Topic: Donovan: I Want To Rejoin Everton, But This Time Permanently

Donovan: I Want To Rejoin Everton, But This Time Permanently

Landon+Donovan.jpeg

Landon Donovan has admitted he wants to return to Everton on a permanent basis and is prepared to turn his back on Major League Soccer in America.

Everton boss David Moyes wants to sign £9million-rated Donovan from LA Galaxy, after the US World Cup star impressed during a two-month loan spell at Goodison Park last season.

Donovan, who has also attracted interest from Manchester City, is expected to move before the transfer window closes at the end of next month and confirmed he is the subject of interest from a number of clubs.

"We hear little bits and pieces here and there," said Donovan. "There have certainly been clubs that are interested but right now it's only preliminary. I think there's still a lot of times in the transfer window so we'll see what moves are made and if it's serious then we'll treat it seriously. Anything is possible.

"I would love to go back to Everton. I love the people there, I love the fans there, but that said I love being in America too, so we're going to take everything into account and see where it ends up."

Donovan is seen as the major selling point for the MLS and is under pressure to remain in his native America to maintain soccer's growing profile, a situation he acknowledged he had to accept.

"This is what I do," said Donovan. "This is my job and I understand all the parts of it, on and off the field. But I'm going to make the decision that's best for me."

Don Garber, MLS commissioner, admitted it would be a major blow to US soccer if Donovan left to join the Premier League. "We need to deepen the connection between the American fan as an MLS fan first and a Premier League fan second," said Garber.

"In order to do that, we need our best American players here. We need somebody like Landon, who has grown up in southern California, who is bi-lingual, almost like Captain America for our national team, somebody who is really inspiring a nation of soccer fans.

"We want to have him play next Saturday in front of people who want to see an LA Galaxy game, as opposed to having them wait to experience him on the Fox Soccer Channel or ESPN because they are watching a game being played in Europe.

"I'm the commissioner of MLS and for my goal, raising the profile of our league, we need our best players here and I will always fight hard to keep them here."

Source: Mirror Football

GUNNERS SOUND IT...BOOOOM!!!
Auba-Laca-Pepe.jpg

pity LA UNU A luu DI MAN FI GO A EVERTON LONGTIME su SUQQ UNU MADA

dat fi gwaan fi real...di youth a good baller...and everton a good side