use the phone. make the call for him.

Never admit you or a neighbour are home alone.

Women living alone should use only initials on mailboxes and in telephone listings.

Leave outside lights on at nights, and keep lights on in more than one room.

If you receive an obscene phone call hang up don't react.

Safety Tips While Walking

When possible, avoid walking alone. Walk with someone or walk in areas where other people are near.

Stay in well-lit areas, away from alleys, bushes and entry ways.

Avoid shortcuts through parks, vacant lots and other deserted places.

Don't hitchhike or accept rides from strangers.

If a driver stops to ask you directions, avoid getting near the car.

If you are being followed, go to the nearest business or residence for help.

If you are ha****ed by the occupants of a car, simply turn and walk the other direction. The driver will have to turn around to follow you.

Hold your purse close, not dangling, and avoid carrying extra money or valuables on your person.

When you return home, have your door key ready so that you can enter without delay. 

ABOVE ALL, BE AWARE OF THE PEOPLE AROUND YOU.

BE AWARE OF YOUR SURROUNDINGS AND THE TOTAL ENVIRONMENT.

The Weekend Star has received unconfirmed reports that the police have seized a van that was given to two 'hustlers' for $200 by a coke addict in search of a fix.

Reports reaching THE WEEKEND STAR is that the incident happen on Monday when the man decided to do a transaction with his white Toyota RAV4 van.

Allegations are that the owner of the van went to a tyre shop in the Corporate Area to sell his four brand new tyres and to replace them with with four used ones. It is reported that he wanted money to buy cocaine. 

Suspicious

According to a source that spoke to THE WEEKEND STAR last night, "Di man drive up and said come here dude, I want to sell these four tyres and get four used ones. But same time mi get suspicious because him seh dat him want about $35,000 for the four tyres."

The source further said that he became suspicious because; "Me did a wonder if a thief him thief di car and want to sell di tyres. But eventually mi find out seh he is a crack head because him ask we where him can get crack to buy."

THE WEEKEND STAR further understands that after the alleged addict found out where he could get the drug he then left with two men to an alleged coke base.

It is reported that after finding the coke base, the man exchanged his car keys for the money to buy cocaine. Interestingly, it is understood that the man slept at the coke base, while the two hustlers left with his vehicle for a joy ride.

The men later, however, reportedly got into difficulties with the vehicle after interfering with the vehicle's 'kill switch'.

The vehicle was abandoned in the Kingston 2 area. The police are said to have seized it.

However, several checks made by THE WEEKEND STAR last night to confirm the seizure of the vehicle with the Kingston Eastern police proved futile.

Spice & Missy Elliott have Fun - Another hip-hop, dancehall collaboration 
Friday, 08 July 2011 17:01

Spice and Missy Elliot Fun

Two years ago female deejay Spice lit the dancehall world with her Vybz Kartel combination Rampin' Shop, then she was at it again with the funny, cheating single Jim Screechie...now this time she is greeting the summer with the jazzy number titled simply Fun. Click Image to Read More.

Public sector wage agreement signed at Jamaica House

PUBLIC sector leaders were finally able to put their signatures to an agreement this morning for the more than 100,000 civil servants to receive the long-awaited seven per cent increase which has been owed by Government since 2009.

At a special signing ceremony at Jamaica House, Prime Minister Bruce Golding assured the public sector groups that the Public Sector Transformation Unit's monitoring committee will be ensuring that Government delivers on the agreement.

Golding also urged Minister of Finance Audley Shaw to ensure that the scheduled dates for payments are kept.

"I will not be of much assistance to you if at some point in time you sat here and witnessed our signing this agreement to say we are going to pay a certain amount on a certain day, if the month before it is due you come to me to say you have a problem," he told Shaw.

The new wage rates will begin to be applied in September this year, covering the period April-August 2011 and the retroactive sums for this period will be paid in two tranches in September and December.

Retroactive sums owed the workers the for 2009 to March 2011 will start to be paid out in June 2012 and extend over a subsequent 26-month period.

The public sector groups had flatly rejected Government's first offer which would see them begin receiving outstanding money in 2013/2014.

In a June 3 letter to the unions, Government proposed that payment of the outstanding amount for the financial year 2009/2010 and 2010/2011 be paid in equal installments over five years.

Source: Jamaica Observer 

coffin.jpg

A Russian woman who was wrongly declared dead by doctors died of heart attack at her own funeral. -- PHOTO: AFP 

A RUSSIAN woman who was wrongly declared dead by doctors died of heart attack at her own funeral.

@#$ilyu Mukhametzyanov, 49, started screaming upon finding out that she was in a coffin while the bereaved prepared burial. She had collapsed after suffering a heart attack at home earlier.

'Her eyes fluttered and we immediately rushed her back to the hospital,' said @#$ili Mukhametzyanov, her husband. However, she survived for only another 12 minutes in intensive care.

The hospital official announced that they had opened investigation concerning the incident.

'I am very angry and want answers. She wasn't dead when they said she was and they could have saved her,' the husband told reporters.

He said he is planning on suing the hospital. -- KOREAN HERALD/ANN 

Source: Straits Times 

adam500.jpg

Liverpool have completed the signing of midfielder Charlie Adam from Blackpool.

The Scot, 25, signed a contract on Thursday after successfully completing a medical, the club's official website said. The length of the contract or the fee have not yet been disclosed.

"I am absolutely delighted to be here," Adam told Liverpoolfc.tv.

"It has been a long process but now I can't wait to get started and hopefully this will be a successful period in my career and in the club's history."

He added: "Liverpool is a massive club with terrific players and a terrific manager.

"I see this as the perfect development for me to come here, play with such wonderful players and hopefully help the team to win trophies, because that's the most important thing.

"I'm delighted to be able to walk out on the same pitch as some of the players here.

"There are good players at the club, top, top players who I want to learn from. I want to become a better player and hopefully bring something to the team.

"Hopefully we can have a successful period because it's been missing now for a couple of years.

"At the end of the day you get judged on trophies and as a footballer you want to win as many as you can.

"This club has had a lot of success over the years, so let's get back to doing that."

In the January transfer window the Reds had two bids - the second worth £6.5m - rejected by the Seasiders, who were reportedly holding out for £9m.

But Liverpool reopened talks at the end of the season for a player who had only 12 months left on his contract.

Adam, who was on the shortlist for the PFA Player of the Year award last season, joined Blackpool from Scottish Premier League club Rangers for £500,000 in 2009.

He was close to joining Tottenham before time ran out in the January transfer window earlier this year.

Adam becomes boss Kenny Dalglish's second signing since they finished sixth in the Premier League last season.

Another midfielder, Jordan Henderson, arrived from Sunderland in June for a reported £20m.

Roma's Brazilian goalkeeper Alexander Doni could complete a move to Liverpool in the next 24 hours, according to his agent Ovidio Colucci.

The clubs reached agreement over Doni's transfer last month but the keeper could not agree personal terms.

"We just have to ratify certain details with Roma," said Collucci. "If the deal is completed, Doni will join Liverpool on a free transfer and will sign a two-year contract."

