A young resident of troubled Gravel Heights walks past soldiers posted on duty to curtail the violence that has erupted in the area since late last year. Some residents who were forced to flee have returned since. - Ricardo Makyn/Staff Photographer
RESIDENTS of the troubled Gravel Heights community in St Catherine have welcomed the establishment of a security post in the area.
When The Sunday Gleaner team visited the community yesterday, dozens of military personnel were visible, posted at the area designated for them.
Police patrolled sections of the rugged, informal community on foot and in vehicles.
The area where soldiers are posted is being treated as a sterile zone and not even The Sunday Gleaner news team was allowed entry.
Superintendent Assan Thompson, who was in charge of operations, was unavailable to give an update of the situation.
Work with military
The team, however, spoke with other senior police personnel, who said the police would continue to work with the military to flush out and/or apprehend criminals who have been causing mayhem in the community for sometime.
Meanwhile, residents are pleased about the new security arrangements.
"We glad fe see dem man and I am pleased that the prime minister finally give wi the wish of having them posted here. When the soldiers and police deh yah, the bad man dem cyaah stay and peace will return," remarked Ezekiel Bonner, a resident of the community.
Similar sentiments
Others who took time out to speak shared similar sentiments.
"The only thing we need is for the authorities to cut the bushes from the area as this will provide covering feh the man dem who a terrorise wi. But I am glad that the right people now take charge," another resident said.
"From 1976 when Tredegar Park first start develop and they were surveying the land, residents asked for a police station. If this was here, then no way the criminals could be behaving so barefaced," remarked Ivan Dixon, a long-time resident.
residents feel better
Political representatives have also welcomed the initiative.
"We welcome the security forces and I know that this will help residents feel better about returning to their homes," said Natalie Neita-Headley, member of parliament for East Central St Catherine.
The security post was set up in response to an exodus from the community in early December, after gunmen ordered residents to leave or face death.