Beenie Man, who was recently crowned King of the Dancehall by industry stalwarts at Reggae Sumfest, believes that Bounty Killer is in the twilight of his career and is growing increasingly desperate to get back on top of the Dancehall Game.
I am the King, and every king has to bear a burden, Selassie go through it, and him stand firm and conquer, so mi ready for the challenge, he told one876entertainment.com
He was responding to widespread reports that over the weekend at Champions in Action, he was roundly booed by a contingent of Alliance fans until he was forced to exit the stage.
Bounty Killer and the Alliance carry dem people fi do dem job and dem do it, dem boo. But I turned the boo into a forward when mi do Red Red and Frame I, he said.
Asked why Bounty Killer would feel the need to orchestrate boos, Beenie responded:
Anno jealousy really, mi feel say that he is just desperate to get back on top. Ah several years now him no really find a real hit, and him sense say him need to do something.yea man, the man desperate fi buss back inna the business.
Its been over a decade since Bounty Killer won the deejay of the year title in 1998 on the strength of his big hit, Living Dangerously with Barrington Levy.
Beenie Man said that he walked right into a situation and a 'war atmosphere' that he had known nothing about, and was not a party to.
Mi never know say war start back between Kartel and Bounty Killer. Kartel call me onstage and we work and we work the stage good. We no flop, we mash up the place, Kartel get some big forwards fi Last Man Standing, mi get forward fi Stock and Pile, Kartel mash up the place wid Virginity, but Alliance just plan dem ting, but ah love same way fi the fans dem, he said.
Alliance ah plan up, style dem ah try style the ting, but we stronger than that, he said.
The war vibe that Beenie referred to between Vybz Kartel and his former colleague, Alliance boss Bounty Killer was ignited last week when Killer voiced three diss tracks, one called Chatta Box, that hit the Internet like a firestorm. Vybz Kartels response, dubbed Killers Killa was fast, furious and scathing, outlining in shocking detail the various oral exploits of Bounty Killer, and name-dropping former lovers of the Warlord.
Beenie Man said that he was a bit surprised that patrons at a Champions in Action show would have done such a thing to him because had supported the show for 17 years.
Ah 17 years mi do the show and mi always love perform for my fans and support the community. The problem is that I have been around for 30 years, and mi realize that anno boo carry mi through, gi dem a rounda applause, Killer get a one forward and feel good. Clap him, he said.
Still, there is a contingent of fans who believe that Beenie should not have been declared the King of the Dancehall and that there may be a 'king backlash'.
"Some people believe say that Shabba is the real king of the dancehall, ah just through him no fly come a Jamaica. Ah Shabba carry hardcore dancehall the furthest, even now, people still memba Shabba," one industry insider said.
-- Edited by shotta54 on Wednesday 19th of August 2009 05:12:35 PM
-- Edited by shotta54 on Wednesday 19th of August 2009 07:20:07 PM
-- Edited by shotta54 on Wednesday 19th of August 2009 08:04:29 PM
wa do deh b.a.t.t.ybwaay deh? alliance noh bring nohbody go a stage show more than the artists and di entourage weh deh backstage. hold yo boo and go through...
well first of all the person who post this in girls lounge must be feminine of some type.....
and killer naaah badmind beenie man.......but how is it the self proclaim king of the dancehall gets crowned by some orginaisation and thinks thats the choice of the jamaican ppl, do it on a online voting, let the ppl speak, i cud count the number of beenie man fans on mediazone, its all killa and kartel fans
BUT CHECK THIS SITUATION. HOW IS IT UR ARTIST GET BOOED AT CHAMPION IN ACTION WHEN HE WAS SAYING GAZA AND NOW HE'S SAYING JAMAICA, AND HIM NAAH TEK SIDE, HIM SWITCH PON UNU, U NEED FI LOOK INTO THAT
beenie jus vex ca him get boo, yuh cyan seh is bounty killa fans deh deh ah boo cause den kartel wouldn't get any kinda fwd, suh how him look? n like pun said, di man ah shout up gaza n all pon jamaicalive seh ah him create gaza n gully ting wid bounty n now him wan switch pon it...come on
Ninja man said n i'll say it fi him again "Beenie man is a hypocrite!"
Beenie jus a look a way out, cause Bounty not even see him nuh more. As a former fan of the General (Bounty) lately its like him nah concentrate on what him really put forward, its not the Bounty whe seh Copper shot, see it an blind, dem caant tek yuh and top ten. and recent time killa talk many more, him need fi ans Kartel when needed and leave him when him need fi, cause Kartel have him own crowd both yard an foriegn.