Elva, host of Saturday's Comedy Connection 2008, held at Backyaad, Constant Spring Road, says deejays should focus on girls, not gays. - Winston Sill
After the intermission at Saturday's 'Jamaica-USA Comedy Connection', held at Backyaad, Constant Spring Road, St. Andrew, only one of the slated performers took the stage.
But before the USA (originally from Ghana) connection took the stage before a tiny audience, host Elva, who made her emcee duties into a hilarious performance in itself, put on her most extended round of comedic commentary.
And although it was funny it was about serious, current matters, as Elva noted that the deejays were concentrating on the gay men and neglecting the girls.
"Gays have always been in Jamaica. Wake up. It's not gonna change," Elva said.
She also questioned those who criticise homosexuals heavily "how yu know so much bout dem? Whe dem live, how dem dress? Me no know nutten bout no b.....!"
Belly skin
Elva said that there are men in belly skin shirts and cut off pants enjoying themselves in the dances, while other men are looking on angrily. "An you a go pree de same fish whole night? A man yu want!" Elva said. She said that there are sexy women walking around all night, yet "yu face ben' up like zinc inna Gilbert".
There was a burst of laughter when Elva said "de deejay whe claim dem a de bigges' gallis, yu a go dance an no woman. A pure man. An a dem a buy de drinks!"
"I don't have a problem with gay men. They make the best girlfriends," Elva said.
She also said that there were so many things happening in the country, yet some were stuck on homosexuals. "Gay man a murder people dung a Kingston 2?!" she demanded.
And Elva did not restrict her criticism to homosexuality and the ladies especially were in full support when she said "dem lick out pon bowcat, but me sey leave dem mek dem ..... me out".
She said that some of the performers who are the most vocal about oral sex are indulging, and when they go home in the evenings their woman is sitting on the stove. When the artiste asks what she is doing she says "warm up yu dinner".
The audience roared.
"Artiste, me have nothing against you expressing how you feel," Elva said, adding that when they are talking only about gay men she has a problem. >
I NEVER fail, i'm just SUCCESSFUL in finding out what doesn't work Freedom is never voluntarily given by the oppressor; it must be demanded by the oppressed.
she a hypocrite tru she like batty man u want ja man dem fi like dem to Elva f**k off a bullet u would get with dem to u kno see man a kill baby she musa think she different tru she a woman low ja we jus no like batty man who like it keep quiet and luv it but come out with it a bullet