Topic: UWI invites Kartel to 'lecture' - Artiste to give talk on his life and art

UWI invites Kartel to 'lecture' - Artiste to give talk on his life and art

YouthViewAwardsZZZZC20110206WS.jpg

The Department of Literatures in English and the Centre for Gender and Development Studies at the University of the West Indies, Mona are hosting a public lecture by Adidja 'Vybz Kartel' Palmer on Thursday, March 10 at 7 p.m., at the Undercroft of the Senate Building.

Kartel will speak on the topic, "'Pretty as a Colouring Book': My Life and My Art."

The invitation to speak was given to Kartel by Professor Carolyn Cooper who teaches a course on 'Reggae Poetry' in the Department of Literatures in English at Mona. The course focuses on the lyrics of Burning Spear, Jimmy Cliff, Peter Tosh, Bob Marley, Steel Pulse, Tanya Stephens and Buju Banton.

literary qualities

For their first assignment, students are given the freedom to select a song by any reggae/dancehall lyricist they like and analyse its literary qualities. Each year, some students select a song by Vybz Kartel, the self-styled 'teacha'. Even though he's not one of the prescribed lyricists on the course, Prof. Cooper considered it appropriate to invite Kartel to speak to her class.

But, given the popularity of the artiste, she decided to widen the audience and open up the lecture to the broader University community and the general public. Kartel, who thrives on controversy, is guaranteed to give a provocative talk, for example in defence of skin-bleaching which shows up his tattoos.

Like Harvard University, which recently honoured Columbian-born musician Shakira with the '2011 Artist of the Year Award', the University of the West Indies recognises the value of keeping the lines of communication open between the academy and the practitioners of popular culture, especially music.

Under her leadership

In 1994, the Mona campus of the UWI established the Reggae Studies Unit on the initiative of Prof Carolyn Cooper. Under her leadership, the Unit introduced the annual Bob Marley lecture, in association with the Bob Marley Foundation, which licensed the University to use the Marley name.

The Unit collaborated with the Foundation to host an international symposium to mark Bob Marley's 50th birthday. In addition to hosting public lectures and conferences, the Unit established an undergraduate degree programme in Entertainment and Cultural Enterprise Management. The first class graduated in 2000. This is one of the most highly sought after degrees in the Faculty of Humanities and Education.

The Reggae Studies Unit led the way and other departments followed. The Department of Government, the Department of Sociology, Psychology and Social Work and the Department of Literatures in English all teach courses that focus on reggae and dancehall.

Vybz Kartel's lecture on Thursday provides an excellent opportunity for the UWI to demonstrate its leadership role in engaging public debate on issues of colour, class and gender as manifested in Jamaican popular music.

THE GOLDEN CHILD
wa him ago tgalkl bout how 2 get white lclclc

What Him Fi Talk About Is How Him A Fool The People Them With Him GimIk Songs

can si seh all u people badmind, wah wrong if di man share him life experience wid di people dem, dis is a step for change in himself n for people to see

that shud be an interesting inerview......dam sorry me av work caz me wuda affi b der pan me eye lash....an i hopr d students pik sense outta non sense an nuh run wid everyting d man will be saying.......

fosterodel wrote:

can si seh all u people badmind, wah wrong if di man share him life experience wid di people dem, dis is a step for change in himself n for people to see

a suh some a dem gwaan man

dwl a joke dis........................ oh awoh a di teacha....

hmm I WOULD LIKE TO HEAR IT smile.gif

never know say U.W.I ave bleaching class now lc

fosterodel wrote:

FOSTER..TEK U HO.OD OUTTA KARTEL BA.TTI

WHAT A MAN FOOL......HOW U GET UP EVERYDAY A PREACH BOUT PPL JUDGING OTHERS AND YAAH JUDGE PPL BOUT DEM BADMIND....YUTE!! STOP CONTRADICT YUH SELF..PPL LIVE INNA FREE WORLD AND HAVE THE RIGHT FI TALK WEH DEM WANT....MI SURE IF A DID UWI INVITE SMADDY FROM GULLY...U LAUGH AND RIDICULE THE ARTIST AND MEK A BIG JOKE OUTTA IT

UWI INVITE HIM TO COME AND GIVE A SPEECH...BUT HE'S THE SAME ONE WHO DISS UTECH PON STAGE...pity

lol@punstatement - hmmFoster how yu know sey him waan change?

lmao lawd geee

badmind dem caa stop talk mek it was a diff person n c the coments dem jah know

GAZA WORLD