Topic: Less Cholesterol

Less Cholesterol

Cholesterol is the waxy, fat-like substance found in your *lo**stream and every cell in your body. While the substance is normal as well as important to some body functions (without it our bodies would be unable to produce cell membrane, Vitamin D and various hormones, such as progesterone, oestrogen and testosterone) there is trouble when our bodies have too much cholesterol.

This condition is known as hypercholesterolemia.

Sasha Thomas and Janet Rankine-Henry, nutrition coaches based in St Catherine, state that an oversupply of cholesterol will result in the waxy substance starting to form blockage in the arteries, which can lead to stroke and heart attack.

'Bad' cholesterol

A healthy serving of vegetables.

Low-density Lipoprotein (ldl) is what is known as 'bad' cholesterol. It carries cholesterol to tissues, included the arteries. Most of the cholesterol in the *lo** is the ldl form. The higher the level of ldl cholesterol in the *lo**, the greater your risk for heart disease.

High-density Lipoproteins (HLD) is what is known as 'good' cholesterol. Hdl protects your body by carrying cholesterol away from your arteries back to the liver, which removes it from the body. A low level of Hdl cholesterol increases your risk for heart disease.

Cholesterol comes from two sources. It's produced in your body, mostly in the liver, and it's found in foods that come from animals, such as meats, poultry, fish, seafood and dairy products. Egg yolks and organ meats are high in cholesterol.

The body makes all the cholesterol it needs. Everyone over the age of 20 should get their cholesterol levels measured at least once every five years.

How to lower your cholesterol level

Eat small portion of meats

Fill up on vegetables

Egg yolks and organ meats are high in cholesterol.

Avoid vegetable and salad toppings, such as chopped eggs, crumbled bacon and cheese

Use margarine instead of butter, and use sparingly

Select foods that are steamed, garden fresh, broiled, boiled, baked, roasted, poached.

Decrease saturated fats and trans fat

Increase soluble fibre, such as oats (10-25g per day)

Eat whole fruits instead of juices

Drink skimmed milk, low-fat yoghurt instead of whole milk

Use lean, well-trimmed meats baked, broiled, roasted or stewed; shrimp is low in fat but high in cholesterol

Discard fat which cooks out of meat; chicken and turkey

Use oil and margarine made from unsaturated fats such as corn, cottonseed, soyabean, sunflower and olive

At Chinese restaurants, look for items that are steamed, Jum (poached), Kow (roasted), Shu (barbecued).

At fast food restaurants order salads, grilled chicken sandwiches

If you are overweight, lose excessive weight (A healthy bmi is between 18.5-24.9).

Regular physical activity can help you lower bad cholesterol and raise good cholesterol. It can also reduce your risks of high *lo** pressure, diabetes, and heart disease.

To accomplish all this, it is suggested that at least 30 minutes of moderate activity, at least four days a week, be a part of your plan to lower cholesterol.

Food Serving Size Cholesterol Level
Boiled egg 1 225mg
Cream cheese 1oz 27mg
Cheddar cheese 1oz 19mg
Butter 3.5oz 250mg
Lamb 3.5oz 70mg
Beefsteak 3.5oz 70mg
Chicken 3.5oz 60mg
Kidney (beef) 3.5oz 375mg
Liver ( beef) 3.5oz 300mg
Ice cream 3.5oz 45mg
Sponge cake 3.5oz 260mg

i doh affi worry bout cholesterol

yea mi try loose sum yea now bout 10 more 3 go....

it nuh matter to me cuz im skinny

skinny has nothing to do wit it shem u prob. eat bad neway

owadkelly wrote:

skinny has nothing to do wit it shem u prob. eat bad neway

yeh mi memba 1 month mi eat mcdonalds and burger king almost everyday to the point where i got tired of it

those foods have nuff cholesterol

owadkelly wrote:

those foods have nuff cholesterol

i kno especially di fries

hmm good info

go sis!!! A WHO SEH YUH NUH AVE NO SENSE lol !! good post very interesting facts!

GREAT FACTS STEPPS TY

26 people die from swine flu & everybody wants 2 wear a mask. 2,000,000 people die from AIDS and nobody wants to wear a condom!

MZJ ELECT WIFIE
GRAPE FRUIT AND PURE GRAPEFRUIT JUCE IS ALSO VERY GOOD WAY TO LOWER CHOLESTEROL DR SAY LINSEED GROUND UP IS A GREAT WAY TO LOWER IT AS WELL 2 OR IN DRINKS TBLS A DAY IN UR FOOD .......

26 people die from swine flu & everybody wants 2 wear a mask. 2,000,000 people die from AIDS and nobody wants to wear a condom!