Topic: 750,000 tickets for Jackson concerts sell in 4 hours

750,000 tickets for Jackson concerts sell in 4 hours

LONDON, England (CNN) -- Tickets for Michael Jackson's 50 "final curtain call" concerts in London sold out in little over four hours Friday.

The tickets went on sale at 7 a.m., with fans queuing since Wednesday. They were limited to four tickets per household at a cost of up to $105 for general admission. VIP tickets cost up to $1,100. Around 750,000 were sold.

Tickets have already appeared online for resale, with one person seeking $35,000 for VIP tickets to the opening show on July 8.

Jackson originally announced he would do 10 shows at London's 20,000-capacity 02 Arena, but huge demand has seen a further 40 dates added. The king of pop's run is now scheduled to finish next February.

O2 owners, AEG Live, said due to the "incredible level of interest" -- pre-sale tickets to 10 concerts offered on Thursday sold out within minutes -- Jackson had agreed to add the extra dates.

Ayesha Obi was the first in line at the O2 to get a ticket and was in tears.

"I was hoping to just get the opening night. Any good seats would've been fantastic. But front row? I'm over the moon. I'm very happy. Very proud. Really pleased."

She had been at the venue since Wednesday night but said it was worth it.

"I've always wanted to see him perform live. I'm happy he's given us that opportunity now.

"He's a legend despite all the controversy in his past."

Gennaro Castaldo, spokesman for UK music retailer HMV, said Jackson was already reaping the benefits of hosting the concerts.

"Sales of Michael's albums are starting to show a discernible increase, albeit from a relatively low sales base at this early stage. However, if demand is picking up now, imagine what it will be like in July, when Michael actually kicks off his live performances."

Castaldo said sales of his "King Of Pop" album released in August had increased four-fold, while sales of "Thriller" had nearly doubled.

Jackson hasn't recorded a studio album since "Invincible" -- his 10th solo record -- in 2001. His last major series of concerts was a world tour to promote the "HIStory" album in 1996 and 1997.

"Thriller," released in 1982 and containing classic Jackson hits such as "Beat It," "Billie Jean" and the title track, is the best-selling album of all time. Jackson is estimated to have sold more than 750 million albums in total.

a fool divorces his knowledge and misses the logic/

And loses his soul in the process/
obsessed with nonsense with a caricature that has no content/

canibus

expected

mj ..not surprize mj

Kewani mr mzja galliss
them want fi see him if him look like him dead oneny

M. Uffar Aka Kewani

i must admit...im a bit surprised...i know people still love him but damn...i hope his tour is VERYYY successful clapclap he needs it smile.gif

No shit!!!

Work from home 

www.sfippa.com/11697183/real

http://www.protypers.com/?id=38VG

if he was black them damn tickets would not sell

Kewani mr mzja galliss
tessssss u no say u a one nice girl fi have winkblush

M. Uffar Aka Kewani

props to mike sameway, real legend inna music, but jus leff d likkle yutes dem alone nuh likkle $%HGH@$^&%$%TRH chu,lol

throwbaclogo4.jpg