This post contributed by a freelance writer who wants to remain anonymous...
Many people dont know but the LA Galaxy (MLS) shelled out a whopping USD250 million for David Beckham in 2006…what are my thoughts?
I do believe accolades such as FIFA's 1999 and 2001 runner up in thePlayer of the Year Awardwere a stretch. Is he worth the money? From a straight overall footballing perspective...running...pace...dribbling...etc...nah!. He is nowhere close to the Brazilian "god" Pele...the Argentinian magician - Maradona, not even close to some of today's lesser mortals such as Zidane and Ronaldinho. So is he worth $250 Million big ones...nah!
And what do I feel about Beckham’s footballing skills…
Personally, I have always felt that Beckham was and is the most overrated, overhyped player in the history of sports. He is unquestionably a "free kick" genius...a real master, who bends a soccer ball like no one else can. There is no argument there. He is undoubtedly blessed with an amazing gift, but man for man...nah!
So what is Beckham worth (especially at the ripe old age of 33?)
ZERO! Beckham may have been worth a little a few years ago but now is way past his prime.
The LA Galaxy must counting their lucky stars that AC Milan bailed them out of their misery...I wonder what AC sees in him...hmmm!!!!
I know there must be a quite a few Beckham fans on the Zone. I don't care...Beckham is an overated one kick wonder who has seen better days.
beckham was brought to the mls to breathe life into the sport in the USA...not just as one of the world's top players
u a say beckham dont worht nuthin..an from that alone i can know that u are not a football fan..meaning u dont WATCH football week in week out..only wen brazil a play argentina u turn on u tv. beckham is 33 yes..and that is the only thing working against him. NOT EVERYONE ON A FOOTBALL FIELD IS GOING TO SCORE 30 GOALS A SEASON...NOT EVERYONE IS GOING TO BUSS SALAD AN PILE AN 360..beckham is one of the best wingers our generation has seen, because he adds so much depth to a team. he's not the fastes, does not have the best foot skills..but he is a very technical player and knows how to use his skills WELL..and not to mention if u telll him to kick a ball an hit a fly 40 yards a way he can do it.
beckham came to the USA because nobody doh give a f**k about football in the states..and he did make a huge difference there..250 million is extravagant for anyone..but its 50 million a year..much of which he hasnt gotten because he went on loan to milan and hes going to buy out his contract at the end of this mls season. but beckham outclassed anyone in the mls..LA galaxy is shit so dem neva tek it nowhere..but u cant expect dat jus cuz u have a world class player playin wid a bunch of semi-pros that u automatically goin win everything. beckham has continued to impress for england..and went to italy and did the same..so much so that AC milan fought so hard to keep him in their midfield..where they have ronaldinho, kaka, seedorf, pirlo, gattuso, flamini and ambrosini as options. much of his mls career he was injured..and then he went on loan..but of th money that he was bought for..i would say he would have been worth it IF he honored the contract. he brought so much revenue to the MLS in a short time..and the team also got the services of a world class player.
And you are so *u*ked in the sport that you can't even be objective. If he is too old at 33 then why pay him 250 million? Have you looked at his record at Galaxy...it was nothing short of pathetic! If there were no good footballers playing in the US league...shouldnt he shine regardless of age (if he is supposed to be so great).
Again...I repeat...Beckham is the most overrated player in the history of sports...don't get caught in the hype just look at the record...
he is worth 250 mil....every1 knows DB is a brand. they didn pay directly for his services on the field, THEY PAID FOR INCREASED REVENUES. im sure they paid out 250(not all of it as he didnt stay there most times) and earned over 500 million easily, the turn over is great. World soccer is a business, and since Becks joined galaxy, they have been gettin numerous offers, endorsements,deals... so hey u gotta put in to earn right!!!
No DK...this deal almost ruined the club on many levels...the people who were responsible for bringing him there are no longer with the club...in the end they could hardly give him away to AC Milan...
Don't watch the hype...Becks is a one kick wonder who has been made into something he is not by media people who know nothing about football.
As we speak...I could name 100 brazilians better than Beckham who never recd 1% of the fame....now you tell me!