Topic: Skype outage affects tens of millions

Skype outage affects tens of millions

165146_484204013964_165784318964_5806717_5450145_n.jpg

Skype suffered a widespread and lengthy outage today with its internet calling service.

The company said in a post that problems with the Skype networks supernodes are responsible and could take hours more to fix. Skype apologized to users. But the lesson is clear, as GigaOm noted. If you rely as a business on cloud-based communications tools, it pays to have a backup.

Skype spokesman PeterParkes said, Skype isnt a network like a conventional phone or IM network. It relies on millions of individual connections between computers and phones to keep things up and running. That is, Skype uses a peer-to-peer model in order to connect callers.

The supernodes are like phone directories for Skype, and a number of them failed today. As we speak, Skype isnt loading for me right now. Lots of people are affected. Skype accounts for 0.57 percent of all internet traffic. For the first six months of 2010, Skype logged 88.4 billion minutes of Skype-to-Skype calls.

Although Skype has not been fully restored for everyone, the company has updated its blog with an indication of what's happening to cause such a widespread and lengthy outage in the VOIP service.

According to spokesperson Peter Parkes, problems with the Skype network's "supernodes" are responsible - something it may take several more hours to fix.

As Parkes notes, "Skype isn't a network like a conventional phone or IM network - instead, it relies on millions of individual connections between computers and phones to keep things up and running." In other words, Skype uses a peer-to-peer, rather than a client-server model in order to connect callers. Some of these connections, says Parkes, operate as "supernodes" - "the phone directories for Skype." And apparently a number of these supernodes failed this morning.

This explanation certainly supports the cascading failures we reported earlier today, with Skype connections dropping from 21 million to around 1 million (by our accounts here at ReadWriteWeb as, like many remote workers, we scrambled for another communication tool).

Parkes says that it may take hours for new supernodes to be readied, and even longer for other Skype features such as group video calling to be restored.

hmm ooVoo and MSN ah role deeep inna dem bu.mbo

yahoo too. ;)

oovoo...hmm

[T.N.G] THUGZ "N" GANGSTAZ
hmm MSN VIDEO CHAT SICK STILL AND
MI PREFERE SKYPE STILL

cssuSKYPEcssuSKYPEcssuSKYPEcssuSKYPEcssuSKYPEcssuSKYPEcssuSKYPEcssuSKYPEcssuSKYPEcssuSKYPEcssuSKYPEcssuSKYPEcssuSKYPEcssuSKYPEcssuSKYPEcssuSKYPEcssuSKYPEcssuSKYPEcssuSKYPEcssuSKYPEcssuSKYPE