Source: BBC Sport 

Vybz_Kartel_RGB1.jpg

Self-proclaimed Dancehall hero, Adidja Vybz Kartel Palmer has vehemently denied that he has contracted the deadly HIV virus.

Kartels denial is in response to rampant rumors over the past few days that the Portmore empire deejay had gotten the disease following intercourse with a female who had previously contracted the sexually transmitted disease. There were even rumors that Kartels mentor turned nemesis, Bounty Killer had paid said girl to ensure that Kartel transmitted the same HIV disease that she had.

But Vybz Kartel has not publicly rubbished such claims; telling the Jamaica STAR, "There's no truth whatsoever to that statement. That's just frivolity on behalf of some unscrupulous clowns. What I'm interested to know is why they would wanna start a rumor about HIV when they know that I've copulated with their moms, sisters, aunts, girlfriends and all the other females in their pathetic little insignificant life.

A source close to Kartels camp had also confirmed that the rumors were indeed lies; saying amongst other things, The rumors start by the same person who always a start dem wid BBM, but wi soon find out a who.

Meanwhile, Kartel has been busy promoting his new album, Kingston Story & reportedly has been putting his efforts into creating a new rum brand of his own. Kartels former business associate, Corey Todd teamed up with Beenie Man to launch the new liquor brand Yaad Swag. However, Kartel failed to elaborate on said plans; intimating that, "I've been secretly coming up with a business plan of action that will blow people's minds away, no not firearms production. That's all I will divulge for now."

Source: Jodee Brown jmarc3688@gmail.com

19943c175ccf332a4de0d559fd34d4d4.jpg

Controversial Dancehall superstar, Vybz Kartel has been the center of yet another rumor, this time suggesting the Portmore Empire deejay had HIV.

Reports since last weekend suggested that Kartel had contracted HIV from a female known as Kimone Powell who recently tested positive for the virus. The reports also claim that Powell proceeded to publicize her relationship with the self-professed Dancehall hero; implying that they regularly had unprotected sex. What made the rumors even more intriguing is the allegation that Kartels former mentor, Bounty Killer paid off Powell to spread the disease to Di Teacha.

However, sources close to Kartels Gaza camp rubbish the rumors; intimating that the World Boss has no knowledge of who Powell is. The source told Urban Islandz, You have some people that dont like success and always a look fi ways fi mash up Adi career, whilst adding Adi no have no AIDS nor know who Kitty (Kimone) is, the rumors start by the same person who always a start dem wid BBM, but wi soon find out a who. Bounty Killer has yet to comment on allegations that he paid off Powell to ensure Kartel contracted the same HIV virus.

Vybz Kartel has recently been promoting his new album, Kingston Story which was released two weeks ago & performed at Ninja Mans benefit concert two weekends ago at JamWorld in Portmore.
Source: Jodee Brown jmarc3688@gmail.com

THE Department of Correctional Services (DCS) has granted early release to five prisoners, tagging them with electronic tracking devices and sending them back into their communities.

The five, who were released on Monday wearing personal identification devices on their ankles, and equipped with personal tracking units which double as a cellphones, as well as repreater units, were drawn from three correctional institutions and are part of a group that is initially expected to be increased to 15.

Acting Commissioner of Corrections Lt Col Sean Prendergast made the disclosure after a press conference at the DCS's probation office in Kingston yesterday, where the Conditional Pre-Release: Home Leave Programme, of which electronic monitoring is central, was launched.

The roll-out of the programme comes after a two-year pilot project between 2008 and 2010 in which 46 volunteer offenders in six parishes were fitted with special ankle bracelets and were monitored. The pilot gave special consideration to the island's terrain.

"The pilot project was a success. It showed that the technology and the equipment were suitable for Jamaica and that is why we are at the stage we're at now where we have actually released inmates, tagged, into the society. There are five out there now and in a few more weeks we'll be up to 15," Prendergast told the Observer.

To be selected, inmates have to be low-risk/non-violent offenders sentenced to five years or less who have already completed at least a third of their sentences. They have to be part of a rehabilitation programme within the prison and have to be recognised for good behaviour.

Minister of National Security Dwight Nelson said the early-release programme, expected to cost US$16.50 per day per prisoner, would save government money given that custodial care costs US$21 per day per prisoner.

"The fact is that we have to devise a number of strategies to relieve overcrowding in the prisons and this is the most obvious one," said Nelson.

Lt Col Prendergast put Jamaica's adult prison population at 4,073, with a recidivism rate of 26.7 per cent. And according to Minister Nelson, "despite approximately 2,000 being released annually, we also take in another 2,000 offenders".

Aside from addressing overcrowding, the programme is also geared at helping inmates reintegrate into civil society.

"It will also serve as a basis for the reintegration of prisoners into their community and to have the community placed in a respective framework to receive these inmates, so these will have some serious significant impact on our crime-fighting efforts," the minister said.

Systems administrator with the DCS, Paul Tate said the bracelets are water and tamper-proof.

"This has fibre optic technology, so the moment you cut this track, light is exposed and immediately we get an alert saying they have tampered with the device and we are able to triangulate their location, time and we retrieve the offender," he said.

Along with being tagged, offenders will be given zones in which they must be at particular times, and those in which they must never be at any time.

"For example, if the offenders are sex offenders and they visit schools and stake them out, we could indicate all the schools in that area and say between 8:00am and 5:00 pm if they enter any of those zones it tells us immediately and we can identify if they are standing still or if they are driving by.

"And it tells how long the offender is in that spot so that in and of itself can be a breach and the offender can be called back," said Tate.

Said Prendergast: "The technology can be very beneficial and we are just making sure, we're being very deliberate and cautious in what we're doing, starting off with some very small numbers but in time those numbers can grow to more meaningful numbers depending on the success of the programme in these early stages".

Electronic monitoring is used in countries like United Kingdom, the United States, Brazil, Australia, Sweden and the Netherlands.

MAVADO-NYC.jpg

Dancehall singjay Mavado is back in the US after more than a years absence. The artiste was recently reissued with a work permit by the United States Embassy in Kingston.
This has been confirmed by his manager, Julian-Jones Griffith on Twitter
He will have a live interview on Hot 97 with Bobby Konders & Jabba, 10 12 pm.

Mavados permit was revoked back in 2009 along with fellow entertainers Beenie Man, Bounty Killer, Aidonia, Elephant Man & Ricky Trooper.

sizzla-kalonji-yardlink254.jpgDancehall artiste Sizzla recently released two controversial songs on popular social network site, youtube.com.

The two singles, dubbed 50 Calibah and Diss Rasta, discussed issues of skin bleaching, tongue piercing and the title of dancehall king.

Lashed Out

In 50 Calibah, it is alleged that Sizzla lashed out against a popular dancehall artiste, where he accuses him of bleaching and tongue piercing.

In the song he says, Bwoy money cyaan save yu from yu sin, cannot tell man bout fi bleach dem skin thought you were a gangsta youre a , tell man fi bore tongue bwoy a wah dat.

