Topic: 10 things I bet you never knew - Facts about Jamaica National Symbols

10 things I bet you never knew - Facts about Jamaica National Symbols

THIS week, TEENage takes a look at a few facts about some of Jamaica's national symbols

1 The flag should never be raised after sunset or before sunrise.

2 The flag has a motto which is "Hardships there are but the land is green and the sun shineth".

3 The various colours of the flag have different representations. The black triangles represents the adversity Jamaica has overcome and for the hardships it may have in the future. The green triangles represent hope and agriculture and the golden saltire (diagonal cross) stands for the mineral wealth of Jamaica and sunlight.

4 The Jamaican flag should never be allowed to drag on the floor.

5 If tattered or faded, the flag should be removed and replaced with a new one.

6 The flag should never be fastened, displayed or used in such a manner as to permit the flag to be torn or damaged.

7 It should never have placed upon it, or attached to it, any mark, letter, insignia, design, picture or drawing. For example, the Lion of Judah

8 The Jamaican flag is the only flag that does not have any colours of the American flag.

9 The Lignum Vitae, our National Flower, was found here by Christopher Columbus. Its name, when translated from Latin, means "wood of life" -- probably adopted because of its medicinal qualities.

10 The Blue Mahoe, the National Tree, grows quite rapidly, often attaining 20m (66ft) or more in height. In wetter districts it will grow in a wide range of elevations, up to 1,200m (4,000 ft) and is often used in reforestation.

hmm nice post, learned some new things bout JA

hmm 8 The Jamaican flag is the only flag that does not have any colours of the American flag. wow i like

dis wrong.....The Lignum Vitae, our National Flower, was found here by Christopher Columbus. ...him nuh find ntn...him come yah come see it

lol i agree wid u duggy nasty columbus bout him discovered di caribbean a come him come ya come c di natives n fite dem out kmt brite

lmao @duggy n dria. wtf dwl

what me mi c as edait ting is when mi ina 1st form dem teach sey columbus come discover and wen mi reach 3rd form 4th form dem teach sey tainos and ting did dey bout n rae rae.....now mi nuh knw if the school system change it if not mi nuh knw y dem nuh do it yet.......................................blessed still yute cause mi neva knw few a dem tings yah as a yaadie

:boombox2: CHECK OUT MY SONGS N MI THUGZ  SONGZ AS WELL :boombox2:
THE GOLDEN CHILD
8 The Jamaican flag is the only flag that does not have any colours of the American flagclapbravo

mad post

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5622HSZuCws