Deejay Macka Diamond will leave the island on Friday to begin shooting a leading role in an upcoming indie action film, Paradise Redemption.
This is the first major film role for the deejay turned author, however, she played a cameo role in the the local soap opera Royal Palm Estate last year for which she earned critical raves.. I am looking forward to the role and it should be a challenging experience because the script is 120 pages long and I am struggling to learn my lines, the Money Goddess told one876entertainment. The deejay has also been hitting the gym hard in an effort to tone up her glutes and improve her conditioning so that she can execute the challenging action stunts she will be required to do in the film. Macka will be playing the character, Millicent, a vengeful vixen I am excited about the stunts because the writers have made me into a woman who is pursuing vengeance, after they murder my daughter and grandson because my son-in-law is a gangster and he gets mixed up. I come to take revenge on the men who killed my family, mi ah go get shoot up and inna wheelchair and all when mi inna wheelchair, mi ah go fi dem, she said, laughing. The film will be directed by Noel Howell and Courtney Boyd, and feature the acting talents of seasoned Nigerian actor ,Jim Iyke, who has over 100 movies under his belt. The film will also stars Katore Hamilton. Filming for Paradise Redemption begins in Antigua next week. I leave for Antigua tomorrow after which we will be having rehearsals over the weekend and then on Monday, straight shooting. The directors are so excited about the whole thing, they have never tried to take a music artiste and do anything with them, so I am giving it my all because it could open up other avenues for me, she said.
One of the directors reportedly wants to create a series of Caribbean movies, and this movie will be the first of such ventures. The Paradise Redemption movie will also have red carpet premieres in Jamaica and New York, USA once it is completed. Its going to be big, she said.