Topic: Bolt laughing all the way to the bank

Bolt laughing all the way to the bank

Happy after signing three-year sponsorship extension

A season-ending injury hasn't stopped Usain Bolt from celebrating. The world's fastest man turned 24 over the weekend and yesterday signed a three-year contract extension with German apparel company Puma said to be the biggest for a track and field athlete.

And although the world-record holder at 100 and 200 metres may be able to buy just about anything he wants because of his new sponsorship deal, he couldn't even wrangle himself a proper birthday party back home in Jamaica.

boltbank_w370.jpg

"I didn't know what to do," said Bolt, who was in his country on his birthday for the first time in seven years. "So I just chilled. We went out and had a couple of drinks."

Although contract terms of the deal were not released, Puma chairman and chief executive officer Jochen Zeitz said Bolt would be the "best-paid athlete in track and field history."

Reports yesterday speculated that the new package could run in the region of US$400 million.

"It's good, man. I'm happy," Bolt told The Associated Press by phone. "I'm very happy with the figure."

Bolt set world records in the 100 and 200 at the 2008 Beijing Olympics and helped Jamaica capture another gold and set another world record in the 4x100 relay. A year later, he again set world records in the 100 and 200 at the world championships in Berlin.

Bolt said this month he is cutting short his 2010 season short because of his ailing back. Now he is pain free and looking forward to defending his sprint titles at the 2011 worlds and the 2012 London Olympics.

"I'm trying to make myself a legend," he said. "People are really looking forward to me breaking records. I'm going to go run hard to win, that's my aim. And every time I go out there and run hard to win, I get records."

At the Bird's Nest in Beijing, the lanky Jamaican's effusive personality endeared him to fans, but not to IOC president Jacque Rogge.

Zeitz said Puma intends to make Bolt a centerpiece in its Olympic marketing program and use him to help develop footwear and other apparel. Bolt first signed with Puma, which also sponsors the Jamaican Olympic Association and the Jamaican Amateur Athletic Association, when he was 16.

"He's not just an athlete that promotes performance products but he's also an athlete that transcends well beyond his sport into lifestyle, and that's where we see the opportunity," Zeitz said.

Chairman and Cchief executive officer of PUMA AG, Jochen Zeitz, called the sprinter a "revelation" for track and field, adding that Bolt's personality and phenomenal physical prowess were a unique combination.

"From a performance standpoint, he has reset the bar for speed on the track, and we're not sure he's even hit his top gear yet. It's going to be an exciting few years ahead and we're thrilled to be along for the ride," he said.

"PUMA gets me; we fit together," Bolt said. "PUMA's been by my side since the beginning, before anyone knew what I was capable of achieving...

"We've been together since forever," Bolt said. "I like the fashion, so they try to make it fashionable for me. ... I'm looking good, but I'm also prepared."

Former world record-holder Asafa Powell recently signed a deal with Chinese apparel company Li Ning reported to be worth between US$250,000 and US$750,000 per year, while Miami Heat basketballer Lebron James earlier this year renewed his shoe deal with Nike which when first signed in 2003 was worth more than US$90 million.

When Sports Illustrated published its 2009 list of 50 highest paid Americans and 20 highest paid international athletes, there were no track and field athletes on either list which was dominated by basketball and baseball players.

Edwards suggested that while Bolt has not been around for as long as golfer Tiger Woods, who is the highest-earning sports star in the world with earnings of US$1 billion, he is arguably a better bet.

"Tall, athletic, personable, charismatic, articulate, cool yet modest, he (Bolt) packs more firepower for advertisers than the geeky Woods," Edwards said.

"Bolt is clean-cut and has managed to avoid any salacious and lurid headlines," he added, making reference to Woods' fall from grace after reports of extra-marital affairs which eventually led to his divorce.

PUMA, which saw its earnings skyrocket following Bolt's record-breaking exploits in Beijing, also sponsors the Jamaican Amateur Athletic Association (JAAA) and the Jamaican Olympic Association (JOA).

In addition, the company sponsors seven local high school track teams, including ISSA GraceKennedy Boys champions Wolmer's and sister school Wolmer's Girls'; Calabar, and St Jago.

They are also involved with other local athletic events including the Gibson Relays and the annual Reggae Marathon.

-- Edited by jubalson on Wednesday 25th of August 2010 01:18:44 PM

[T.N.G] THUGZ "N" GANGSTAZ
bravo

NICEEEEE...

rich mi seh

the yute gone far ahead... miles even years

GAZA WORLD

FUQ wowmoney A WONDER IF A TRUE DEM KNOW SEH HIM YOUNG DEM DEH GIVE SO MUCH MONEY TO HIM FI MEK HIM LOSE FOCUS COZ WE YOUNG MAN WEN WE AVE MONEY NUFF ENO WE TOO BUSINESS WID NOTHING ENO!!!!!!!!!

funny_animated_pictures_02-1.gif

boltmoneytdw well about time him start rake in dem big money deh yes, when yu tek in consideration how much Lebron, Tiger, Kobe etc a mek Bolt need fi @  least deh pon par wid that and as a matter a fact probably more too. Its more to like what he worth right now more than anything else. A ova a year now mi did a sey shake mi head an a wonda a wha him and his management did a deal wid cause mi neva a hear bout them type a money ya. Great fi yu Bolt bravo

-- Edited by dappa75 on Thursday 26th of August 2010 03:15:10 AM