With just two days left before the burial of Kevin Pusey, the Pusey family is in a race against time.
Pusey, who was 36, died in England on May 13 from what his autopsy report describes as "unascertainable death, which may be due to epilepsy". His family, however, is unable to afford the £2,500 it takes to fly his body home.
His sister told THE STAR: "We want him to be flown out here. No one from his family is there and maybe only a few relatives can afford to go. Maybe only my two nieces in America."
the burial he deserves
She said the family was trying to come up with the money and tried various other means before deciding to take their story public.
Though time is against them, she hopes something can be done so her brother can get the burial he deserves and his family, including his 10-year-old son, can get to say farewell in the right way.
"I don't want him to be buried in a foreign land. Him don't live dere fi no time. I was very close to him and I don't think I could feel it anymore if it was one of my own children," said Nerissa.
Though the family may be unable to afford a grand funeral, Nerissa believes it is best for Pusey to be laid to rest in a ceremony attended by relatives and friends, not strangers.
"If is even to nail up a likkle box and put him dung inna di hole. We want to know here im bury, so we can go and visit his graveside."
Anyone willing to help the Pusey family may contact his sister, Nerissa, at 863-6766 or 924-4291.