Arsenal signs defender Silvestre from Man UnitedUpdated: August 20, 2008, 5:51 PM EST 238 comments add this RSS blog email print LONDON (AP) - Arsenal signed French defender Mikael Silvestre on a two-year deal from Premier League rival Manchester United on Wednesday.
The 31-year-old Silvestre left Old Trafford after nine years, rejecting a move to Manchester City in favor of the prospect of Champions League football in London.
Silvestre, who missed much of last season with knee ligament damage, is the first player United has sold to the Gunners since Brian Kidd in 1974.
"I've spent a large part of my career at United, the last nine years, and I'll remember that time fondly but feel I'm ready for a new challenge," said Silvestre, who won four league titles at Old Trafford. "Arsenal is known for playing technical and skillful football, and has a young but experienced squad.
"I'm really excited about this next stage of my career, hopefully playing my part in helping the club to new successes."
Arsenal manager Arsene Wenger broke his usual policy of signing young, promising players.
"We have a strong squad but a young squad and Mikael's versatility, experience and caliber will provide the extra depth we need to reinforce our challenge for honors this season," Wenger said. "His defensive adaptability will serve us well and it's a big plus that Mikael has top-level experience and a great understanding of football in the Premier League."
Silvestre struggled to feature in Alex Ferguson's plans at United after fellow French defender Patrice Evra established himself on the left, and Nemanja Vidic and Rio Ferdinand forged a successful partnership in the center.
After joining from Inter Milan in 1999, Silvestre made 361 appearances, scoring 10 times and claiming 10 major titles.
"Mikael was a great servant and a wonderful professional," Ferguson said. "We wish him all the best at his new club and thank him for his service."
Tommy Di Dad dad dads, Put da Mac to ya Back back back, Wen da ting go click clack clack Afta dat ain't nutten but rrrrrraaaaahhhhhhhh
SILVESTRE????? NT TOO XCITED...WAS LOOKIN 4WARD 2 ARSHAVIN BT D LIKKLE FOOL GET GIDDY HEADED AND WANT NUFF MONEY....HE NEEDS TWO MORE PLAYERS OF SOME CLASS...BEAR IN MIND ROSICKY AND DEM INJURED ONES POISED FOR RETURN SOON
Mmmm. Arshavin wulda bn an ok signing. But I wuldnt pay more dan 10 mil £ 4 him. U cant hav 2 good games n expect n e more dan dat. But we need a holding midfielder. Mi wulda lovew Xabi Alonso from Liverpool. But his cup tied now. But knowing Wenger he aint gonna buy no1 else man. :(