Sizzla also hinted at Kartels latest response to Shabba saying tell dem ano Shabba this, he belted out in classical Sizzla style.

In the other freestyle, Diss Rasta, Sizzla takes on Beenie Man where he questions Beenie Mans capacity as King of the Dancehall. He deejays: Sey him a King fi Dancehall a gonna tek wey the crown cuz him walk and pure round town Sey him a Moses him naah gi di gal dem him rod.The song is said to be a response to Beenie Mans latest single produced by Seanizzle called Nah Talk too Long where Beenie Man says,Mi nuh fraid a bald head nor Ras inna Turban.

When contacted by THE WEEKEND STAR however, Sizzla said the songs were not diss songs, and were only done to straighten out some individuals, letting them know that popularity is not an excuse to lead people astray.

Not because you are of great popularity and fame doesnt mean that you should disrespect your elders and our culture, and those who laid the foundation for us, he said.

Sizzla also expressed that if an individual wants to take it up and respond, it does not concern him.

Lyrical Confrontation

It all depends, Im not afraid of any lyrical confrontation, why should I be, He said. He further stated that as a black man who sang songs like Black Woman and Child, it gives him the authority to sing about issues that are against the norm of black morality and culture.

To me, music is a joy suh mi jus freestyle and set dem straight, its their business if dem vex, so excuse me Im just setting you people straight, he told THE WEEKEND STAR.

Sizzla is currently preparing for an African tour to promote of his latest studio album The Scriptures pt. 1, produced by John John. The album will be available in stores on June 21.

Admiral Town Police Station jail said unfit for young detainees

THE Admiral Town Police Station lock-up in Kingston has been declared unfit to house juvenile detainees after a youth allegedly suffered a rat bite there, sparking an investigation by the Office of the Children's Advocate.

"The Admiral Town lock-up is not suitable for (adults) much less juveniles. It's dark and dingy and dirty... Whatever needs to happen for them (the children at the facility) in terms of a place (to go) needs to happen," Gloria Thompson, an investigator with the Office of the Children's Advocate, told the Observer during a site visit to the lock-up yesterday.

d4848f5e5e4f04989997ecffa5cc0b16.jpg 

"Some priority needs to be given to these children to get them out. They are in there without light for the whole day and night, and there is no fresh air for them. It is really just not suitable," she added.

Thompson said if children continued to be housed at that lock-up, there would be little hope of successfully rehabilitating them over the long term.

"Even though they say they have retrofitted Admiral Town (lock-up) for juveniles, it is still unacceptable. It is still way beyond an acceptable state for children. The facility is not amenable to them; the garbage is still there and they are sleeping on the concrete, and that's the bedding because there is no mattress or anything," she complained.

"There is no rehabilitation. The correctional facility is supposed to rehabilitate the children. They can only become hardened criminals in a place like that. So, much haste needs to (made) by the officers and/or by the officials to fit them in at Metcalfe Street since that was retrofitted for them," Thompson added.

The Metcalfe Street Juvenile Remand Centre in Denham Town - worked on by the Engineer Regiment of the Jamaica Defence Force at a cost of $190 million - opened its doors to 47 boys from the Stony Hill Remand Centre last month. It is intended to house all 101 juveniles who were up to April this year being held in police lock-ups across the island.

Claudette Pious, head of Children First - an independent non-governmental organisation dedicated to youths aged three to 18 - added her voice to the call for youths to be removed post-haste from the Admiral Town Police Station lock-up.

"The children need to be removed from there and that is the long and short of it. I am not saying the authorities are not doing what they have to do, but do they have the capacity to do what they need to do in the best interest of the child?" said Pious.

"If they don't have staff and if they don't have resources, (it is) understandable, but at the end of the day, we can't take the child in for care and protection and a rat a go bite the pickney," she added.

The 14-year-old rat-bite victim was taken to doctor last Sunday, but only had his prescription filled yesterday when Pious took it on herself to do it. His parents, the Children First boss said, were not able to afford the medication.

Meanwhile, with the exception of the 14-year-old who is in lock-up for uncontrollable behaviour, juveniles at the Admiral Town lock-up are facing charges of shooting, robbery and murder, according to Superintendent Terrence Bent, head of the Kingston Western Police Division.

Still, he admitted that the facilities were less than ideal for juveniles.

"We will be happy to stop putting juveniles there when they tell us where to put them. Unless the Government gives us the tools to work with, we have to work with what we have," Bent told the Observer.

"Every week I write a report indicating that we have juveniles in custody and these reports indicate that we have spoken to all of the relevant agencies - the CDA, the Children's Registry - and the situation remains unchanged. So I don't have a problem with them saying we shouldn't have the children there, as long as they tell us where to put them," he added.

According to Bent, he welcomed the day when juveniles were no longer held in police lock-ups in Jamaica, especially those not facing charges.

"The facility that we have here has no sort of recreational, educational situation. The police force was not designed for that... it is to hold prisoners. So if the state is really genuine about children and child care development, they would have made enough spaces to hold the juveniles, especially those who are not charged," he said.

In the interim, Bent said the police simply have to make do.

"The police have been asked to do something and we are trying our best to ensure that the juveniles get the best care that we can possibly offer them. We do this with great constraint at Admiral Town. But are we using what we have been given to work with. We try to keep the place clean and habitable," he said. 

The Gleaner understands that police detectives have the alleged driver of the BMW X5, who was involved in the fatal shooting of 17-year-old Kingston College student Khajeel Mais.

29868kaj_300.jpg

Khajeel Mais- contributed 

Khajeel was killed on Friday night after an enraged driver of a BMW X5 shot up a taxicab in which he was driving.

The driver came out after his BMW X5 was bumped by the taxi. He reportedly fired two shots, one of which went through Khajeel's head.

The Gleaner understands that the driver used a legal firearm to commit the act. Highly placed sources say that he is the son of a famous figure linked to the entertainment industry.

The Gleaner also understands that the driver was before the courts on another matter.

Source: The Gleaner 

Lennox Lindo, more popularly known as Lyndo is proving to be the Now & Di Future of Dancehall music as his slogan suggest.

The young, underground artiste from Red Hills, St. Andrew was exposed to music from an early age; listening to music from Reggae pioneers like Bob Marley, Alton Ellis, Bob Andy and countless others. Though most of said legendary artistes were beyond Lyndos years, they inspired him to want to go down a similar route.

While he attended Jose Marti high school, Lyndo began deejaying with friends & even lyrical clashed with fellow students. Such battles earned him recognition amongst his peers & Lyndo had shown potential as a Dancehall artiste. But the journey to stardom became a rough one as he had to drop out of high school at 17 & make ends meet by taking on several jobs such as carpentry & selling high tech gadgets.

However, the money Lyndo made from selling gadgets enabled him to pursue his musical endeavors; earning studio time & performing at community BBQs, parties, street dances & stage shows. His rhyming abilities & performance savvy gained Lyndo comparisons to established Dancehall veterans such as Aidonia & Vybz Kartel.

