Topic: COPS READY FOR HAITIAN GUNMEN

COPS READY FOR HAITIAN GUNMEN

The police say they are concerned about the possibility of local thugs welcoming Haitian in criminals as that country tries to recover from last week's earthquake.

A number of high-ranking police officers have admitted to THE STAR that the dangerous drugs-for-guns trade between both countries make it possible for Jamaican thugs welcoming their Haitian cronies into Jamaican communities but said it would not be new.

"We know that they are already being welcomed ... .There are a number of areas across Jamaica where Haitians settle, have kids and even husbands and wives," CIB Head, Assistant Commissioner Les Green said.

Consequently, ACP Green added that the police have already stepped up their efforts as they look to curtail any increase in violence which may occur."I will not disclose the areas where we know these people to be but we have already stepped up our efforts by working with residents and even the health authorities who can help us to identify them," ACP Green explained.

Earlier this week, National Security Minister, Senator Dwight Nelson said security arrangements are being put in place to combat a likely increase in the flow of illegal guns from Haiti into Jamaica. He said, "greater emphasis will be placed on border control" while explaining that the possibility for an expansion of the trade has increased with Haitians seeking to leave their island.

illicit trade

In 2008, THE WEEKEND STAR broke a story about deadly Haitians living in Hellshire, Portmore in St Catherine. At that time it was reported that most of them were allegedly involved in the illicit trade.

In September 2007, fisherman Mackero Manderson, 18, was shot dead. Police found his bullet riddled body on the Hellshire beach. A Haitian 50 Gourd note was taken from his trousers pocket when his body was searched.

The teenager's death was the third incident in about three weeks which was believed to be linked to the drugs-for-guns trade.

involving Haitians

Two weeks later, Robert 'Ninety Nine' Levy, 40, was shot dead and a 32-year-old man injured at a popular seafood restaurant on the beach. Two days later, a 22-year-old fisherman was also killed on the beach.

All these incidents were theorised by police to be linked to the illicit trade involving Haitians.

When contacted yesterday, a resident of Hellshire said the situation is once again a hot topic.

"Well from long time di Haitian dem deh ya eno but we a wonder if more a dem ago come ya like how dem place mash up ... Everybody concerned bout it ya now cause is a serious and dangerous situation," the resident, Mr X said.

These past incidents and the Government's decision to welcome Haitian refugees have placed the police on alert.

Information Minister Daryl Vaz on Tuesday announced that the Government has no intention of turning back Haitian refugees.

Vaz said the Government has already put preliminary measures in place especially on the eastern end of the island in areas like St. Thomas and Portland to address the possible influx of Haitians.

Checks with the police on that end of the country found confirmed that efforts were indeed in place already.

"Well we know of the situation so yes we are working with some initiatives ... We know the worries of residents so we will continue to protect them," Deputy Superintendent Rex Swearing of the Portland police told THE STAR.

Haiti was rocked by a devastating earthquake last Tuesday which left thousands dead and injured.

THAT A GWAAN