Heineken Green Synergy Dj Naz Jamaica Observer Big Write Up

60 deejays turn up for Heineken Green Synergy Kingston auditions

By Dave Lindo

Friday, June 19, 2009

The Heineken Green Synergy 2009 auditions are now in full swing as the highly-rated DJ competition in the Caribbean circles the island to find the brightest new deejays in the country.

20090619T000000-0500_153760_OBS____DEEJAYS_TURN_UP_FOR_HEINEKEN_GREEN_SYNERGY_KINGSTON_AUDITIONS__1.jpg
(From left) DJ Nico, DJ Shine Head, Donovan Dacres, DJ Jigga and Kurt Riley at MoBay's audition.

The first audition, held at Peppers Night Club in Kingston on Sunday, June 14, saw a big turnout of 60 aspiring deejays on their quest to pocket the over two million dollars up for grabs this year. There was also a huge throng of spectators, including prominent figures from the music fraternity.

All 60 deejays tried their best to impress the judges Collin Hinds and Kurt Riley from FAME FM and DJ Sunshine from Irie Fm.

From the lot, 16 got the 'green card' from the judges to advance. A big surprise on the day was the awesome display by the lone female, DJ Naz, who coolly showed her male counterparts just how it is done with some 'wicked' mixing while unleashing some 'tough' selections.

DJ Naz was happy about her performance. "I was nervous at first, but as I played I started to enjoy myself. I feel good to know that I was selected," she said.

The DJ of three years said that she will be working on her mix CD, which all Deejays who advance have to submit. The CDs will be reviewed by a panel of judges.

A total of 16 Deejays will be selected and they will be revealed at the launch of the competition on July 3 at the Barbican playing field in Kingston.

Also advancing was last year's quarter-finalist, DJ Shine, who looked in good form while displaying some crisp mixing. Shines was feeling very confident "I am going for it this year. I am more confident this time around as I have been practising. I have learnt a whole lot from the experience last year," he said.

The Mandeville leg was just as big as Kingston's with the Shock Wave Sports Bar and Club packed with DJs and onlookers.

They were judged by Collin Hinds and Kurt Riley as well as Pink Panther from Black Kat, the reigning World Clash Champion.

With the Main Events crew working overtime in creating a top quality production for the competition, the stage was set for a wonderful day.

Out of 52 entrants in Mandeville, 15 got the green card. From the group, a young entrant by the name of DJ Chungy, who was entering the competition for the second time, was very impressive. The young DJ displayed some breath-taking mixes and awesome scratches, including scratching with his back turned.

Chungy by far is the most talented Deejay seen up to that point, as described by Kurt Riley. "Chungy without a doubt is Green Synergy material."

Those who impressed also were DJ Pose from Xclamation Disco, DJ Nile, former Black Kat selector, and DJ Haro, who showed much promise.

The next stop was Tuesday, June 16, in Montego Bay at the hip spot Margaritaville. With the rain pouring throughout the day, a total of 37 entrants braved the weather to show their talent.

Interestingly three out of five previous winners are from the western Jamaica - DJ Slim, DJ Nico and DJ Jigga.

Not much talent was seen at this audition with only 7 getting the green card from the judging panel which, this time, also included the veteran disc jockey, Donovan Dacres. However DJ Shine Head, resident DJ from Margaritaville, entered and entertained with an electrifying display on the turn tables. Without a doubt, Shine Head is one to watch as the competition progresses. DJ Haro from Hedonism also showed promise, as well as DJ Alroy from Full Blast sound.

At press time Wednesday, June 17, 2009 the audition was under way at Margaritaville in Ocho Rios. It will be at the La Best Night Club in Portland today from 11 am to 5 pm each day.

The event is being captured for television by the Winford William's run Caribbean Entertainment Production team which will be shown on TVJ as well as on On Stage on CVM.

-- Edited by Dj Quiva on Friday 19th of June 2009 10:00:02 PM

defsquad_logo.jpgbadboy.gif
Good luck Dj Naz

defsquad_logo.jpgbadboy.gif
CONGRATS NAZ HAHAHAHA

"MZ SNIPPER"
Hope she win it

muunzblessingsblessbenzGURL POWER

-- Edited by prettyplustax on Friday 19th of June 2009 09:59:28 PM

-- Edited by prettyplustax on Friday 19th of June 2009 10:00:01 PM

DJNAZ GURL POWER INTL SOUND
tenks cable..i did post it earlier.....lol big up zeen

NAZNATION

DJNAZ GURL POWER INTL SOUND
prettyplustax wrote:

muu:naz:blessingsbless:bez:GURL POWER

muuGURL POWER

NAZNATION

mz silent river
HOTT IT UP DJ NAZ!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! HOLD DEM, HOLD DEM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

PrettyAzz Pink'
very nicee...get it naz ...bless

DJ Naz was happy about her performance. "I was nervous at first, but as I played I started to enjoy myself. I feel good to know that I was selected," she said.
YIYEH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! GOOOOOOOOOOO NAZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZcp

DJ Naz was happy about her performance. "I was nervous at first, but as I played I started to enjoy myself. I feel good to know that I was selected," she said

maddddddddddddddddddd dem cya stop yuh mi fren sell awfffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffff tek it 2 dem mi proud of u

madmrdjsick.gifclap

Dj pain wrote:

madmrdjsick.gifclap

PAIN I HOPE U READ THE ARTICLE INNO, WE KNOW HOW U STAY

ALL WAAAH GWAAN GUD DJ NAZ BUT A DJ TEFLAN A WIN

https://twitter.com/#!/IAmStewieJa

da'nandi

:below: