Topic: Police invited back to bargaining table

Police invited back to bargaining table

COOPERS PEN, Trelawny - Rank-and-file cops who had threatened to take the Government to court over the vexed issue of the public sector wage freeze were yesterday invited back to the bargaining table.

Security Minister Senator Dwight Nelson yesterday made the announcement when he addressed the 66th Annual Conference of the Jamaica Police Federation being held at the Starfish Hotel here.

".The federation is going to get back around the table to continue the discussions with Government; Government is prepared, Government is ready at this stage to continue dialogue and discussions with the federation until an agreement is arrived at," Nelson told the policemen and women who had gone into their conference determined to fight the administration for freezing their wages after an agreement last September for a seven per cent wage hike.

Government announced the public sector wage freeze at the end of March, saying that it was unable to find the money in the face of the recession and falling revenues.

"You won't get an agreement if you stand on one side of the road and Government stand on the other side of the road. Both of you have to begin to cross the road until you arrive at a common position with each other," said Nelson, a trade unionist.

READ MORE:

UHM......

CRAZY 5 ENT RADIOSHOW VOL 3
DJ UP 2 D TIME & KOBE 5
http://www.mediafire.com/?o1nytxyw3mm
GO GET IT !!!
CHECK OUT VOL 1 & 1+1
VOL 1
http://www.mediafire.com/?zm0ytetkkld
VOL 1+1
http://www.mediafire.com/?ednyjmw5qea