Topic: Fraser leads Jamaica 100m sweep

Fraser leads Jamaica 100m sweep

Jamaica's Shelly-Ann Fraser
Fraser punches the air with delight as she crosses the finish line

Shelly-Ann Fraser took Olympic gold in the women's 100m, leading home an unprecedented clean sweep for Jamaica.

Fraser finished in a time of 10.78 seconds, with her compatriots Sherone Simpson and Kerron Stewart sharing the silver medal after a dead heat.

"I'm so excited. I never dreamed this could happen to me," said Fraser.

Britain's Jeanette Kwakye was the only European athlete to make the final, and she performed above expectations with a personal best time of 11.14 for sixth.

Kwakye, who took silver in the world indoors earlier this season, said she was pleased to have the opportunity to show what she could do on the biggest stage of all.

"I was living a childhood dream out here," said Kwakye, who was the first British woman to make the 100m final since Heather Oakes in 1984.

"I'm absolutely shocked and really happy with that time and that performance."

Fraser's gold medal for Jamaica completed a famous double for the country, coming hot on the heels of Usain Bolt's astonishing performance to win the men's 100m in a new world record.

The 21-year-old led from start to finish, and enjoyed a lead of a couple of metres by the time she crossed the finish line.

World silver medallist Lauryn Williams finished fourth in 11.03.

"It was incredibly close," said Williams.

"I tried my best, gave my all and am not frustrated at all.

"To clock 10.78 into a pretty strong headwind is pretty impressive.

"I wasn't thinking about Jamaican speed - I've seem them all year long and they're very consistent."

proud of di gilr dem dem boom it

proud a ja

seet deh

proud of mi athletes dem jah know star words cant xpalin

Photobucket

DJ BLAZER FROM XCITMENT MUSIC

WWW.TWITTER.COM/DJBLAZER

WWW.FACEBOOK.COM/DJBLAZER

PINGCHAT & KIK :DJBLAZER

BBM PIN:22D51347

mi glad fi that star... she really run good

So-Sick

yea man a suh di ting fi set. mi propa proud

tune

god is good am happy to be a jamaican they all make we proud just stop the killing and lives good.

god is smiling on jamaica smile.gif

MZ STINGERKILLER
ja to the world