Fast forward to 2010 & Lyndo began to assert himself within the underground ranks & began to show his skills on a wider scale. Lyndos record label, Fyahwall Entertainment produced two unofficial remixes; gaining him clout within the genre. Remixes of Tami Chynn & Tifas hit, Certified Diva along with international rap superstar, Eminems song No Love featured some of Lyndos lyrical ingenuity & versatility as hes able to switch lanes & genres while still maintaining his Dancehall sound.

In 2011, Lyndo began to gain more recognition as a solo artist with singles such as Babylon on the Aftermath Riddim & Me Nuh Inna on the Pepper Riddim. Most recently, Lyndo released the single, Booty Clap on the Hotbox Riddim (Tenfloor Productions) in May. Now as Lyndo aims to prove his worth as a potential future superstar within Dancehalls realms, Lyndo released his Now & Di Future mixtape this past weekend, featuring all the aforementioned tracks and other remixes such as one for Mavados hit track, Tump. This mixtape trumpets Lyndos arrival a force to be reckoned with amongst Dancehalls ranks.

To view Lyndos material, visit his Facebook fan page: http://www.facebook.com/lyndomuzik and Download the Now & Di Future mixtape at: http://www.mediafire.com/?tll2lzfotd01322

Source: http://www.examiner.com/jamaican-pop-culture-in-national/jodee-brown

-- Edited by RAY_KING on Tuesday 5th of July 2011 10:52:44 PM

confuseCan You Beleive this S.h.it lcbull

Casey Anthony was found not guilty Tuesday of murdering her daughter, 2-year-old Caylee Anthony, after a trial that riveted the nation with its twists and turns.

Anthony, 25, cried and then hugged her chief lawyer, Jose Baez, and other members of her defense team once all counts were read.

Chief Prosecutor Jeff Ashton, meanwhile, shook his head slightly from side to side in apparent disbelief.

Across the room, Anthony's father wiped tears from his eyes. Without speaking to Casey Anthony, he and his wife left the courtroom escorted by police as the judge thanked the jury.

Anthony was also found not guilty of child abuse and aggravated manslaughter.

The only counts Anthony was found guilty of were for providing false information to investigators looking into the June 2008 disappearance of her daughter. The child's body was found in the woods six months later and a medical examiner was never able to determine how she died.

Judge Belvin Perry said he would sentence Anthony on those four counts Thursday morning. Anthony remained in custody pending the sentencing.

Each count carries a maximum of one year in prison. If convicted of all four counts, Anthony could receive a sentence of four years if the sentence for each count is run consecutively. She could also get credit for time served and has already spent almost three years in jail awaiting trial.

The jury deliberated for under 10 hours over the last two days and after hearing 33 days of testimony.

Given the relative speed with which the jury came back with a verdict, many court-watchers were expecting Anthony to be convicted in the killing, and they were stunned by the outcome.

Doug Berman, a criminal law professor at Ohio State University, said that while popular opinion came to the conclusion Anthony was guilty, jurors must hold to a higher standard one of  guilt beyond a reasonable doubt.

"In some sense, it's a sign that the system worked well," Berman said. "The job of the system is not to turn this into a Hollywood ending, but to have all the actors in the system do the job to the best of their ability."

The 12 jurors, seven women and five men, declined to talk to the media afterward. The judge did not release their names.

Defense, prosecution speak afterwards 
Both legal teams addressed reporters afterwards.

"While we're happy for Casey, there are no winners in this case," Baez said. "Caylee has passed on far, far too soon. And what my driving force has been for the last three years has been always to make sure that there has been justice for Caylee and Casey, because Casey did not murder Caylee. It's that simple."

Capletons shows go on despite gay protest
Tuesday, 05 July 2011 

capleton.jpg - 125.26 Kb

Reports out of Canada indicate that reggae artiste Capleton wowed his audience at a concert in Brampton, Ontario, despite protest from local gay rights groups. Click image to Read More.

RELEASE DATE: WITH IMMEDIATE EFFECT

Kingston, JA (HDP Ent) - Kevin Saunders better known as Erup first exploded onto the dancehall scene with the 2007 smash hit 'Gyal a Run Dem Head' which was swiftly followed up by his infectious anthem 'Click Mi Finger'. When it comes to penning catchy lyrics in which the world can relate to, Erup continuously achieves this.

Emerging from a three year hiatus, Erup blazed into 2010 with the club banger Pop the Bottle produced by Digiplay Records producer Ricardo Bailey. This year Erup is back with his latest masterpiece, another Digiplay production Unite My People. The song featured on the Tearz Riddim also includes artists Faydra, Jahbert and Dadi-P, new members of Erup's Fully Govern team.

Erup and Faydra are currently on a two month European tour _where they are spreading the message of unity amongst the various countries such as Greece, Italy, England, Switzerland but to name a few. When asked about the progress of the tour so far, Erup stated _"Its a joy to be here, Europe is a nice place. Click Mi Finger is still doing big things and the fans are feeling my latest singles such as Unite My People and Pop the Bottle.

"We all are on the Journey, only love can bring us through, and if today you are still down, hope tomorrow will be good for you!" - Unite My People

The timing for Unite My People could not be better placed as the billboard charted artist endeavours to extend the message for world peace and unity amongst the nations. The Fully Govern collective are also keen to spread this profound message to countries such as Libya, Tunisia and Japan.

With the national elections looming in Erups home country of Jamaica, it is no secret that they have a history of being extremely volatile. Whilst the Fully Govern members are not affiliated with either political party, they strongly believe that songs like Unite My People will help bring people together and lessen the divide between the Jamaica Labour Party (JLP) and the Peoples National Party (PNP).

Erup has high hopes that 'Unite My People' will not only be a huge hit but one withsignificant longevity in which corporate Jamaica will lend support to.

'Unite My People' is available now on iTunes.

http://itunes.apple.com/us/album/unite-my-people-feat-faydra/id447807435?i=447807444&ign-mpt=uo%3D4

"Unite My People"

Former Portmore Empire member & singjay, JahVinci has officially been booked to perform at Reggae Sumfest 2011 in Montego Bay. The "Watch Yuh Frenz" singer joins the likes of Beenie Man, I-Octane, Mavado, Tanya Stephens & Jah Cure as local Dancehall-Reggae acts who will grace the festival's stage during the weekend of July 21-23.

JahVinci expressed his joy at receiving this opportunity; intimating in a press release, "I am extremely excited to be included in this year's impressive Reggae Sumfest line-up because this festival is certainly the biggest platform in the Caribbean for a reggae artiste to showcase his craft and this will be my first opportunity to work a complete set as a solo act, and I will not disappoint my fans."

This latest news continues a good run for JahVinci since announcing his departure from Vybz Kartel's Portmore Empire at the end of May. Since severing ties with "Di Teacha," JahVinci has collaborated with former Empire producer, Notnice along with former Kartel business associate, Corey Todd to release a slew of new singles. "Wah My Money," "Oh Why," Love You," & "In My Life," which reflects on the reasoning behind leaving the "Gaza" camp are some of the singles JahVinci has released over the last month.

