There are many artistes who did not perform on Beenie Man's Sizzle. Some of them had other engagements, while others claim they were never booked for the show.
Forty acts were mentioned on the poster, but only 18 of them performed at the show, which was held at the National Stadium last Saturday night.
There were performances from artistes including Beenie Man, who was celebrating his birthday, Vybz Kartel, Rick Ross, Hurricane Chris, Sizzla, Jah Cure, I-Octane, Assassin, Capleton, Junior Reid and his sons Andrew and Wada *la*hd.
But there was also the notable absence of soca artistes Destra and Bunji Garlin, as well as other acts like Queen Ifrica, Chino, Laden, Freddie McGregor, Barrington Levy, RDX, Aidonia and Mr Vegas.
Freddie McGregor, Chino and Laden, for instance, have been on a tour of Europe and the United States since June. The tour will end in September.
Chino's publicist, Kavelle Christie, said: "Chino came back for two days a few weeks ago to be part of a documentary being filmed for National Geographic on Jamaica and some of its assets. After that, he left again and rejoined the tour. So I am not aware of that (him being booked for the show)."
Similar to Chino's case, Suku said his group, Ward 21, was not booked for the show.
"That was a surprise to us 'cause we neva know anything bout it till Wednesday when we were called for the rehearsal," he said, while noting that the notice was too short for all the members.
Mr Vegas' manager Ray Alexander said it was merely a misunderstanding. He said when the flyers were being sent out for printing, it was still a possibility that Mr Vegas would perform. However, his label had other engagements for him in Atlanta, (United States) which had to be met.
In the case of gospel artiste Goddy Goddy, he said it was a simple mix-up.
"They indicated to me that they want me on the show but they did not confirm it. When they got back to me a week before the show, I had other bookings. It would have been an honour and a pleasure to perform on the show. I send my apologies to Beenie Man and anybody who was expecting to see me," he said.
Flippa Mafia said he was booked for the first date of the show on August 5. But when the show was rescheduled, he was already confirmed for another show in Philadelphia.
Other acts like Queen Ifrica and RDX were seen at the venue but they did not perform.
When contacted, RDX's Delomar said: "According to what Beenie told us, he designed a segment for the party artistes but somehow that didn't happen. Sometimes show nuh always work out. But we still pass through and bless him up pon him earthstrong."
Beenie Man's company M.D Entertainment and his manager and brother Rohan 'Blue' Smith were in charge of booking artistes. However, calls to the company and Blue on Monday and yesterday yielded no success in getting answers