Bounty Killer delivered one of his best performances in recent history, showing his more humane side, cracking jokes and witty one-liners that entertained the huge audience. He told the audience that his "battle scars had taught him a lot of lessons'.
"Oonu deal wid me a way last year but is alright, mi is a good yute," he intoned as he attempted to connect with the audience.
He then criticised the recent taxes implemented on taxes and salt before doing Pop It off, and then a quick medley with dancehall classics such as Look Into My Eyes, Another Level, Eagle and Hawk and What Else Yu Waan Mi Do.
He checked himself once when he attempted to do Kill Off Dem BC, cutting it off quickly with a terse 'it makes no sense' and then got a huge forward for Nutten Nuh Change.
He alluded to his recent court cases and various criminal charges with a typical Bounty-ism: 'I are in charge'.
He also bussed the place with a statement to the effect that "ah me mek the gully and the gaza, ah me own the bl---th plaza".
Bounty Killer's performance appeared to eclipse that of Mavado who started strongly with a barrage of his hits, but faded a little at the end before recovering well with Money Nuff for which he earned a huge roar from the crowd. During his set,
Elephant Man was simply brilliant with fire torches stabbing at the sky and fire rockets going off and when he did 'Dancehall Nice Again', it was more than a song, it was a statement of how well the show was going with both Bounty Killer and Mavado bigging up the Gaza fans.
Kiprich performed really well but Flippa Mafia, the king of flossing, seemed to take some of his buzz with a confident extravagant performance that included emptying three bottles of Ace of Spades champagne onto the stage. He also threw money in the crowd which had men and women diving onto the ground to grab US dollars.
Spice did well, closing strongly with Ramping Shop, D'Angel was super-sexy as she danced on a pole and pulled off the best choreographed set of the night while Lady Saw and Macka Diamond both earned their forwards.
SOME COMMENTS FROM PEOPLE WHO WAS THERE
killa did give a good proformace at one point it look like him won back the sumfest ppl have not seeing him like this in a long time. killa even say a him make the gully an gaza so a him own the plaza but gaza get fwd till one time me have fi say if me did deaf it would a cure me busy did good i like the part with him an the choir kip rich go hard to an so did assassin did ok but i did not like the intro richie b give flipa it kind a mash him up but he still did good all the ppl in the crowd a fight fi moneylady saw an maka do them thing voicemail do them thing but i was shock when staingel go on the mic did a malfunction she did a mj tribute to when i see the pole i want dead an beg god do no meck she drop cause she no have no little fat fi bounce ponbut she go good still
Killa a d real dads.... but up to this day, Kartel nor Mavado nuh bad like a 90s Bounty nor Beenie
addi mi daddy ya d boss a your time GAZA TIME!!! this is the bounty i knew in the 80s.however,if he contd like this he is definately a role model for all these youngster who look up to him.gaza gully evertime. peace evertime dude
Miss Ivy last son is still one of the BADDEST dancehall acts to come out of jamrock!!!!!!! he is an originator in his own right as many artistes including beenie man has copied his style over the years!!!!!
I ALWAYS SAID DAT OTHER THAN BEENIEMAN KILLA A DI BEST STAGE PERFORMER CAUSE IM HAV DI TALK DEM AND TUNE DEM FI DELIVER MAVADO AND BLEACHA CAN LEARN FROM IM AND BEENIEMAN
BOUNTY KILLA took the show. kartel and the rest of the Gaza did very good. i only got a few words for movado. "him let mi dung". overall, this years sumfest wus by far one of theee BEST. mi realy full-joy the show.
ONE THING JAMAICA HAFFI REALISE BOUT KILLA, DESPITE D FIGHT WEH HIM GET BCUZ CERTAIN PPL NUH WAAN PUT HIM SONG DEM PON NUH CHART, THEREFORE MAKIN IT LOOK LIKE HIM NAH MEK NUH HITS.......... A D ONLY DJ THAT DONT HAVE TO HAVE A HIT BUT STILL HEADLINES SHOWS....