Adijah 'Vybz Kartel' Palmer poses with his wife, Stacy Elliot, at their wedding reception held on December 22, 2005, in Havendale, St Andrew. The two are no longer together. - file
After discussing his beginnings, his Empire, Bounty Killer and Mavado, in the previous three instalments of the five part interview, Kartel gets more personal talking about his family, women and children.
KH: What does your mother think about you being an artiste and about your career?
VK: Anyting mi do, as long as it not illegal, my mother haffi accept it.
KH: What's her name and does she approve of music?
VK: Theresa, not mother Teresa but my mother Theresa. Memba seh her brothers use to deejay, so she accept it.
(Kartel's mother is known to be a Christian woman whereas Kartel the artiste has included a number of intriguing statements about religion in his music.)
KH: Are you a Christian?
VK: "No. mi grow up in a Christian family. my mother and sister are Christian. Mi have a Christian name and grow up in a Christian society but I'm not a religious person. Religion is good to control di masses and keeps society in check. I'm not a religious person, I'm a pro-life person. life is the ultimate."
(In recent months, the artiste has taken to referring to himself as the Devil with a number of religious references. In 'Wha Dat Fah' he deejays, "to how mi -bad mi nuh mus know God." In Weh Dem A Go, he says: "Addi di Devil too hard." he continues in Broad Daylight with, "tings mi do people seh mi mus go a hell, mi seh -mi nuh mus know God." An email entitled 'Is Vybz Kartel Really Evil?' has also been circulating. It claims that the artiste is a free mason.)
KH: So, what's with the Devil thing? Why do you call yourself a devil?
VK: It's just me. me represent everything that is devilish. dem seh God create man from his image, but really a man create God, we create him in our minds, when dem seh tings like dese yuh play wid it, play wid di masses.
KH: There is an email going around that says you are in a Lodge, is that true?
VK: Mi believe inna society. whether it be a society of notion or a society of specific groups or sects, so let's leave dat in di open.
(Unwilling to speak more in depth about the Lodge rumours, the STAR soon switched to discussing Kartel's ex-wife. In 2005, much to the surprise of the entertainment fraternity, Kartel married bank supervisor Stacy Elliott, who lives in New York. After two years the two got divorced.)
KH: You were married once and are now divorced, is that right?
VK: Yeah.
KH: People say you got married to an American to get a visa, is that true?
VK: No.
KH: So why did you get married?
VK: Well, why do people get married?
KH: Are you single now?
VK: No. Vybz Kartel is never single.
KH: How do you deal with female attention?
VK: Well it depends on what kind of attention. it varies from female to female.
KH: A lot of females throw themselves at you?
VK: Duh (laughs).
KH: How many kids do you have and what kind of father are you?
VK: Four mi get. mi know all of dem. mi close to two cause mi live wid dem - Jaheim and Rahiem. As a father, I'm strict and use tough loving.
KH: Do your children listen to your songs, and do you think they should be listening to your lyrics?
VK: Yes they do because what is hidden from the wise and prudent should be revealed to di babe and *u*kling, not to be confused with *u*king.
Tomorrow in the last instalment, we continue to quiz Kartel on his personal life and interests and his future in the business.
I NEVER fail, i'm just SUCCESSFUL in finding out what doesn't work Freedom is never voluntarily given by the oppressor; it must be demanded by the oppressed.
Some days me feel fi say weh him say when man no want deal wid di I & a carry me works but a just 1 a dem thing deh. Me nah seh me agree with him me raise in church like most musician, a di church feed me when me did hungry so me nah say weh him say.
VK: It's just me. me represent everything that is devilish. dem seh God create man from his image, but really a man create God, we create him in our minds, when dem seh tings like dese yuh play wid it, play wid di masses.
KH: There is an email going around that says you are in a Lodge, is that true?
VK: Mi believe inna society. whether it be a society of notion or a society of specific groups or sects, so let's leave dat in di open.
UGGGH addi boooooooooooooooooooo throws bakkle pon addi mi nuh rate dat booooooooo ur my dj but booooooooooooooooooo fling bakkle inna addi head