Topic: HOT 97 D-J Cipha Sounds' on-air comment: "The reason I'm HIV negative is because I don't mess with Haitian girls."

MZ ICICLES

HOT 97 D-J Cipha Sounds' on-air comment: "The reason I'm HIV negative is because I don't mess with Haitian girls."

(Watch apology VIDEO and what do you think should happen to him?)

cipha.jpg

Apology not accepted. That was the message delivered by a coalition of activists and local leaders who gathered outside the Manhattan offices of radio station Hot 97.

"We are here together to ensure that Mr. Diaz be removed from this station," New York City Councilman Matthieu Eugene said.

"Ciphus Sounds - whatever his mom named him. I don't know what his real name is - is inappropriate. It's unacceptable. It's disgraceful," Carien Jocelyn of Diaspora Community & Service said.

D-J Cipha Sounds' on-air comment last week has angered Haitians Americans and others across the city.

"The reason I'm H-I-V negative is because I don't mess with Haitian girls," he said.

He almost immediately issued an on-air apology and Hot 97 posted the apology onYouTube, but activists are adamant that's not enough.

They point to previous questionable broadcasts by Hot 97, such as a song making fun of tsunami victims back in 2005, as examples of the station's failure to be respectful and responsible.

Hot 97 is certainly no stranger to controversy, but has still maintained its popularity. Those gathered here today are hoping this incident might change that.

"If we feel that they are not addressing it, I suggest we take our business and air to another station," New York City Councilman Jumaane Williams said.

Coalition leaders have vowed to keep the pressure on until Sounds is properly disciplined.

Hot 97 management has, so far, not responded to requests for comment

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The New York City offices of Emmis-owned WQHT-FM "Hot" (97.1) were flooded with phone calls from the Haitian community demanding that a morning show co-host be fired over comments he made about AIDS and Haitian women. Last week, DJ Cipha Sounds, whose real name is Luis Diaz, said "The reason I'm HIV negative is because I don't mess with Haitian girls." That drew an angry response from the city's large Haitian community. Cipha soon apologized, saying on the air, "I made a stupid, tasteless joke that was a one-liner that was taken totally the wrong way. I want to say sincerely that I apologize." He even offered to personally call back each and every person who called to complain. However, that wasn't enough for some, with groups planning a large protest for Tuesday. WQHT is no stranger to ethnic controversy. In 2005, following the deadly Asian tsunami, two producers were fired and then-morning host Miss Jones was suspended for playing a comedy parody called "The Tsunami Song," drawing outrage from the Asian community.

He is getting a lot of heat.. and he should because his comments weren't necessary.

Especially in a time where Haiti is going through serious strife..

I did chuckle though..

everybody makes mistakes....but this was a dirty joke at least he apologized and it seemed sincere

pressure him him a diss hatian maybe him beg a hatian girl sex n nuh get none

a nuh lie

nuff american man no like hatian girls because a the obeah,and them nuh so clean. And lot of aids in Hati. THe 1st day mi drop a America everybody tell mi dat. and alot of it is true...

what bout freedom of speech? the man a talk from his knowledge of haitians...