Topic: I just want to hold my baby

I just want to hold my baby

A BRITISH mum accused of suffocating her newborn son after giving birth on a Greek island holiday pleaded with doctors yesterday: I just want to hold my baby.

Leah Andrew, 20 facing 20 years jail if convicted is under suicide watch in a Crete hospital after being found with the 5lb 8oz tots body in a towel in her hotel room.

Medical centre chief Christos Melas, who has spoken to the single mum of two at length, said last night:

She told me three times, I want to hold my baby.

Trauma ... sister Lydia (right) found Leah with dead tot

I really dont know if she thinks the babys alive or dead.

She said her child was 27 weeks and was stillborn although there appears to be medical evidence to the contrary.

She is very shocked and distressed and finding her strange situation in a foreign hospital very disturbing.

We have a male and female guard with her all the time to make sure she doesnt act on her depression.

Shock news ... The Sun yesterday

Leah, who has sons aged three and 15 months, was accused of murder and quizzed for an hour by a prosecutor yesterday.

She is likely to face magistrates today to decide if they will press ahead with a murder charge.

She is expected to deny the charge.

The Sun told yesterday how Leah was discovered with the dead tot early on Monday by her sister Lydia, 24, and a pal.

She was bleeding heavily and needed a transfusion.

Hours earlier, Leah had felt ill on a night out and gone back to their shared room in the Natalie Hotel in the resort of Malia.

When Lydia returned, she ran screaming to reception.

Coroner Manolis Michalodimitrakis said the newborn boy had bruises all over his face and nails.

He added: He was not sick or malformed at birth and had begun to breathe.

Leah was taken to hospital in the capital Heraklion.

Cops say neither Lydia nor her hols pals Sherene Olusesi, Krystal Donaldson and Leanne Archer-Brown knew she was eight-and-a-half months pregnant.

Last night Leahs parents Isaac and Pamela were caring for their grandsons at the familys £350,000 home in Hither Green, South East London.

Binman Mr Andrew, 54, said: None of us had any idea my daughter was having a child. That was a shock in itself.

why a cant see the images?

wow crazy!

Innocent until proven guilty mi seh cah my son was born wid bruisin to his face and hands wen him was born lclc