It comes with great sorrow that I spread the news that Mr. Soul of Jamaica, Alton Ellis, passed away on the morning of October 9th. The world was given this treasure in 1944 when he was born in Trenchtown, Kingston, JA. His career spanned nearly five decades and his ever-lasting impression on the future of Jamaican music came in the mid- to late-sixties as the riddim-laden grooves filled with his soulful melodies permeated the upbeat vibrations of the ska era. The summer of 66 saw the explosion of rocksteady in the Kingston scene and Alton ruled the dancehalls during this time as he cuts tunes for Studio One and Treasure Isle among others. His musical longevity persisted for years and years and he enjoyed much-deserved praise from a new generation of listeners as ska and rocksteady made a revival in the late nineties. Among them was myself, who had goosebumps on my skin when hearing his voice for the first time around the age of 16. Over time, I became exposed to more and more of his tunes, none of which every left me without my heart beating at a faster pace or a tear in my eye from the passionate sounds coming out of my hi-fi. His sound truly made a lifelong impression on me and he will forever be missed in my heart. Altonyour music was there with me during the joy-filled times in my life and it was also there during those dark, lonely times. Well sit under the willow tree together with Phyllis one day and Ill tell you all about it.
Alton Neamiah Ellis, Order of Distinction 1944 - 2008
I NEVER fail, i'm just SUCCESSFUL in finding out what doesn't work Freedom is never voluntarily given by the oppressor; it must be demanded by the oppressed.
Alton Ellis: 1944-2008 October 9, 2008 It comes with great sorrow that I spread the news that Mr. Soul of Jamaica, Alton Ellis, passed away on the morning of October 9th. The world was given this treasure in 1944 when he was born in Trenchtown, Kingston, JA. His career spanned nearly five decades and his ever-lasting impression on the future of Jamaican music came in the mid- to late-sixties as the riddim-laden grooves filled with his soulful melodies permeated the upbeat vibrations of the ska era. The summer of 66 saw the explosion of rocksteady in the Kingston scene and Alton ruled the dancehalls during this time as he cuts tunes for Studio One and Treasure Isle among others. His musical longevity persisted for years and years and he enjoyed much-deserved praise from a new generation of listeners as ska and rocksteady made a revival in the late nineties. Among them was myself, who had goosebumps on my skin when hearing his voice for the first time around the age of 16. Over time, I became exposed to more and more of his tunes, none of which every left me without my heart beating at a faster pace or a tear in my eye from the passionate sounds coming out of my hi-fi. His sound truly made a lifelong impression on me and he will forever be missed in my heart. Altonyour music was there with me during the joy-filled times in my life and it was also there during those dark, lonely times. Well sit under the willow tree together with Phyllis one day and Ill tell you all about it.
Alton Neamiah Ellis, Order of Distinction 1944 - 2008
DAMNNNNNNNNNN!!!!!!!! R.I.P He is a legened like Bob and Peter ya know he spread de love and joy of reggae music all ova places whe ya na go see ya heard!!!
ALTON LOSING CANCER BATTLE - Family says hospitalised singer not doing well
Family members of legendary reggae/rocksteady singer, Alton Ellis, say the singer, who has been battling cancer for several months, is not doing well.
Speaking with The Star last night from the United Kingdom, Clive Ellis, one of Alton's sons, revealed that the family was not very optimistic as it relates to Alton surviving the fight with the disease. "We can't say we are hoping for the best in this situation. The family is looking for the worst," Clive said regretfully. "He is gasping for air. He is not talking, he is not moving, I don't think he is going to come out on top of this fight." Clive said the family was still trying to keep strong in these difficult times.
He said his father has been in the hospital for a number of weeks, battling lymphatic cancer. Rumours started circulating yesterday that Alton Ellis had died. However, family members dispelled the gossip. Clive noted: "He (Alton) isn't gone, he is still here. I'm actually in the hospital now, he is very weak, but he is not gone (dead)."
Alton Ellis, a father of 15 children, came to the fore of Jamaican music in the 1950s and has since made his mark with hits such as Cry Tough and Girl I've Got A Date among others.
The vocalist's first wife, Pearl, and his sister, Hortense, both died on October 19, in 2005 and 2000, respectively.
Tragedy also struck the Ellis family earlier this year when Alton's sister, Veronica Ellis, was brutally murdered just before Mother's Day, along with her teenage grandson.
yow mi people nuff mix up ting a gawan bout di place, some say him die, some a dem say him nuh die.