Two brothers who are said to be reputed gang leaders and thieves from Clarendon, have left their community in fear after they reportedly had a recent fall-out after going on a robbery and ended up disagreeing over how the loot should be shared.
Investigations led to THE STAR being told that the 20-odd-year-old brothers were among a group of thugs who went on a 'mission' two weeks ago.
After arriving back to their community with the spoils, it is said that a number of the men, including the brothers got into a heated argument over the sharing of spoils which included cash and jewellery.
"Week before last di man dem go pon a mission go lick some place. Di man dem come back pon di ends now and di thing dem fi share up, but instead a pure argument start," one thug from the gang who strongly requested anonymity told THE STAR yesterday. "Dem seh money a di root of all evil and a now mi sure a dat if mi neva sure yet. A di two brother dem run di link and mi frighten fi see and hear dem a cuss ova how di thing dem fi share up."
It is said that the men were at their base while arguing and even pulled guns at each other.
THE STAR was able to get a short conversation with one of the brothers who said he had very little time to spare, and only said, "everything alright, wi naw tek no talk," before ending the phone call.
As a result, THE STAR heard that there is tension among the members of the gang and this has left residents of the small community cowering in fear.
"Everybody roun yah a fret cause dem two brother deh a some hot head eno...And fi hear seh dem a war a really something serious cause wi neva hear dat yet. Everybody roun yah know bout di incident and know seh di man dem a pree each other so everybody a fret," one 26-year-old male resident said.
"All wi can do is hope for the best right now. Everybody has their own opinion but what they are fighting over if foolishness. And it would be even more foolish for them to take it any further..They have people scared right now," one female resident also said.
Meanwhile, senior cops from the Clarendon division told THE STAR they have heard about the incident and will be investigating. "It is something I heard of and most definitely we will be looking to get all the information we can get before seeing what we can do. I won't say just how we will go about doing what we are going to do, but I can say we will be investigating," a reliable source said when contacted yesterday.