I think there are some major factors that contribute to crime and no it's not the artist or music.
This is a list of things I think contribute to crime now in Jamaica.
1) High food prices 2) High gas prices 3) No creation of jobs 4) No raise in salary across the board 5) A change in government but no change in proverty 6) Police interest in none violent things such as a party (e.g. locking off parties in areas in which noise is not a problem) 7) Luxery tax (moto vehicle tax, cigarette tax, cellphone tax etc) 8) Cutting back of constrution works (under this government less development will happen and is happening) 9) No investment plans 10) Gang war
on number 3 though, u know there are actually a lot of jobs out there, its just that either some people dont want those kind of job, or the pay the job is offering, or the job is asking for too much experience and people dont have it and the places where the jobs are located. But jobs are out there though, just that some people dont make the effort to get them or want too much
i agree wid some but dis agree about artists an music everything plays apart wat i blame is the movies ppl seem to over look how really violent they are an how they manage to plant ideas on how to be a gangsta...some of th enew methods of vioelnt acts are all seen from movies
oh number 6. Most of the times it aint as if the police them deliberately drive to lock off the dances. There are people in the community who call and complain and its as such that the police have to do something about it. The noise act was always there u know, so thats why the police had a right to come and lock off the dance, but the noise act was just never enforced to the extend which they are doing it now. But overall, people are the one that call and complain about the noise, most of the time, its not the police initiating these things
ok good points but Crazy i agree with u there are some jobs out there yes but i live in kgn all my life and i leave in the same area as UWI and u be amaze of how many students come out wit degrees and cant get a job that they are qualified to do so you have a person who did tourism coming out doing accounts in a bank or a business degree student going for a secretary job which pays far less than wat he/she is suppose to make my self sent out several resumes to several business and i got no calls only time i got a call from a company is cause of my links links is wat get u good jobs in ja, next ting i never said these problems are of the government, iam saying these problems contribute to crime and if not solve crime will get worst read wat i said again has ntn to do with the government causing them but they are the 1's who should be helping to solve them
ooh yea Crazy the dance ting police a lock some dance where noise is not a factor all dem a look is a money or fi fight a particular individual a so ja set up but even now noise act has been in yes from 1997 but PNP never enforce it cause it allow all the badman dem fi put down dem gun and gather in 1 place for a period of time and not only dat you hav ppl a sell at these events dat a mek money fi sen dem yute go thru school e.g di weed man, di man wit him box a goods, vendors, jerk chicken man, promotor all these ppl lose money now dat this act has been enforce but my major issue is locking off a dance that dont disturb a soul
Ahh yes, I know the whole situation about the "coming out with degrees and having to work below par" I have cursed about that sooooo many times, cause the system is really unfair. And worst, the people them in the system aint retiring so its like, how are you gonna get a job when 70 odd year old man/woman still the prefered people cause of "experience".... I spoke to my friend who did a psychology degree at uwi and is now working as a customer service rep for C&W, for the past 2 yrs since she left school. I asked her if her job allows upward mobility and the poor soul had to joke and say.. "yea once the manager dies then there will be just a little bit of hope" its really really sad with these situations for real.
**straying from the point... you know what i cant stand... when they telling u to be entrepreneurs and u just leave school and have SLB loan to pay back and worst no bank gonna lend you a loan cause u dont have the collateral to get it... jezz man!!***
I understand what ur saying though that the lack of jobs to whichever social class can be depressing and let people turn to crime... for that i do agree. Even though people shouldnt turn to crime for that reason, it is in fact a reality that they do... but these people need to wise up and see that causing crime aint worth it, better they put their energy to better use
Tru Tru, some times the policemen are just looking money and thing and trying to fight out the person hosting the event. But what i dont know though is where these things happen... cause i thought the only place where the noise dont affect people is like new kgn where they keep it in clubs, but most of these places i know about, are street dances where people live in the 100meter radius(if thats the area length depicted in the noise act)
I'm not sure if there are dances that keep in an area where no one lives to complain.... but even so still, i know that even when people dont call and complain, police show up same way a look a thing. They always do it over utech, and u give them two drinks and then them sey ahright 4:00 or 4:30am then. Corruption on a high, no lie
back to the point, mi understand sey the badman vibes them woulda bruk still and they would want to turn to violence, but as mi sey... them need fi know sey a nuh everything them need fi retaliate with crime... we caan bruck down jamaica, just cause we fraid a badman. The badman dem come in like some spoil pickney, if them nuh get whey them want, them a go kill... so something need fi be done... and mi nuh think good must suffer fi bad all the time
Good reasoning i agree badman mus have some form a understanding about the way they go about life, i aint going lie i know and have these kinda friends but they act more like hit men than badman they would have to be paid for someting or defending something like turf, they dont kill innocent ppl but in no way am i saying this is right but these ppl i talk of i went to school with grew up around wat i hear most of them cry is that they hav ntn to do so wat u expect them to do so i say find work or someting for the badman dem and we will live in some form a peace cause if they are making some form a money they 4get the gunz for now. I think bounty killa 3 songs sums up Jamaica society (not just the poor but the average man) and u can go and listen see wat iam talking about "Poor ppl Fed up", "Anytime" and "Look into my eyes"