A dispute between two cousins aligned to different political parties is being blamed for an ongoing feud in Lakes Pen, Spanish Town, St Catherine.
Rival thugs from the community are now locked in a heated dispute as a new gang attempts to get residents to switch political allegiance, THE STAR has learnt.
This residents said this is the truth behind the heightened tension in the community in recent times and not a conflict over sand mining as reports which surfaced in the media last week claimed.
"A nuh nuttin bout no sand, di man weh dem a talk bout a do him sand business long time ... Di man dem a try switch the place from PNP to JLP and a dat a di real issue," a 25-year-old male resident who strongly requested anonymity explained to THE STAR.
Residents said the new gang is playing the role of aggressor while members of the Clansman gang, which is known to 'govern' the community, is surprisingly trying to peacefully work things out.
Investigations by THE STAR found that late last year, the reputed leader of the community was approached by his cousin who suggested that the two work together in switching the community's alignment with the People's National Party to that of the Jamaica Labour Party.
cowering in fear
The gesture was declined, resulting in the current rift, which so far has claimed the life of 38-year-old Marlene Wright, but has many cowering in fear as there has been reports of sporadic gunfire since then.
"Di news did have it seh a two woman dead roun' ya but a just one woman ... We a fret seh more people a guh dead cause di new youth dem naw back down ... Di Clansman dem a seh dem nuh inna nuh war ting and wi glad fi dat cause if dem fi get mad wi know how it go," a 36-year-old resident said. "A di first mi si di clans dem a easy so, man a fire shot afta dem a night time and dem just a easy ... Di police dem need fi do someting before dem get mad ..."
A well-respected member of the community and member of the Clansman gang, confirmed the residents' claims with THE STAR.
"Look how long we a live wid di Clansman system and we neva have no problem, no rape, no robberies and no extortion, so why we a guh change," the respected community figure questioned.
He said the original thugs from the community are trying their best to keep away from an all-out war.
"Right now di yute dem nuh deh pon dat, a war and violence di new yute dem want but wi naw go deh so ... Wi want di people and di police dem fi know seh a so it go cause if di war start yu a guh hear seh a Clansman dem a cause it," he said.
The St Catherine North and Area 5 police have heard of the situation but cannot confirm it.
"It is something we heard and are looking into ... However, whatever personal difference they may have is not really our concern ... Our concern is that the law is being broken and we have to keep things in order ... We will continue to maintain a strong presence in there and try to get things back to normal," Detective Corporal Kenneth Gayle of the Area 5 police told THE STAR.
sometimes me happy me foreign studying....dem ting deh always happen and all how me check is cetain coward sitting in big office dat pulling dem strings....Nuff yutes and ooman dying over fuqery, when the instigators getting fat
and d merciless @#$%ers still have heart to add new tax