Gabriel capitalises on new-found fame after killing Merciless

STARLEFT_1_PVZ6CGabrielAM.jpg
Levardes Fisher, aka Gabriel. - Contributed

After lyrically dispatching Merciless in a one-sided stage clash recently, Gabriel is now planning to capitalise on the increased public attention he has been getting.

The 31-year-old dancehall artiste, who hails from Standpipe in Liguanea, St Andrew, defeated Merciless when the two clashed last Saturday at The Settlement, held at Links in St Thomas.

"To tell di truth, mi feel good because I believed in me," he told THE WEEKEND STAR recently.

The aftermath wasn't exactly what the Long, Plain and Straight lyricist, born Levardes Fisher, would have expected. Since the victory, a large number of dancehall lovers have been raving about the deejay.

It was Merciless who famously challenged the trio of Bounty Killer, Beenie Man and Ninja Man at Sting in 2000, so the onus was squarely placed at the feet of the younger talent to prove his worth.

However, with some sharp and gritty lyrics Gabriel easily defeated Merciless, leaving the more established artiste to resort to intimidation.

"It's bad to know dat him tek it personal. Mi always have him as a tough artiste, suh mi never expect that," said Gabriel.

Even though it was one of the deejay's most significant moments in music, he admitted that it was now time to move on with the aim of creating another. Now the deejay plans to entertain audiences with the singles Mi Never Believe ItSell Out Friends and Frighten.

chance

"These songs a go give di public a different feeling of who Gabriel is. Mi feel like mi get back a chance now. People even start give more attention to my songs, suh mi wah show respect to dem and all my fans with some nice music," he said.

Gabriel's musical style somewhat mimics that of Bounty Killer. He said he did this because of the level of respect he has for the artiste and the approach he has taken during his 18-year career.

"In my eyes, 'Killa' is one of di 'realest' artistes in Jamaica and dancehall. Why? Bounty Killer always talk wha' deh pon him mind, when most people nah do it. Him even motivate mi as an artiste fi do di same," he added.

Gabriel is currently working feverishly at Lifetime Studios, located on Wellington Avenue, St Andrew. The deejay also said that he has been getting strong support from Shirley Coombs (his mother) and Paul Fisher (father).

Gabriel added he was no stranger to struggles, but was quick to heap praises on both parents for ensuring that he and his other seven siblings were never lacking in anything.

"Yes, it was a poor life ... at one point mi mother never did a work, my father used to work a one post office (in Liguanea) but him deh a Nigeria embassy now. But, if a nuh one thing certain a dis, dem never make wi really hungry fi nothing," he said.

do yu thing bredrin

good

Zib
check

"In my eyes, 'Killa' is one of di 'realest' artistes in Jamaica and dancehall. Why? Bounty Killer always talk wha' deh pon him mind, when most people nah do it. Him even motivate mi as an artiste fi do di same," he added............RODNEY DI GREATEST

SKIES THE LIMIT, DO UR THING!!!!

BLESS

ALLIANCEFILIFE.COM

SUBSCRIBE TO ME ON YOUTUBE>>> http://www.youtube.com/user/DJGEMINI31MUSICPAGE?feature=mhum#p/u

him HAVE GYAL NAME

MADD DI MAN KILL BARHEAD?

zeen zeen

If u wanna be the best, do ur best

f.u.c.k.ing idiot...can't even dj

kiprich wrote:

f.u.c.k.ing idiot...can't even dj

lowe di yute...di man wah eat food tu weh yuh feel like!

which part a him kill merciless

WHO DI **** IS DIS AGAIN GAY...WHAT?

MZ Legend (Mod) wrote:

which part a him kill merciless

D part whem Worse-fah-less try grab D mike affa him get more boobooboo dan Kartel at sting 2008 and lisa hype at sting 2009 put together....lollollollollol

big man levels still...da bredda have bout 1 an 3 quarter tune wah mi can actually listen to