Topic: Facebook Spammer Fined $873 MILLION [IF YOU LIKE TO SPAM OR ANYTHING RELATED TO THAT BE CAREFUL] (11/25/08)*-*

Facebook Spammer Fined $873 MILLION [IF YOU LIKE TO SPAM OR ANYTHING RELATED TO THAT BE CAREFUL] (11/25/08)*-*

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

SAN JOSE, Calif., Nov. 24 (UPI) -- A U.S. district court awarded $873 million in damages to Facebook to be paid by a spammer whose materials appeared to be endorsed by the Facebook users.

The judgment prohibits the spammer, Adam Guerbuez, and his company, Atlantis Blue Capital, from interacting with Facebook, except in restricted circumstances, InformationWeek reported Monday.

"We don't take this affront lying down," Facebook director of security Mark Kelly and the company's general counsel Mark Howitson said in an e-mail.

"We are confident that this award represents a powerful deterrent to anyone and everyone who would seek to abuse Facebook and its users," Kelly said in a blog posting Monday.

The award, issued by a federal court in San Jose, Calif., is the largest ever against a spammer under the 2003 Can-Spam Act, InformationWeek said.

The company said it was "unlikely" it would collect the judgment, against Guerbuez who failed to appear in court. However, "we are going to go after him," the company's senior counsel Sam O'Rourke said.

"We know where he is and we're in the process of executing the judgment," he said.

trailer load ah money

how much mony da guy have. how he gwaan pay dat much?  tough economic times, facebook saw an opportunity to mek dat moula, lol. its a tall amount of f**kery

everybody a try sue everybody now...nuh money nah mek so everybody a try a ting...lc

Shottess wrote:

everybody a try sue everybody now...nuh money nah mek so everybody a try a ting...lc

a suh di world stay now

Facebook Spammer Fined $873 MILLION [IF YOU LIKE TO SPAM OR ANYTHING RELATED TO THAT BE CAREFUL]

steppz wrote:

Facebook Spammer Fined $873 MILLION [IF YOU LIKE TO SPAM OR ANYTHING RELATED TO THAT BE CAREFUL]

pity

suh dre move to

Bwoy.. mi feel soory fi him cuz mi nuh kno how him a guh pay bak da money deh,but a fi him faut still....

MZ STINGERKILLER
all dat money

lol 873 million??? whoeva get sued justs pose to a lauf! dem probly did mean 873 widout all d 0's behind it!

MZJA Music Producer
lol f**k

rahtiddddd.... that deh crazyyyyy

well i dont use facebook neway

873 million.... he need to use his head and file for chapter 11 asap