As for future projects, a video for "In My Life" will soon be unveiled & JahVinci will also be collaborating with producers such as Sly Dunbar (one half of Sly & Robbie) of Taxi Records & Donovan Germaine of Penthouse Records. "Anything is possible because mi free but mi a gwaan focus pon my work and build my career, I am looking forward to recording some great songs for major producers like Sly Dunbar and Donovan Germaine who have contributed a lot to reggae music," Jahvinci said.

Following Reggae Sumfest, JahVinci will travel to England for three shows in August and is booked for shows regionally in St. Vincent, Barbados & Dominica later this year. The singjay also claims that he's received interest from promoters in Africa & Japan for future shows. "Promoters as far away as Japan and Africa have also expressed interest in my career. During the next couple of months, I will be organizing my own band so that I can have an explosive set when I go on tour, I want to entertain the fans and have a long, fulfilling career in reggae music," JahVinci implied.

Talk Show Host Wilmot Perkins and his wife Elaine escaped injuries today after their vehicle crashed into the Lee's Fifth Avenue Shoes Store in Half Way Tree.

29871dsuf_300.jpg

The SUV that crashed into Lees Fifth Avenue today. (Photo submitted by Twitter user, ohGarth).

It's reported that no customer was in the store at the time the Perkins' vehicle crashed through the glass door and the staff members were not near. 

This afternoon Mrs Perkins said she was about to park at the store when the vehicle picked up speed and crashed through the glass door.

She said she is grateful for the help of the police and other people who came to their assistance after the crash.

"EXCITING season, new stuff, lots of surprises." That's what comedians Ity and Fancy Cat say fans can expect when the fourth season of their show unfolds on July 10 on TVJ at 9:30 pm.

The launch of season four took place at Kingston's Fiction Lounge, and according to host Blakka Ellis the madness will continue as the lovable duo and team once again provide comic relief with amusing skits from Jamaican livity.

IMG_5347.jpg

Minister of Sports and Culture Olivia 'Babsy' Grange hailed the team for their ability "to be creative and brave in taking on a lot of us and make us laugh". She also 'begged' for mercy as she told them not to do her too badly in their skits. (We all recall the famous spliced scene with her and Usain Bolt!)

She also lauded them for their effort in sustaining the local content "reaffirming our strong cultural identity".

"Music, creative arts and sports are at the centre of brand Jamaica," Grange noted as she said that all Jamaica can relate to the scenes being portrayed and the language used.

The Ity and Fancy Cat show

Since it first aired four years ago has managed to poke fun at various Jamaican personalities and events "without getting into trouble" praised Blakka Ellis.

Come season four with so many scenarios to choose from Dudus/Manatt Enquiry, Buju Banton trial, political scene it is left to be seen just what their comedic take on these will be.

Season four will see regular faces making their return to the show such as Kathy 'tan deh deh Grant, Iceman and Michael Abrahams.

According to Blakka Ellis there will also be some new people such as "Deon Silvera, Simon Crosskill ... and maybe even Assassin!"

Without giving away anything, Blakka Ellis teased; "As far as content goes we will continue to touch on whatever is current or exciting, and well, keep testing the edge with provocative parodies and spoofing popular personalities. And we're introducing two puppets who will be hilarious, and outrageously controversial."

Ricardo-Gardner.jpg

Bolton midfielder Ricardo Gardner has signed a one-year contract extension with the Premier League club.

The 32-year-old turned down the chance to work with former boss Sam Allardyce at West Ham in June and has now agreed a new deal at the Reebok Stadium.

"I want to thank everyone for the opportunity to sign on for another year," said Gardner, who has made more than 400 appearances for the Trotters.

"I have been very happy here and so has my family."

The Jamaican has been with Bolton since 1998, but appeared on the Premier League's list of released players published last month as his contract with the Trotters had expired.

Gardner added on the club's official website: "I'm looking forward to this pre-season because it is a fresh start. I hurt my knee just after the season started last year and I had to play catch-up.

"I had a bit of a break in the summer and went back to Jamaica for two weeks to give my muscles all the rest that I needed and spend time with my family.

"It was important that I prepared myself right because this is a big season for me and I want to make sure that I enjoy it." 

Gael_Clichy_12_682_1339512a.jpg

ARSENAL have confirmed they have sold left-back Gael Clichy to Manchester City for £7million.

The France international has signed a four-year deal at Eastlands worth £65,000 a week.

Clichy said: "I'm really happy to be joining such a great club. I hope I can add to the quality we already have here because we have a fantastic squad who I believe will continue to get better.

"I can't wait to get started and I think anything is possible with this team."

Clichy also revealed that in moving to Eastlands, he will be re-joining two of his best friends in football.

He said: "When I first came to England, it was Kolo Toure and Patrick Vieira who took me under their wing and really looked after me.

"Kolo would pick me up and drop me at home and his wife used to cook meals for me. Patrick was always there to offer me advice so it's wonderful to be back and at the same club they are at."

Reflecting on his time in north London, Clichy added: "I have had eight fantastic years at Arsenal and made many friends.

"I have so many great memories from my time at Highbury and Emirates Stadium. I would like to say thank you to everyone at Arsenal for all of their support and friendship.

"I also want to send a big thank you to all the Arsenal supporters, who have always been so good to me."

Gunners boss Arsene Wenger said: "We would like to thank Gael for eight years of terrific service to Arsenal, during which time he gave absolutely everything for the club.

"He has grown and developed so much since joining us in 2003, and has been a crucial part of the team over recent seasons.

"Gael leaves with our respect and best wishes. We wish him the very best for his future career."

Clichy, 25, joined Arsenal from Cannes in August 2003, and during his time with the club made 264 appearances in all competitions.

In his debut season with the Gunners, Clichy became the youngest player at the time to win a Premier League medal in 2004, aged 18 years and 10 months.

Soon after, Clichy established himself as a mainstay of Wenger's side and also a regular with the France national team.

Source: The Sun 

Harry Potter's Radcliffe: I became "so reliant" on alcohol
Monday, 04 July 2011 18:51

Harry Potter star Daniel Radcliffe has revealed that he was so worried about his drinking that he vowed to give it up and has become teetotal. [ Click image above to Read More. ]

52_jayz_1338920a.jpg

ASHLEY COLE is going into the restaurant business, teaming up with international rap star Jay-Z.

The pair met in New York to plan the building of a brand new London restaurant set to launch next year. 

It is the first of a number of entertainment ventures brokered by Chris Nathaniel of NVA Entertainment Group.

They will be giving jobs to the long-term unemployed as well as donating a percentage of the profits that are made to charity.

Cole said: "It is really exciting to be working with a star like Jay Z.

"And the fact we can help unemployed people by training them up and putting them to work at a top place while also helping charities makes it a great project."

To keep in touch with all the latest news on the ventures between Ashley Cole and Jay Z, follow them on Twitter @nvaholdings

Source: The Sun 

A phone thief was made the laughing stock of May Pen and surrounding areas in Clarendon after a man from whom he attempted to rob a cellular phone urinated on him.

