When Charly Black began rocking the dancehall world with the racy single Buddy in 2007, he wasnt in the least surprised at the runaway success. The single, produced on the Nuff Luv riddim produced by Mark Bartley of Bass Odyssey Entertainment, peaked at #5 on the Jamaica Music Countdown.
Charly_Blacks.jpgI was an artiste before I became a selector. In the country, it is harder to buss inna dem time de. Yu haffi come town go stand up a studio gate like how the first time artiste do it. Now, yu have a computer, yu can put it on CD and get it out, but at the time, I put my artiste thing on hold, go inna different part, mi play sound system inna my community, Rio Bueno, and now is my time, the confident 28 year-old selector said.
Buddy has become somewhat of an athem at dances and stage shows all over the island.
Ah the gal dem song, even at this moment, mi still a tour pon it, mi have shows right up until December, the other day mi go St. Vincent, me alone full up a car park, by myself, he said.
Not content with the success of the song, Charly Black has recorded other singles include Wining Time, a club song Going to a Party, Wet Up and Playing With Yu Is-a-Muss.
Mi still no do certain tings yet, mi no bruk certain record yet, I would not say I am the hottest selector, mi need fi win a trophy, mi go Canada 2006, f idem sound and Bass Odyssey, mi kill Black Kat and Trooper but the area sound from Toronto, the people dem decide say dem a go mek dem win, he said.
Born Desmond Mendez April 6th 1980, in Rio Bueno, Trelawny, He attended Rio Bueno Primary and High School. He started singing at age five; winning countless singing competitions thus proving that he will be a great talent in years to come.
Charly Blacks first single Woman Its You recorded in 2004 received major air play, his determination kept him in the studios creating irresistible melodic lyrics. He recorded Going To The Party, Back Shot Time and Girl I Love You in 2008. He continued to perform and develop his stage performances while laying the groundwork for his most recent accomplishments.
Charly Black joined Bass Odyssey Entertainment in 2005 and has proven to be one of the best MC/Selector in the world. Bass Odyssey was instrumental in the development and grooming of Charly Black, he is still one of their MC/Selector to date.