NOTTINGHILL CARNIVAL RIOT 2008

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LaTWqpo4jtI

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZHsITovGM2c

Police were pelted with bottles during two stand-offs at the Notting Hill Carnival.

About 180 youths were stopped and seven arrested at south London's Oval cricket ground as officers stopped the group from going to the weekend event.

Later officers were hit with bottles when they clashed with 40 people in a separate incident in Ladbroke Grove.

A total of 330 people were held during carnival with weapons such as knives, a Taser gun and CS spray being seized.

One eyewitnesses described the Ladbroke Grove clash as a "full-scale battle".

One officer suffered facial injuries during the skirmish, police said.

History of disorder

In the first incident, on Monday afternoon, officers stopped a group of about 180 people in Harleyford Road, outside the Oval.

Police said 151 were taken to a police station, of which seven were formally arrested for public order offences or possession of pointed or bladed items.

Ladbroke Grove incident
Bottles were thrown at police in Ladbroke Grove

Officers said they believed the group, which included many teenagers, were on their way to the carnival to commit crime.

Some members of the group had a history of being involved in disorder at the carnival, police said.

Later in the evening police were involved in sporadic clashes in Ladbroke Grove, near the carnival route in west London, where unprotected officers were hit by bottles and other objects.

Up to 40 people were involved in the clash, which continued for more than two hours, and one officer suffered facial injuries after being hit by a bottle.

Ch Insp Jo Edwards said: "For over two hours our officers were faced with a hardcore, mainly of young men, who came to Carnival not to enjoy the event but to fight, commit crime and cause trouble."

Pat Mason, from Kensington and Chelsea Council, was at Ladbroke Grove and saw the events unfold.

o.gif
start_quote_rb.gifI saw one police officer with *lo** on his face and I saw people who were throwing missiles getting carried away because they were getting batoned as well end_quote_rb.gif
Pat Mason, eyewitness

He said: "They were all picking up bottles, throwing bottles, throwing bits of stones, throwing anything at the police they possibly could.

"I saw one police police officer with *lo** on his face and I saw people who were throwing missiles getting carried away because they were getting batoned as well.

"So we had a full-scale battle going on."

Ch Insp Edwards said the majority of the 330 reported crimes during the two-day carnival, which attracted about 850,000 people, were as a result of stop and search powers.

Last year 246 people were arrested over the same period.

Carnival organisers said the trouble which flared after the event was "extremely disappointing".

But Michael Williams, from London Notting Hill Carnival Ltd, said: "More than a million people had a great time at the Notting Hill Carnival and enjoyed an amazing spectacle of colour, energy and music."

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/uk/7582641.stm

-- Edited by wasp001 at 14:54, 2008-08-26

seen dem should call it the yellow coat carnival more feds then revellers they were all goin on chi chi a hold one another hand so we caan go where we wanna go a mek big barrier wid dem selves ,'punks' dem nuh waant we fe enjoy we self,,so we go maddd pon dem3d lol

SOUNDCLOUD/DJ JOHNNY PISTOL

@_johnny_pistol

http://www.mixcloud.com/DJ_JOHNNY_PISTOL/

yeah. the videos na show it but the feds dem retreat at one point. this wasnt no likkle 40 youts. this was propa. police lock off the sound early for no reason so we get cross.

too many kill joys go noting hill carnival nw,lookn for beef instead of js loosen up n av fun...i went to da leeds carnival..it wz gud...evry1 js avin fun

a fool divorces his knowledge and misses the logic/

And loses his soul in the process/
obsessed with nonsense with a caricature that has no content/

canibus

Sexy Spanglish Gal
i see nuff people getting stoped

STICK A D$*K IN YOUR EAR AND F$#@ WHAT U HEARD!!!

i cant believe i foun it

WWW.MYSPACE.COM\DJMDOT
AIM-MACIAHCL OR DJMDOT23
EMAIL-DJMDOT23@TMAIL.COM

MSN-DJMDOT@HOTMAIL.COM
FACEBOOK.COM
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER

http://twitter.com/DjMDoT23
Raeeee me was deh inna that... pengulol

a dat did a gwaan interesting ....shame i was cooking or else mi wudda fling sum stones aswell LOOOL