The serious but comical incident occurred recently in the busy town centre.

Police have confirmed hearing about the incident but say they have received no official report on the matter. The cops also confirmed that there has been a recent upsurge in the cases of robbers grabbing phones and running off.

Information reaching THE WEEKEND STAR is that in a recent case, three men saw a middle-aged man walking with a BlackBerry phone in his hand.

It is understood the robbers came beside him and then one grabbed the phone and they started to run. To their surprise, however, the man pulled his firearm and fired three shots in the air and shouted "STOP".

THE WEEKEND STAR heard that the man who had the phone fell to the ground, while his other frightened cohorts quickly found hiding places. The man is said to have walked up to the alleged phone grabber who was still lying on the ground and reportedly said: "You a phone grabber, gi me mi phone".

As the thief quickly handed over the instrument, the man asked: "Weh you want me do pump two shot pon you or urinate pon you?"

As people began laughing, the culprit replied: "Urinate pon me sar, urinate pon me".

As the laughter grew, the man took out his penis and urinated on the phone grabber and turned and walked away.

No one could say how the phone grabber disappeared so quickly afterwards but many suspect it will be quite a while before he returns to the May Pen square.

ONE - ON - ONE OUTAROAD

We knew this artiste in the earlier days as Einstein, but now he has had a new approach to life and as such decided to change his name. He is now Stein. When one-on-one heard about the change, the scoop had to be done to see what was going on with this artiste and what sparked the change.

stein_deejay.jpgSetting: Remember that tree at utech, yup we still there
Interviewer:
Shanique Campbell aka Shani
Interviewee:
Stein

OutAroad: What is your real name?
Stein: Jermaine Shaw

OutAroad: How old are you Jermaine?
Stein: 24

OutAroad: How long have you been in the music industry?
Stein: 6 years now

OutAroad: Really? What are some of the songs that you are most known for?
Stein: "Rise the Machine", "Rifle dem", "Tek weh", "Get Gyal Easy", "Bad Man Nuh War Ova Gyal" among others.

OutAroad: Weh you say you profile large! Lol Do you think that Gangsta songs have a negative impact on Jamaica?
Stein: No enuh, mi nuh think so

OutAroad: What kind of impact do you think your songs have on Jamaica?
Stein: My songs are self-defense as well as gangsta. So I know they dont have a negative impact, at least no more negative than the system. If you are gonna call my songs negative then a whole odda stuff ago negative.

OutAroad: You seem to be a laid back type of artiste, are you off the seen now?
Stein: I have never been off the seen or the most dominant artiste, no matter what; I would always have a song on the radio. But it is definitely something that I am working on.

OutAroad: What are some of the things that you dislike about the music industry?
Stein: Politics and Injustice

OutAroad: Fair enough, finally, what's your advice to young artistes out there?
Stein: If you love music, keep focused, pursue and it must come through. Never give up and believe in God.

We have heard so many times that what these artistes dislike the most is the fact that there is so much politics in the music business and the real talented persons are not given the opportunity to really shine. Stein's views are no different. Music is in our *lo**, if you pierce the average Jamaican, music oozes out, so I guess all we really want is just a fighting chance and a level playing field for everyone.
So there you have it lads and ladies. The scoop, as usual, lol. Continue reading and look out for a whole lot more. Don't be afraid to leave your comments and if you have artistes that you would like to get one-on-one with, send me an email. Until then next time, your girl Shani sayin PEACE and God Bless

There was a startling revelation in the Spanish Town Petty Sessions Court yesterday when a complainant revealed that he had spent a total of $1.2 million in five years on a child he never saw.

It was also alleged in court that the man was threatened by the so-called mother after he demanded to see the child he has been maintaining since conception without seeing the baby even once.

The court was informed that a total of $1.2 million was given through monthly payments to take care of the child. The man is said to have started paying after learning that the accused had given birth to a 'nice little boy.'

When the man appeared in court there was an outburst of laughter after the allegations were revealed. It was said that the child was supposedly born in 2007, but could not be accounted for. The man got fed up with the excuses and insisted that he saw his child. It is reported that he was threatened when that request was made.

After he visited the woman recently, he was told the child recently returned from rural Jamaica and is now in England. He was threatened with violence when he complained. "

She tell mi dat she wi tek a machete and chop mi to death," said the complainant.

After hearing the story, the man was asked why he was so naïve in believing there was a child.

Both parties were advised to seek counselling in the matter.

mavadony.jpg

News Americas, NEW YORK, NY, Sat. July 2, 2011: Dancehall artist Mavado is back on U.S. soil.

After more than a year-long absence due to be denial of a U.S. visa, the singer, born David Constantine Brooks, landed Saturday morning, July 2nd and exited JFK Airport in NY without incident.

Movado had his visa cancelled by the U.S. Embassy in Jamaica last April along with Bounty Killa, Beenie Man, Adonia and selector Ricky Trooper. No reason was given at the time for the revocation.

Nicki-Minaj-Amber-Rose-2010-03-17-300x300.jpgYoung Money star Nicki Minaj has come to the defense of video vixen Amber Rose days after the model was accused of sending leaked nude photos to her boyfriend.

Downplaying the rumor, Minaj struck back at media reporting the gossip as fact.
"Ppl rlly believed it? WOW > RT @DaRealAmberRose: It shld b illegal 2write fake stories about ppl the media never wants to see any1 happy.," she tweeted June 30th.
"I don't address dumb sh*t. I always assume intelligent ppl understand these "stories" are 4 entertainment purposes only. But clearly... -_-"
"But KARMA is a b*tch. Every lie u print will come back to you & your children in one way or the other. Trust that. ;) #itsPinkFridayHoe" (Nicki Minaj's Twitter)

Speculation on who the photos were intended for hit the Internet on Tuesday (June 28).
According to our insider, Amber Rose had an INAPPROPRIATE relationship with Nicki Minaj's boyfriend Safaree . . . and that she sent him NEKKID PICS of herself . . . giving her cooch the DUECES!!! The insider tells MediaTakeOut.com, "At Nickis birthday in Vegas on [December 9th] weekend, Nicki caught her boyfriend Safaree in Amber's room . .. she knew something was going on." And there's more, "Later to find out by going into Safaree's phone, [Nicki learned] that Amber was sending Safaree naked pictures of herself via bbm." (Media Take Out)

Following the rumors, Rose hit up Twitter to clear the air.
"These blogs do nothing but try to ruin ppls lives I DID NOT send pics to anyones boyfriend pls stop with the lies. Its so ridiculous. smh," she tweeted June 28th.
"Yall been doing this to me for 3 years now it shld be illegal to write fake stories about ppl the media never wants to see anyone happy." (Amber Rose's Twitter)

Two days later, the video vixen said the images were over two years old.
"I was gonna wait until my radio show to address this but I want to say this now. I trusted someone that worked 4 me & allowed them to use my laptop a million times, I caught this person sending my pics to themselves and I fired this person immediatelyWiz [Khalifa] & I & both of our families have known about this for 2 months now. We tried to prepare ourselves for this day. Those pictures r 2 1/2 years old just sitting in my computer. I'm really hurt & embarr#!@%*#ed because I have so many young girls that look up to me. I would never put those pics out of myself."

