Topic: Commission Bans Konshens

Commission Bans Konshens

findImg.php?pic_size=200&table_name=news_img_tab&table_field=img_id&img_id=1691 Late last night 876radio.com received some very compelling information that had us wondering, has the Broadcasting Commission gone too far or do our locals entertainers need to be more vigilant with the lyrics that they put to the masses?

Yesterday during Konshens performance at popular radio jock Kurt Rileys' birthday celebration at the Asylum Night club in new Kingston it was revealed to us that his current chart topper "Winner" had been banned by the Broadcasting Commission of Jamaica and pulled from all radio rotation islandwide.

According to a statement issued the reason for banning the song was due to some questionable lyrics in the second verse that is said to be promoting prostitution, inciting violence and other illegal activities.

Earlier today when 876radio.com caught up with Konshens and Mark Pinnock of Natural Bridge Records and posed the question as to whether they had any intentions of remixing or revising the song the answer was a resounding 'No' followed by an explanation.

"We have no intention of revising the song, the tracked has already been edited and taking anything further from it would be stifling the artiste's creativity, yes some aspects of the song may be deemed controversial but does it warrant being banned NO. Ironically there are countless songs presently being played on the radio with lyrics so graphic and crude it makes one shudder, yet still they continue to enjoy maximum airtime".

Konshens on the other hand was quick to point out that though he is not in agreement with the Commission, if they see the need to pull the recording from the airwaves then so be it. "They're just doing their job, so if them pull it a suh it go, but mi nah go change nothing in it".

Now the question begs if the Commission is out to clean up the airwaves, what about all those other gun glorifying lyrics that get played constantly coupled with all those movies laden with profanity, indecent exposure, violence and *lo**shed that are being shown on our local television screens and movie theatres. Will there be a move to purge that industry?, One cannot help but wonder if it's a case of double standard that is being practiced.

On the flip side Konshens is set to make his debut at this summers' staging of Red Stripe Temptation Isle (R.T.I) in Negril, where he'll perform alongside the energy god Elephant Man before heading to Capleton's "St. Mary Mi Come From" and then jetting off to the highly anticipated "Irie Jamboree" next month.

Mark said fans can look out for a cadre of new Konshens singles to hit the airwaves in the coming months.

"MZ SNIPPER"
St. Mary Mi Come From" mi a reach

Them cyaan fight mi artist dem musseee mad.

Me ah nuh smaddy fi dem play wit!

stop fight the artiste

dis is stupid...
di song a 1 good tune fi di radio

ah god dem try fi stop ne uprising utes KMT

wat de rawse

but a wah dis god??? dem nuh know wah dem fi go ban?

I aLwAyS tElL tHe TrUtH eVeN wHeN i'M lYiNg

tell dem seh them kant take we freedom of speech...all dem a fight dem nah see seh freak n b^%tty man mash up we place but them want stop the music we use fi liberate n open pple eyes n mind

Unlimited Free Image and File Hosting at MediaFire

Di World iZ Mine...

first it was bounty killa now its konshens

yow dem caan stop di yute... dem just a hear di tune look how long dis out deh

http://www.myspace.com/jayjamrock
image.php?u=1813&type=sigpic&dateline=1173305869

Mzja Artist
*u*k DEM MUMA MAN CHO KMT

a so dem fite d yutes dem weh a try mek it but da yute nuh fi worry him affi be di winna

Jamsquad

them a over do this thing now jah know and i think the p[pl dem need fi talk up for the artist them

-- Edited by Dj blazer at 00:12, 2008-08-16

Photobucket

DJ BLAZER FROM XCITMENT MUSIC

WWW.TWITTER.COM/DJBLAZER

WWW.FACEBOOK.COM/DJBLAZER

PINGCHAT & KIK :DJBLAZER

BBM PIN:22D51347

dis banning ting stupid

***MZJA's GANJA GAD***
JAH KNO STAR....DEM A FITE GAINST THE YUTES DEM.....lc DAT NUH RITElc

qtp93533.gif

~DI WEED REVEALS U TO UR TRU SELF!!!~

CAH STAP SMOKE IT... ***HIGH ALWAYZZZzzz***

dis no really fair at all

FOOLISHNESS DAT

4057.gif

dat jus goin to mek the tune bigger

ALLIANCE RUN DI WERL DEM MUMMA AND DEM GIRL...
i agree. the song aint even bad 4real
lunacyBANBAN

Honor

Blakka P
https://soundcloud.com/blakka-p

https://soundcloud.com/poc-n-blakka