Busy Signal is at it again with the release of his VP produced album D.O.B. He is not an artist to follow the beaten path. This album displays his innovation and lyrical skills that has broken down barriers and has taken Dancehall to places no other artist could.
The new album D.O.B. represents the rebirth of Busy Signal. It contains 15 new tracks plus an iTunes exclusive track. To call this album Groundbreaking would be an understatement. The opening track How U Bad Suh is signature Busy Signal.
His distinct and robust baritone voice accompanied by an up-tempo rhythm sets the right mood for the album. Busy Signal is not afraid to venture into music territories that others would not dare.
He gives us a taste of Dancehall with a Spanish feel on Picante, then goes full throttle on Busy Latino which is a scorching Dancehall blend with Elvis Crespos Suavemente Busy Signal proves that he is a master of his craft by incorporating his flavor into classic tunes and making them his own.
His smooth track Sweet Love (Night Shift) that uses elements from The Commodores song Nightshift displays the Deejays Singjay capabilities.
Not stopping there, he continues to prove why he holds the title of Dancehalls most popular artist with his rub a dub hit of Phill Collins One More Night. Busy Signal joins Dancehall Icon and mentor Bounty Killer on the hard hitting and thought provoking track Summn' A Guh Gwaan. Busy Signal displays the gamut of his abilities from the rapid fire lyrics on Nuh Fraid to the inspiring Peace Reign track.
A persons voice is their most powerful asset and Busy Signals voice is in its full glory on the ingenious a cappella track Nuh Boy Caan Buy Wi Out.
He proves that without a backing instrumental he can hold your attention.
Busy Signal and Major Lazer team up on the amazing iTunes Exclusive track Pon Me which is destined for greatness and to ring out in clubs around the globe. D.O.B. is not only the rebirth of Busy Signal it is a rebirth of a new sound and era for Dancehall music. It is the perfect presentation and representation of Dancehall without limits.
Born Reanno Gordon on January 24, 1982, he cultivated his artistry under the watch of dancehall icon Bounty Killer.
With his outstanding mic techniques and restless creativity, Busy became a member of The Alliance-Bounty Killers musical powerhouse that spawned dancehall stars like Elephant Man, Mavado and Wayne Marshall.
Busy began to receive widespread attention in 2005 with breakthrough hits like Born and Grow & Step Out. He continued to gain fans and recognition with the 2008 release of his album Loaded that included the hits Jail, These Are The Days, Unknown Number and Wine Pon Di Edge to name a few.
D.O.B. is a pinnacle stage of Busy Signals career thatll spread his gift far and wide, beyond the confines of his original audience.
dats true vybz kartel is d most versitle artist these people r just not speaking d truth, dats how it is, i made couple of my friends over sieze listen to kartle d first ting they said was is dis man a poet or literature professor r english professor, its not bias but its true wit d talent kartel has he must b on he used his figurative devices in a way as if hes teaching d language, hes d only artist dat can bring a dead object to life wen he sings, hes very intuitive he knows wat words can go wit each other and d fromat to put tham in, somtime he makes d senseless become sensible with how he perfects his rhymes. he is jamaica most versitile artist. OH!
" he must b on he used his figurative devices in a way as if hes teaching d language"
LMAOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOo
Urmmm fosterodel could you please elaborate on the quote that Shem pointed out. I really don't get what you are trying to say. Are you saying that through literary devices he brings new life and color to the english language?
typo error was typing a bit fast, my statements r just trying to show how intelligent d artist is due to how he brings him and his music to those who listen, its trying to state dat hes not perfect but hes putting his songs in different images from the other artist as d make u of to b thinking dam how he put dat togther, his song make u b thinking on d lyrics becuz u somtime cant believe wat he just say making u playing it over n over becuz his lyrics r not simple like d other artists. For one hes not afraid to use strong words to creatively express wat hes saying, most artist lyrics r somtimes lued wit grammatical error but he wit wat he sings u can c dat he just state wat is to b stated witout hiding wat hes tring to say. many may not agree but im no fan of his but as somone who listen to dancehal music i cant b bias, hes a very controversial artist wit many negatives behind him but thier r alot of positives aswel. Hes very talented and hes a very good writer i hope in d near future he try poetry and writing becuz he has dat which few artist possess.
-- Edited by fosterodel on Saturday 30th of October 2010 06:01:11 PM
-- Edited by fosterodel on Saturday 30th of October 2010 06:05:39 PM
Yes I can agree that Kartel is intelligent and as an excellent skill when it comes to word play but that doesn't mean that the editor or writer who published the article is being bias. I personally feel that it's their own opinion and we are all entitled to that. I can see why they call Busy Signal versatile because simply he is...he's an artist that has transformed and grown a lot through out his career. He may not be as great as Kartel when he comes to word play but he has proven himself as versatile with his ability to create hits in different sectors. He's good at girl songs, he's good at bad man songs, he's excellent at songs that provides positive messages, he's good at the reggae aspect and he has most recently put out a soca song. To me he has proven himself versatile and the writer of the article saw those qualities as well.
-- Edited by Msz.JayBee on Saturday 30th of October 2010 06:24:54 PM
versatility is more than just lyrics...time after time we see busy try different type a genres and it work for him.....him do a song inna gospel, lovers rock, alternative, kumina, reggaeton....lets face it...wheter alliance or gaza or gully or jop....whatever u say...busy is a good artist.....honestly a nuh my favorite artist....but when it comes to different styles...u can always expect that from him....
NB....MY COMMENT IS NOT INTENDED TO DISS ANYBODY's "artist" BUT JUST STATING IT AS IT IS