BERKELEY COUNTY, SC (WCSC) Two people are dead after a car wreck on Interstate 26 Thursday night.
According to the South Carolina Highway Patrol, the accident happened around 8:30 p.m. at mile marker 188 on I-26 westbound. Authorities say five people were thrown out of a 1999 Honda Civic after the driver ran off the left side of the road and crashed into a tree, which caused the car to split in half.
The driver of the Honda, 27-year-old Ismael Hill of Summerville, and passenger Kimone Walters, 22, of Ladson, were pronounced dead at the scene by the Berkeley County Coroner's Office. Three other passengers were taken to MUSC for treatment. The condition of their injuries is unknown at this time.
None of the victims were wearing a seat belt.
"This collision involved a 1999 Honda traveling westbound when it left the road way and struck a tree," S.C. Highway Patrol Lance Cpl. Bob Beres said. "The vehicle separated in half and unfortunately two people are deceased."
The highway patrol just recently increased its patrols along this stretch of the interstate to help prevent the number of fatalities.
This is just the second fatality since August along this stretch of the interstate. Between 2007 and 2009 there were 26 fatalities along this stretch of I-26.
"We know we have Christmas around the corner, we are urging people especially during this holiday season to please take your time, buckle up, slow down and obviously not drink and drive."
The interstate was shutdown briefly so that the medical helicopter could land and transport the victims.
MI NAH BELIVE DI IKKE BODDDy B WE MI ADORE SO MUCH DEAD NOOOO SAH D B WEH COME PAN ZONE AND DIS ME AND WE EXCHANGE EMAILADDRESS AND A CHAT D NEXT DAY DEAD NOOO SAH D B WEH MI TELL SAY WHEN SUMMER COME MI AGO DEH INA BROOKLYN SO MI AND HAR WEEE ROLL OUT
It sad star, we a neva di bet of friends but she a did good smaddy, funny an just vibesy. Her vibes shall surely b missed RIP vibes Mumma a u seh mout nuh cark up!! Tek Macka outta u life an draw fi Lisa Hype!!
MI NAH BELIVE DI IKKE BODDDy B WE MI ADORE SO MUCH DEAD NOOOO SAH D B WEH COME PAN ZONE AND DIS ME AND WE EXCHANGE EMAILADDRESS AND A CHAT D NEXT DAY DEAD NOOO SAH D B WEH MI TELL SAY WHEN SUMMER COME MI AGO DEH INA BROOKLYN SO MI AND HAR WEEE ROLL OUT
U NUH AFFI MEK PPL KNW THE PRIVATE BIZZNEZZ STILL INNO DAWdIE
mi ago miss tekaaaaaaa....all mi fb page.o gosh man........ gone too soon hon.......mi did a w8 fi yuh touch bac ja d propa way n ery1 link a marley yuh zeet