Topic: Oral sex linked to throat cancer

Oral sex linked to throat cancer

A virus contracted through oral sex is the cause of some throat cancers, say US scientists.
HPV infection was found to be a much stronger risk factor than tobacco or alcohol use, the Johns Hopkins University study of 300 people found.

The New England Journal of Medicine study said the risk was almost nine times higher for people who reported oral sex with more than six partners.

But experts said a larger study was needed to confirm the findings.

HPV infection is the cause of the majority of cervical cancers, and 80% of sexually active women can expect to have an HPV infection at some point in their lives.

It is important for health care providers to know that people without the traditional risk factors of tobacco and alcohol use can nevertheless be at risk of oropharyngeal cancer

Dr Gypsyamber D'Souza, study author

The Johns Hopkins study took *lo** and saliva from 100 men and women newly diagnosed with oropharyngeal cancer which affects the throat, tonsils and back of the tongue.

They also asked questions about sex practices and other risk factors for the disease, such as family history.

Those who had evidence of prior oral HPV infection had a 32-fold increased risk of throat cancer.

HPV16 - one of the most common cancer-causing strains of the virus - was present in the tumours of 72% of cancer patients in the study.

Risk factors

There was no added risk for people infected with HPV who also smoked and drank alcohol, suggesting the virus itself is driving the risk of the cancer.

Oral sex was said to be the main mode of transmission of HPV but the researchers said mouth-to-mouth transmission, for example through kissing, could not be ruled out.

Most HPV infections clear with little or no symptoms but a small percentage of people who acquired high-risk strains may develop a cancer, the researchers added.

Study author Dr Gypsyamber D'Souza said: "It is important for health care providers to know that people without the traditional risk factors of tobacco and alcohol use can nevertheless be at risk of oropharyngeal cancer."

Co-researcher Dr Maura Gillison said previous research by the team had suggested there was a strong link.

But she added: "People should be reassured that oropharyngeal cancer is relatively uncommon and the overwhelming majority of people with an oral HPV infection probably will not get throat cancer."

A vaccine which protects against cervical cancer caused by HPV strains 6, 11, 16 and 18, and also against genital warts is available and the researchers said the study provided a rationale for vaccinating both girls and boys.

But whether the vaccine would protect against oral HPV infection is not yet known.

Dr Julie Sharp, science information officer at Cancer Research UK, said: "There is conflicting evidence about the role of HPV, and this rare type of mouth cancer.

"As this was a small study, further research is needed to confirm these observations."

"We know that after age, the main causes of mouth cancer are smoking or chewing tobacco or betel nut, and drinking too much alcohol."

rawse clattt

yes, me did know all *u*k hood girls and *u*k pum pum boys unnu need fi stop now

FOR ALL THE *u*kERS

a fire

ASian Production

WTF...WELL ME LOVE GET ME HOOD *u*k STILL

-- Edited by butler23 at 12:40, 2008-07-16

banner433.jpg

kk

Unu neva read ni Notice dem inna Half Way Tree, Unu thnk a lie di ras did a tell!!!!!

*********************Dat mi seh*****************
HMM...BARE DISEASE JUS A COME TEK OVA DI WORLD...SOME A UNNO HAVE NUFF A DEM DISEASE & NUH KNOW, UNNO BETTA SEEK GOD

SO MI KNOW SEH DEM NUH READ DI ARTICLE ENUH...DEM TINK A JUS BY ORAL SEX ALONE DEM CAN KETCH DI DISEASE...MY KISSING AS WELL....UNNO FI READ & STOP PREE DI TITLE ONLY

tell me something i dont no

TELL THEM LINDO THEY ONLY READ DI TITLE SHAKE HEAD

unnu nuh need nuh article fi tell yuh dat.... thats a fact

lyndo bwoy wrote:

SO MI KNOW SEH DEM NUH READ DI ARTICLE ENUH...DEM TINK A JUS BY ORAL SEX ALONE DEM CAN KETCH DI DISEASE...MY KISSING AS WELL....UNNO FI READ & STOP PREE DI TITLE ONLY

One of the smartest tings dat come from yu mout/fingertips clapclapclap

lol de idea of s**cking a c**ky already disgusted me itself lol jus by knowin de fact dat it passed through vaginas (even doe de guy lol is clean an jus showered but still) before it gwaan enter my mouth lol an daaat jus one more good reason to neva eva try dat

EmpressRebel wrote:

lol de idea of s**cking a c**ky already disgusted me itself lol jus by knowin de fact dat it passed through vaginas (even doe de guy lol is clean an jus showered but still) before it gwaan enter my mouth lol an daaat jus one more good reason to neva eva try dat

wat a thing

-- Edited by Dj blazer at 12:48, 2008-08-10

Photobucket

DJ BLAZER FROM XCITMENT MUSIC

WWW.TWITTER.COM/DJBLAZER

WWW.FACEBOOK.COM/DJBLAZER

PINGCHAT & KIK :DJBLAZER

BBM PIN:22D51347

really now

yes really miggs

see even science a shout out against it. I could neve fathom why anyone would want to put their mouth their they must be born blind and without the ability to smell

lol the person must be blind wit no sense of smell? but yet this dude see it n put his dick in it lol? lol wow big difference?