Phil-Jones.jpg

Manchester United have sealed a five-year contract for Blackburn defender Phil Jones in a deal believed to be worth up to £17m.

The England Under-21 centre-half had a medical with United on 8 June before a late hitch delayed the transfer.

And despite offers from Arsenal and Liverpool, the 19-year-old insisted he only wanted a move to Old Trafford.

"It's a once in a lifetime opportunity and I'm looking forward to a new challenge," Jones said on Twitter.

"I'd just like to say that I've loved my time at Blackburn and I will always be a huge fan."

A United statement said the club were "delighted" to conclude the transfer.

"The player passed a medical in Manchester last week and has agreed a five-year contract," the statement read.

"The deal will be completed once the player returns from international duty."

Jones only made his Premier League debut in March last year but has made a big impact in his first full season and featured for the England U21s in the 1-1 draw with their Spanish counterparts on Sunday.

Several United players expressed delight on their Twitter accounts on Monday afternoon after hearing about their new team-mate.

Striker Wayne Rooney said: "Welcome to Man Utd Phil Jones. Looking forward to playing with u," while defender Rio Ferdinand said: "Welcome to Phil Jones. Another top young talent joining the club. The future is bright."

Blackburn boss Steve Kean revealed the club had made a "staggering" offer in an attempt to keep hold of their star defender.

"Phil wants to play Champions League football now and we're not at that level," Kean said.

"I'm sure we will be in the coming years, and we gave it a real good try and made him a fantastic offer, but I understand why he wants to go now.

"He goes with our blessing and it's an opportunity for us to invest in other young players across other areas of the pitch.

"We were hoping he was going to be captain of our club and captain of England, he's a fantastic prospect and I'm sure he'll be an England regular very soon."

The teenager will face a battle to immediately break into United's first team with Ferdinand and Nemanja Vidic the clear first choice for the centre-half spots.

Chris Smalling and Jonny Evans are also competing for places at the heart of Sir Alex Ferguson's defence.

A string of fine performances by Jones helped Blackburn end their season with a four-game unbeaten run, which included a 1-1 draw with United and wins over Bolton and Wolves, to guide them to Premier League survival.

Preston-born Jones joined Blackburn's youth set-up in 2002, making his debut in a Carling Cup win at Nottingham Forest in September 2009. His first Premier League appearance came six months later in a 1-1 draw with Chelsea at Ewood Park.

Polarizing Dancehall artist, Adidja Vybz Kartel Palmer has once against stirred up controversy with comments he made in a recent interview with a U.S magazine.

In this months issue of the Fader Magazine, Kartel spoke out on various topics including his business aspirations & his new album, Kingston Story. However, its comments regarding his Portmore Empire protégés that have raised some eyebrows. In said interview, Vybz Kartel claims that he owns everything about his artists.

The self-proclaimed World Boss told Fader Magazine, I sign all my artists. I sign all them recording, them publishing, them booking, them everything. If them eat, I gots to know about it. If they take a shower, I gots to know about it. Though its unknown the tone of voice that Kartel was speaking in when he made the comments, they add fuel to the fire that has been burning regarding rumors of his treatment of his Portmore Empire protégés.

Over the last month, former business associate, Corey Todd parted ways with Di Teacha. Soon thereafter, former protégés JahVinci, Merital Family & Doza Medicine as well as Empire producer, Notnice all left the Gaza group; citing similar reasons that Vybz Kartel has controlled various aspects of their musical careers. JahVinci claimed a lack of booking & promotional opportunities with the group, Merital Family implied that Kartel pocketed all proceeds from their 2009 hit song My Money Ha Ha. & Notnice is considering suing Kartel after he alleges the Portmore Empire deejay sent men to his house to steal his production equipment. He also is seeking compensation for projects he worked on with Kartel following said incident.

Doza Medicine announced his formal departure last week; citing lack of opportunities & that Kartel has a controlling personality and was paranoid.

LAUSANNE, Switzerland -- Asafa Powell ran the fastest 100 meters in the world this year on Thursday, winning in 9.78 seconds at the Athletissima track meet.

Powell's sprint was 0.01 faster than Tyson Gay of the United States, who turned in his time on June 4 in Florida. Powell's time was aided by a tail wind.

"It was a fantastic race. I was very confident actually that I was going to run good," the 28-year-old Powell said.

World record-holder Usain Bolt had a season best 9.91, set at the Rome Diamond League meet last month where Powell -- the world record-holder from 2005-08 -- was second. Powell's previous best this season was 9.90 at the Jamaica championships last weekend.

The world championships in Daegu, South Korea, are two months away, and Powell hopes to get even better.

He said the race was "not really a message to anybody -- it's just for me," but Powell will be looking to defeat Bolt, who broke Powell's world mark in his breakthrough 2008 season.

Smiling broadly, Powell said he's reaching his best form "slowly but surely."

"It will get better and better as the season goes on," he said. "9.6 is in my range."

Bolt's record is 9.58.

Jamaican teammate Michael Frater was second with a personal best time of 9.88. Christophe Lemaitre of France was third in 9.95.

David Rudisha, the world record-holder in the 800, won the event here in 1 minute, 44.15 seconds, while world champion Blanka Vlasic of Croatia was beaten in the high jump by Anna Chicherova of Ukraine, who cleared 6 feet, 4¾ inches. Vlasic jumped 6-2¾.

Olympic and world champion Andreas Thorkildsen won the javelin in his return from a groin injury. The Norwegian won with an opening throw of 292-7.

Also, American Morgan Uceny won the 1,500 meters in 4:05.52, almost a half-second ahead of Ukrainian Anna Mishchenko. Caster Semenya, the 800 world champion from South Africa, was 13th, more than 10 seconds behind Uceny.

In the 400, Amantle Montsho of Botswana won in 50.23, with world champion Sanya Richards-Ross second in a season-best 50.61. Richards-Ross is working her way back after a 2010 campaign that was sidetracked by a series of injuries.

Two American world champions, Brittney Reese and Christian Cantwell, registered victories.

Reese won the long jump with a leap of 22-5 3/4, Cantwell won the shot put with a heave of 71-7½.

Sally Pearson edged Danielle Carruthers of the United States to take the 100 hurdles in a photo finish. The Australian's winning time of 12.47 time was ruled illegal due to a 3.3-meter following wind. 

Source: Associated Press  

-- Edited by I-CO on Thursday 30th of June 2011 09:17:03 PM

That has to be what Google has been asking itself about social networking rival Facebook.

On Tuesday, months of speculation about whether Google has been working on its own social network were put to rest when the company revealed the Google+ project. The new service, which mirrors Facebook to a good extent, enables users to post status updates, upload pictures and share links -- just like people do on Facebook. It could also appeal to enterprise users.

The big question is whether Google can sing a sweet enough siren's song to lure users, who tend to be creatures of habit, away from the world's largest social network.

