Topic: Pienaar Opts For Spurs Over Chelsea

Pienaar Opts For Spurs Over Chelsea

.jpeg

Spurs last night beat Chelsea in the race for Steven Pienaar after the Everton midfielder signed on at White Hart Lane.

Pienaar, who will wear the number 40 shirt, signed for £3m and penned a four-year deal worth £70,000-a-week for Harry Redknapp's outfit.

And a delighted Pienaar said: "To end speculation, I am going to Spurs. I've had brilliant years at Everton and it will always be a special place in my heart."

The 28-year-old, who passed a medical at Spurs' Chigwell training ground before tying up the final details of his deal, opted for Tottenham despite interest from their London rivals.

He was welcomed to Spurs by new Tottenham team-mate Jermain Defoe who said: "Signing Steven Pienaar is a massive coup for Spurs. This deal really shows how far we have come when a top player rejects a big club for us."

The South African could make his debut in Saturday's game at Newcastle, providing his work permit comes through in time.

A Spurs spokesman added: "We are delighted to announce that we have reached agreement with Everton and Steven Pienaar for the player's transfer to the club."

Pienaar is Spurs second January signing, with international team-mate Bongani Kumalo, a defender, having already signed a pre-contract agreement.

Everton decided to sell the influential playmaker rather than lose him on a free transfer when his contract expired in the summer.

Pienaar joined Everton on loan from German side Borussia Dortmund in 2007 and the move was made permanent the following year for £2million.

He became one of the club's most influential figures and was named Player of the Year after an outstanding 2009-2010 season but had recently made clear his desire to move on.

Pienaar failed to give assurances he wanted to stay beyond the end of his deal and while a number of players, such as Leighton Baines, Tim Cahill, Jack Rodwell and Mikel Arteta signed new contracts last year, he failed to reach any such agreement.

His departure will give Everton manager David Moyes a chance to sign a much-needed striker in the transfer window.

Source: Mirror Football

GUNNERS SOUND IT...BOOOOM!!!
Auba-Laca-Pepe.jpg
Mzja Five$tar General
GOOD MOVE BOII cfc nuh GOOD

Image and video hosting by TinyPic