Topic: Police told to stop abusing citizens

Police told to stop abusing citizens

MANDEVILLE, Manchester - President of the Manchester Chamber of Commerce, Winston Lawson, has issued a strong call to police officers to stop abusing their powers by using heavy handed tactics and abusive language against citizens when carrying out their daily duties.

He said too often police officers feel they have to belittle citizens to show that they are in control.
"I am talking about the boxes and the kicking and the gun butting," he said. "Too often we talk about "aay bwoy" or "go a yuh yard now!" to prove who's boss. And it hurts. it pains my heart to see when police sink to the levels of those we fear. And in those cases we really have a hard time telling the difference between the two."

Lawson was addressing police officers in Manchester at a graduation ceremony for officers certified to drive police vehicles. The graduation was held at the International Chinese Restaurant on May 15.

Lawson called on the officers to emulate the conduct of police officers in the United States.

"You know in the majority of incidents in the USA when persons are offensive to police, the reaction of the police is firm and sometimes forceful but hardly ever disrespectful. The police will say, "Sir would you step out of the car", or "Sir, I am not going to tell you again" ... and don't ever think that it is because they are soft. Because they are not. It is a conduct that is necessary in providing a service - police service," Lawson said.

READ MORE

cho

"Too often we talk about "aay bwoy" or "go a yuh yard now!" to prove who's boss

SOOOO TRUUUUUE

damn right

clap about damn time

.........................................................................................

Fun With Stick Figures

tru dem police deh need fi deal with the public better