Topic: Timeline & Reasons For Denial Of Permit For Mavado’s Birthday Party

Timeline & Reasons For Denial Of Permit For Mavado’s Birthday Party

Written by Dancehall.MOBI   

Dancehall.Mobi special update following the announcement earlier tonight that the venue for Mavados Birthday party had been changed from the Temple Hall Estate to Tha Building in New Kingston, Mavados management team sought to provide a timeline as well as a detailed outline of the Jamaica Constabulary Forces reasons for its denial of a permit for the event to be held at Temple Hall Estate; see below.

November 3rd
More than a month prior to the event, the application for a police permit, along with the requisite entertainment

grey_loader.gif

license from the KSAC, the temporary liquor license from the Tax Office, copies of all the receipts paid to the KSAC for the erecting of billboards advertising the event, and accompanied by the application

grey_loader.gif

letter, were submitted to the police station that has responsibility for the Temple Hall area. You are required to submit your application no later than 10 days prior to the event. Almost every promoter in Jamaica does initial promotion for their event whilst awaiting the police permit, which is a necessity but in the past has been looked upon as a formality. We received verbal assurance that everything was in order, and that we would receive the police permit in due course. We stepped up the promotion for the event, as we were given no word that there was an issue with the issuance of a permit.

November 30
Received word that the permit had in fact been turned down, and we would need to appeal directly to the Police Commissioners Office.

December 1
Met with the Superintendent of Police in charge of the Constant Spring Police station, who handed us a copy of the refusal letter outlining the reasons for denial. The letter was, however, dated November 24. We were referred to an Assistant Commissioner of Police at the Commissioners office, who we were informed would handle the issue.

December 1
A copy of the denial letter was faxed to the office of Alliance Entertainment, and an email containing same was sent to a personal assistance who works in the office . 4 days before the event.

December 1
An appeal letter was hurriedly put together and delivered personally to the Police Commissioners Office. It was accompanied by a letter signed personally by the Minister of Information, Culture, Youth and Sports Minister Olivia Babsy Grange supporting us categorically in our appeal. Just over 2 hours later, a letter was sent back to the reception area to be delivered to us. The letter stated that our appeal was denied, and the decision to refuse a permit was upheld.

December 2
Various pillars of society, who shall remain nameless but to whom we are very grateful for the effort, lobbied the police high command on our behalf, but all to no avail. The decision was then taken to stage a scaled-down version of the event at Tha Building (formerly known as the Asylum) on the same date Saturday, December 5.

Below are the official reasons for the denial of the police permit (copied verbatim from their letter), and with comments from Mavados management in italics below each item:

1. The Stony Hill area has been seeing an upsurge in shootings and murders in recent times.
Whilst we are cognisant of the crime problems plaguing the entire country, we staged this same event in Montego Bay on Saturday, also an area with a huge upsurge in shootings and murders in recent times, and said to be a Gaza stronghold. The event was ram-packed and passed without incident.

2. The conflict with Mavado & Vybz Kartel Gully/gaza situation is of great concern as persons loyal to one or the other might create problems.
Vybz Kartel is booked to appear on Usain Bolts show, coincidentally the same night as Real McKoy. Does reason number 2 apply to that event also?

3. The likelihood of persons from Cassava Piece and Grants Pen following this artiste to the area.
No comment.

4. The strong possibility of gun fire at this function.
The police say they have received credible intelligence that persons were planning to cause problems at the event. We are not in possession of that intelligence so we have to take and respect the word of the Police. We had planned to employ the services of a prominent private security firm, including metal detectors, armed guards and dog handlers. We were working with the Police to ensure a strong Police presence at the gate to search every single person entering the grounds.

5. The increase traffic congestion
Temple Hall Estate has ample parking and we had set up an infrastructure to ensure the quick passage of vehicles off the main road and into those fields. Any traffic on a public thoroughfare is the responsibility of the Police. We offered to offset any costs incurred by the JCF.

6. Loud noise nuisance
We cannot dispute that loud noise will occur but Temple Hall is surrounded by acres of trees and bushes. Music cannot be heard from the main road and to our recollection there are no residences within earshot of the venue.

7. The inability of the Police to effectively monitor the function
No comment

Mavado is appealing to all Gully fans and supporters to do as he is, and stay focused, positive and move forward. We do not need any reprisals or disruptions at any event as this will only hold back what we are trying to achieve. We strongly advise anybody wishing to attend the re-staged party inside Tha Building on Saturday night to come out very early, as space is limited. One things for sure, its going to be a night to remember for a long time to come.

SOURCE: alliancefilife.com

One a di reason given for not granting the permit, is ..............the likelihood of persons from Casava Piece and Grants Pen following Mavado to Temple Hall...

Is that descrimination or what?

what it does in Dancehall Single ... hmm.gif

lol gully gud hav no power he need a ring or let the report bwouy 4 allinace gav a speech on zone & let ppl vote lollol

hush vado... a fkry dem deh pon.