A controversial project to translate the Bible from English to Jamaican patois will cost $60 million and take 12 years to complete, the organisers of the project said.Stewart said the Bible Society had already translated some 40 per cent of the New Testament into Jamaican patois, and a portion of that translation, the Gospel of Luke, was now being reviewed by language specialists at the University of the West Indies Language Unit.
You have GOT to be kidding me...Patois is not even a language...its a dialect...why would yu translate the bible into a DIALECT...use di money to pay off the national debt...bout patois bible...this makes absolutely NO sense...bout ambitious...CHO! MEK MI STOP YAW! CAH MI AGO GET VEX!
I agree wid you Ms. Craziness...dem nuh even teach we it inna school CHO!
waste of money ppl's illitracy shoudln be an excuse for wasting money an plus patois is haada to read bcuz theres is no sturcture i mite spell dis one way an u spell it "diss"
Exactly Owad...everytime im in the zone..i laugh at all the spelling variations of the patwa word for "you know"...enuh, ino, inno, eno, enno...NO structure whatsoever
waste of money ppl's illitracy shoudln be an excuse for wasting money an plus patois is haada to read bcuz theres is no sturcture i mite spell dis one way an u spell it "diss"
there is no standardized spelling for patois, everyone spells the words differently, so its impossible to translate..also, what's the point..are we trying to sway away from english as our official language for those who can't read and write to encourage illiteracy? dumb idea overall