"There's no doubt this is going to be an uphill climb for Google," said Brad Shimmin, an analyst with CurrentAnalysis. "Google has been very good at responding to what consumers want in the market place. But Google does have a ways to go."

Actually, since Google is starting from square one, it has a really long way to go.

Last summer, Facebook announced that the social network had half a billion users worldwide, making it easily the largest social network in the world. The company hasn't released a more recent update, but various sources say the number of Facebook users is now close to 750 million users.

And now the company, which has six people on Forbes' billionaires list, is used by the FBI in the hunt for fugitives and serves as a lifeline for people struggling through a tsunami, tornadoes and other disasters.

That's not to mention the hundreds of millions of people who take to Facebook simply to tell friends and family about their latest trip to the beach, upload videos of their sleeping cats or pictures of their kids in Halloween costumes.

Because Facebook has become the go-to social networking site, it may be difficult for Google to convince people to add yet another social network to their list of sites to check every day -- or toss Facebook aside entirely for Google+.

One hurdle: Who will go with Google+ when not many people are using it yet? Social networks aren't much fun when you're nearly alone.

"I think it's a long shot," said Ezra Gottheil, an analyst with Technology Business Research. "It's not so much that people's time is totally occupied by Facebook. There's always some attrition. It's just that getting the organic growth that any new social network requires is going to be very difficult.... How do you gather a critical mass without being the first one there all by yourself?"

The good news for Google is that Myspace was once top dog in what was then the brand-new social networking sphere. Then Facebook came along and toppled it, leaving behind an online has-been.

"Google has a shot, but only because they're Google and have a lot of market power," said Dan Olds, an analyst with The Gabriel Consulting Group. "They can't be counted out. But it's going to be very difficult and they're going to need some luck. Facebook is massive and very well established and Google hasn't had to fight from behind for a long time. Can they still do it?"

Olds also suspects Facebook won't make it easy for users to move seamlessly between the two social networks. That won't help Google's cause, but will shore up some users for Facebook.

"Do people have enough time for another social network?" asked Olds. "We'll see, I guess. But it seems if anyone could take on Facebook, it would be Google."

... uniform and all

_LNR5904-sld.jpg

BY INGRID BROWN Senior staff reporter browni@jamaicaobserver.com 
Wednesday, June 29, 2011

WHEN 11-year-old Devonio James wrote to Police Commissioner Owen Ellington commending him on his good work and giving his views on crime in Spanish Town where he attends school, his only wish was that the letter would at least make it to the police chief's office.

To Devonio's surprise, Commissioner Ellington not only read his letter, he extended an invitation to the youngster to be police commissioner for a day.

"I felt like a king when I got back a letter from the commissioner," Devonio said proudly as he reported for duty yesterday.

And if he felt like a king on receiving the letter, he felt just like a police chief as he exchanged his McCauley Primary School uniform for an almost perfect replica of the commissioner's uniform when he showed up at Ellington's Old Hope Road office in Kingston at 8:00 am sharp to take on the day's challenge.

Accompanied by his doting mother Deborah Bennett-James and his teacher Errol Campbell, Devonio was met by Commissioner Ellington and immediately 'sworn in' by the Jamaica Constabulary Force (JCF) chaplain, Assistant Commissioner Gary Welsh.

"I, Devonio James, truly declare and affirm that I am here today to replace the present commissioner of police," he said. And with those words he began the day's tasks which included a tour of the facility, a briefing, a visit with Commissioner Ellington to the Jamaica Employers' Federation to sign a memorandum of understanding, directing traffic with Senior Superintendent Radcliffe Lewis, a visit to the Jamaica Defence Force headquarters at Up Park Camp and the police Area Four and Five headquarters to view their operations.

"Today all my hopes and dreams came through as I got to meet the commissioner, which I wanted to do for such a long time," Devonio told the Observer at the end of the day.

"It made me feel so elated," he said passionately.

It was the moment he had been mentally preparing for since deciding that the dream job for him will be that of police commissioner.

"My mother wants me to be a doctor and so I will go to university and do that because that is what she wants, but I will only do that until I can come back into the police force," Devonio said.

Already, he is on a clear academic path to achieving this dream, having topped the list of high performers at his school in this year's Grade Six Achievement Test (GSAT) to gain a place at his school of first choice - St Jago High.

And although Ellington warned him that being a police commissioner is a tough job, at the end of the day Devonio was even more adamant that someday his name will be added to the long list of police commissioners who have served Jamaica.

And to show just how prepared he was for the job, the senior deputy head boy, came armed with recommendations and strategies for fighting crime.

When asked what would be his response to the police's demands for more vehicles, the soft-spoken, polite youngster responded: "I will tell them that would have to be when we get the new budget."

Not only did he learn a lot during the day, but Devonio said he intends to begin a public education campaign in his school to sensitise children about the inconvenience of making prank calls to 119, the police emergency number.

With the police grappling to deal with prank calls, which account for some 60 per cent of the near 20,000 calls received per day, Devonio had a few suggestions of his own on how to tackle this problem.

He said that like the boy who cried wolf in the Aesop fable, the pranksters would get three chances, and if they persist, their numbers would be blocked. But when informed by Commissioner Ellington that the police cannot deny access to anyone, Devonio said the pranksters should get a reality check on how stressful it is for the police to deal with prank calls at the detriment of real emergencies.

He also had suggestions on how to deal with students caught up in violence, suggesting that a special school be built for them where they can be under a stricter regime.

"When the children give trouble in school, the school kick them out and while some parents get them back into school others don't and that creates a problem," he told the commissioner.

Devonio, who lives in Old Harbour, also believes that curfews should be more sustained and not just for short periods of time, if they are to be effective. He also expressed his desire to see a police post established in the troubled March Pen and Tawes Pen communities in Spanish Town.

Commissioner Ellington, who admitted to reading and at times responding to letters sent to him by citizens, said he was very impressed with Devonio's well-scripted letter which reflected a deep passion for the work of the police.

"I want him to stick to his dream because the Force deserves talent and commitment of bright kids as him," said Ellington.

According to the commissioner, the JCF has been attracting a lot of bright young people who are fresh out of high school and university.

Devonio's mother said she first got a replica of the commissioner's uniform made for him to wear to Career Day at school and that was what influenced his decision to write to the commissioner.

"On Career Day I was the commissioner and I gave command to my fellow classmates who were junior police officers and they said I did a good job," Devonio quipped.

He said that while his father was not very optimistic that the letter would get to the commissioner's desk, the boy's mother said she encouraged him to send it anyway.

Her only contribution to the letter was to review it, said Bennett-James.

Devonio's teacher Errol Campbell hailed him as a meticulous, outstanding leader and a student who goes after whatever he sets his mind to.

Therefore, he was not overly surprised when Devonio showed him the letter two months ago which he said he would be sending to the commissioner.

Since then, he has been encouraging the other children in his class to write to public officials to air their views and concerns.

-- Edited by I-CO on Wednesday 29th of June 2011 07:02:11 PM
«First  <  129 30 31 32 33524  >  Last»  | Page of 524  sorted by