Promoter of Magnum's Follow the Arrow, Dexton Ennis says deejay Spice has 'chickened out' of performing on the show set for February 27 at the James Bond Beach in St Mary.
When THE WEEKEND STAR spoke to the promoter yesterday he called the female deejay, a "coward" saying that Spice was asking for an exorbitant amount of money to perform.
According to Ennis, Spice is charging more money to be on the show depending on whether lyrical rival Lisa Hyper is confirmed to perform - which she is.
He said, "we were discussing Spice being on the show and dem go round and round bout it, so she basicallychicken out. Dem give me a price but dem mus be joking and dem don't consult me up to now and Spice nah sey nutten to me."
According to Ennis, while he never spoke to Lisa Hyper personally, he believes she would be willing to clash and it is Spice that seems reluctant. He said, "I know Lisa Hyper didn't mention if Spice deh on di show like dere's some kind of fear."
When contacted Spice made it clear that she wouldn't be on the show if the price she asked for wasn't met. She said, "yuh can't want something if yuh can't pay for it. If yuh nuh have di money den a so, is not a friend ting, is abusiness mi a do. If him broke and don't have di money is not my fault."
fires musical shots
A clash between the two female deejays was a well anticipated one for fans after the two began exchanging lyrical barbs shortly after Sting last year. In the songs Sting Aftermath, Death Sentence and The Truth, Lisa Hyper fires musical shots at Spice. Spice recorded one follow-up song which she believed said all she needed to say about Lisa Hyper called Draw Me Out.
Thus far, for this year's Follow The Arrow, there will be no clashes but Ennis doesn't believe this will distract from his show. Last year the battlefield was set as Ninja Man and Merciless faced off as well as KipRich and the Monster Hempire. Ennis said, "I don't believe we're confined as a clash show, it's a good show with good energy. If anytime an artiste called and sey dem waan clash so and so den we'll try to set it up."
The theme for the show this year will be '20/10' in commemoration of the new decade. The show will feature 10 of the leading artistes and 20 of the hottest artistes.
The top-ten artistes on the show include Bounty Killer, Vybz Kartel, Mavado, Assassin, Anthony B, Flippa Mafia, KipRich, Merciless and others. While the 20 hottest artistes include Hero, George Nooks, Josey Wales, Twin of Twins, Professor Nuts, Admiral Tibet, Louie Culture, Face, Macka Diamond, Ikaya, Tikki, Sophia Squire and others.
SPICE SHOULDN'T ASK NO QUESTION SHE SHOULDA JUST DEMAND MONEY AND IF HIM NUH AVE IT DEN SHE NUH PERFORM. A DI FACT DAT SHE ASK BOUT LISA HYPE MEK SHE SEEM FRAID