In recent months, the song I Feel Free has caught on like wild fire. Its in regular rotation on radio stations including ZIP 103 FM and its also a staple at parties and sessions.
I Feel Free was recorded by New York based producer/deejay Ricky Blaze. In an interview recently with this writer, Ricky who is of Jamaican parentage, said he was searching for a club banger with various elements, which resulted in the birth of I Feel Free.
"I was looking for a song that has feel good energy in the club and with a hip pop metal feel to it so I created the track first and then the hook. The rest became history," Ricky Blaze explained.
The track has been an underground staple within the New York tri-state area for months now, and Blaze is surprised that the song has caught on with Jamaican music lovers. "It's is doing well here in New York and I have been getting shows based on its growing popularity. I didn't have a clue it was popular in Jamaica, but when I got the news that it was, I felt grateful," he said.
Blaze, who recently signed to Atlantic Records, has been involved in music professionally for the past eleven years. "My whole family is from Jamaica ... I live in East Flatbush in New York, so I know everything about Jamaica. I am constantly surrounded by Caribbean people, and when I worked as a DJ in the dancehall night-clubs, that experience took me deeper into the culture," said Ricky
As a producer, Ricky Blaze is credited for producing the Elephant Man/Ding Dong hit, Badman Forward Badman Pull Up; Gyptian's Hold Yuh, the energy and Dutty Fridaze rhythm projects; and Everybody Dance, Cool Reminder, Love Dancing and Get Up, all of which were recorded by Merrital.
On the underground music scene stateside, some of his hits include Cut Dem Off, and For Life featuring Ding Dong, Wifey and Sky is the Limit featuring Young AK. He also collaborated with Major Lazer and Nina Sky on the track Keep it Goin' Louder which topped Billboard's Dance Music Club Play chart late last year.
Quizzed on what he's bringing to the table, Blaze said, "I'm bringing a fusion of genres, a different flavour, mixing of catchy hooks full of melodies and easy to remember styles."
He cites the late Michael Jackson, and producers Timbaland and Pharrell as his musical influences. "These people have done things in music that no one has done before, by taking risks and having the public expect that of them with each project that they put out," he explained.
His biggest challenge musically has been the fact that persons have been reluctant to follow the vision. "It has been challenging for me to try to get people to understand where I want to go with my music. A lot of people just want the same old radio stuff and are afraid to take risks," he said.
Ricky Blaze recently released the single Just You and I.