By JENNIFER C. KERR, Associated Press Writer Jennifer C. Kerr, Associated Press Writer Tue Jun 23, 5:20 pm ET
WASHINGTON New measures aimed at reducing prison rapes are in the works and states that fail to take steps to protect their inmates could see their federal money cut.
The new standards were proposed Tuesday by the National Prison Rape Elimination Commission, a bipartisan panel that spent five years studying the issue. It's estimated that about 60,000 inmates are sexually abused each year.
With more than 7.3 million people behind bars or on parole and probation in the U.S., the report said jails and prisons should take a series of steps to eliminate sexual abuse of inmates. Those steps include the adoption of zero tolerance policies, better staff training and improved screening to identify prisoners vulnerable to abuse.
"Individuals who are incarcerated have basic human rights," said U.S. District JudgeReggie Walton, chairman of the commission. "Just because they've committed a crime and they're incarcerated does not mean that their human dignity can be abused."
The proposed standards are being sent to Attorney General Eric Holder, who has a year to write national standards. States will be notified of the finalized standards and then must adopt them or risk losing 5 percent of any federal prison grant money.
But my ting is dat they can lose 5% is that really an incentive fe make the prison officials actually stop the rapes I mean it's bug business and I am pretty sure that the prisons can find a way to cover that with out any worries there are 7.3 million incarcerated the only way I see the states doing anything about this is if the gov't take half or all the funding!!
Well King me a go tell ya a ting up here in jersey dem ting dose happen and it sad if ya not connected or make an alliance fast any one is suspect and it na right I have did lickle stints and had my connects when me used to hustle man and it na nice inna prison in the Tri-state I assure you of dat!! Bless up 60's,70's,80's,90's -JA Mafia and GT Rudies!! Ya understand!!
Cause I have seen some of the so called hardiest on the street go a prison and turn some man bitch or made to do laundry!! Ain't no guns in prisons and alot of these so called gangsters are go find out the hard way! fo sho!!! Jah Bless!