Topic: DJ Naz blazes into Heineken Green Synergy semi-finals.....http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/magazines/Entertainment/html/20

DJNAZ GURL POWER INTL SOUND

DJ Naz blazes into Heineken Green Synergy semi-finals.....http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/magazines/Entertainment/html/20

Entertainment

DJ Naz blazes into Heineken Green Synergy semi-finals

Wednesday, September 02, 2009

DJ Naz continued on her history-making path by reaching the semi finals of the Heineken Green Synergy Competition after defeating Super O in the third quarter-finals. It is the first time a female DJ has past the elimination round of the competition, much less advance to the semi finals.

After getting by Super Stylz in the elimination round, DJ Naz was very impressive in her quarter-final match-up against Super O from Montego Bay especially in the 'tune-fi-tune' segment of the television show.

She is awaiting the outcome of the last quarter-final match-up between DJ Chungy from Mandeville and DJ Absolute from Negril.

Naz was on top of the world in her achievement. "I am very excited, in a way I was worried if Jamaica would like what they saw in terms of my performance but I am grateful for there support," she explained.

20090901T230000-0500_158730_OBS_DJ_NAZ_BLAZES_INTO_HEINEKEN_GREEN_SYNERGY_SEMI_FINALS__1.jpg
DJ NAS... am very excited, in a way I was worried if Jamaica would like what they saw in terms of my performance but I am grateful for their support

A keenly contested encounter has been taking place between DJ Chungy and DJ Absolute. Both have contrasting styles with DJ Chungy being the more technically skilled while DJ Absolute is a more hardcore DJ, more vocal but can hold his own in the other areas such as mixing.

DJ Chungy had advanced to the quarter-finals by defeating DJ Tippy while Absolute got by DJ Fire Chief for his place in quarter finals.

The television show had a mellow vibes with the set beautifully decorated by the Main Event team. The Dance Expressions girls added to the décor as they looked smashing in their Heineken outfits, which even included some fabulous Heineken sneakers.

The event was hosted by the Anushca Mai with Collin Hinds and Kurt Riley from FAME FM and 'singjay' Mr Vegas sitting in as judges.

In the first 5 minutes segment, playing first DJ Chungy gave an awesome display, doing some wicked mixing, scratching, cutting and body tricks including cutting with his back turned.

Chungy so far have been the most impressive in the technical aspect of the competition. He rocked the crowd with some popular hip hop and had some smooth transition changing from hip hop to dancehall, including Wasp's Nuh Lock Off The Sound and G Whizz's Life. Chungy maintained a high energy throughout his set and at times had his mentor Pink Panther getting out of his seat and waving his rag in delight.

DJ Absolute, although not as entertaining as DJ Chungy, held is own in this segment playing from hip hop, soca, including Allison Hinds' Roll It. He also played some popular dancehall tracks including Vybz Kartel's Wi Nuh Fraid A No Body.

Judge Collin Hinds noted that while both selections were entertaining, DJ Chungy brought on what was lacking in the competition - clean mixing, clean cuts, and scratching. Kurt Riley said that both DJs were excellent but commended Chungy for his technical skills.

Vegas got a little confused in comments mixing up Absolute for Chungy but off camera corrected himself and said that both did well but Chungy did better.

In the tune for tune segment DJ Chungy made his intentions clear starting off first he played Sound Bwoy A Get Dust Out Tonight. Absolute answered good with Etana's Not Afraid. It was to set the tone of what transpired in this round with Absolute having the answer for everything that Chungy 'dished out' at him.

Chungy played a Nesbeth dub plate of Board House Burn Down and Absolute answered with a counteraction done by the same artiste.

Chungy played more dub plates but again and again Absolute had counteractions for them, which excited the crowd.

Abolute was the more vocal of the two which also worked to his advantage. However both DJ's were guilty of playing far too many dub plates which took away from what the competition is all about.

To vote for DJ Chungy text or call in the number 11 to 444-MYDJ or 444-6935 or for DJ Absolute text or call the number 14 to 444-MYDJ or 444-6935.

Meanwhile, in the first semi finals play-off this week, DJ Shine from Spanish Town will face off with DJ Jagga from Port Antonio in what is expected to be a very hot battle.

Check out TVJ on Saturday at 9:00 pm for all the action as well as listen to FAME FM this Friday at 7:00 pm for the radio round.

Attachments
NAZNATION

RE: DJ Naz blazes into Heineken Green Synergy semi-finals.....http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/magazines/Entertainment/htm

mawwwd, gwaan do u ting nazzy baby, memba wi when u win the finals lol

NAZ MI SEH STRAIGHT

headbang.gif weh yu mean suh the ting set, large up yuh self yah nzhk

Peppa Skull!!!

MZ Married Man
nztdw: muugpow NEED I SAY MORE?

THE GOLDEN CHILD
muumadclap

zeen

If u wanna be the best, do ur best

clapnz

mz silent river
hmmnz INNA HI HAYS nz INNA MI HAYS mad

DJ Naz blazes into Heineken Green Synergy semi-finals.....http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/magazines/Entertainment/html/20

bgalnzgpowbgal

-- Edited by ssugarlipss (Admin) on Wednesday 2nd of September 2009 01:33:47 PM

RE: DJ Naz blazes into Heineken Green Synergy semi-finals.....http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/magazines/Entertainment/htm

NAZ MI LIKE D PIC, CUTE...

IN THE BEGINNING... THERE WAS ALLIANCE... THEN THERE WAS GULLY & A POP DUNG LOOKING GAZA
WOW why didn't you just tell me fe look it up!!
Empress!! Jah Bless!!
forever Forward!!
and to be honest after ya played Kuff him na have nutten else to come with that was sad~!~!
Keep I posted!! and becasue Of you I have entered into a couple of tings around my way!!
Jah Bless and Thank You!

YEA NAZ BLESS USELF EVERYTIME ZEEN AND MEMBA SEH DI COMPETITION A FI U

5stargeneral.jpgemote.img?ID=12730
Tha Flame Keepz On Burnin For Da Muzik - J.O.P MI SEH
do yuh ting

animated gif